RDA Plenary 2 Draft Program
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

Comment only
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRS
1
TimeTitleNotes
2
Monday 16 September 2013
3
09:00-10:30Plenary Ia: Welcome and Opening Keynote
Chair: Farnam Jahanian, NSF Asst. Dir., Computer & Information Science and Engineering
4
09:00-0905Welcome
Fran Berman, Co-Chair RDA, Chair RDA/US
5
09:05-09:15Introduction and Opening of Plenary
Farnam Jahanian
6
09:15-9:35Tom Kalil, Dep. Dir., Tech. & Innovation White House Office of Science & Technology Policy
7
Plenary Ib: Benefits and Possibilities of Open Data Sharing
Chair: Sayeed Choudhury, Assoc. Dean for Research Data Management, Johns Hopkins Univ.
8
9:40-10:05Open and Machine Readable: Living In The New Default World
John Wilbanks, Chief Commons Officer, Sage Bionetworks
9
10:05-10:30Fueling and Transforming Evidential Cultures of Research
Carole Palmer, Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois
10
10:30-11:00Coffee Break
11
11:00-12:45Plenary II: RDA Business.
Chair: Herman Stehouwer, RDA Secretariat
org
12
11:00-11:30Council and Secretariat updates: introduce new members, bids for Plenary 4, other business
13
11:30-12:00Updates from currently active and recognized WGs
14
12:00-12:45Organizational Assembly (Member organizations of RDA)see descriptive paragraph in next tab
15
12:45-13:45Networking Lunch
16
13:45-15:30Plenary III: Building Global Partnerships. The Perspective of Funders and Affiliate Organizations
Chair: Chris Greer, NIST Acting Director Cyber Physical Systems and Smart Grid Program Office, Engineering Laboratory
see descriptive paragraph in next tab
17
14:00-14:45RDA Colloquium- Mark A. Suskin, NSF Dep Dir., Advance Cyberinfrastructure, Kostas Glinos, European Commission; Clare McLaughlin, Australian Dept. of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research, and Tertiary Education
18
14:45-15:30Affiliate Organizations panel-- Sara Graves, CODATA; Curt Tilmes, ESIP; Phil Archer, W3C; Jan Brase, DataCitecomp. registration for panel speakers
19
15:30-16:00Coffee Break
20
16:00-17:30Plenary IV: Technical Advisory Board and Technical Collaboration
Chair: Larry Lannom, VP, Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI)
see descriptive paragraph in next tab
21
16:00-16:30Introductions and short comments from the interim appointed members then statements and questions for TAB candidates up for election.
22
16:30-17:00
23
17:00-17:30Identifying areas of WG/IG intersection and collaboration
24
19:00-20:30Reception and Posters
Remarks by Tony Hey, Vice President of Microsoft Research Connections (and sponsor)
Sayeed will introduce Tony
25
Tuesday 17 September 2013See breakout descriptions at https://rd-alliance.org/groups/rda-2nd-plenary/wiki/p2-program-details.html
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1LzrGhIez65EXBo16AwQBGaKVa0KyC_yxdo1KE3Vcc18/edit?usp=sharing
26
RoomsSalon ASalon BSalon CSalon DSalon ESalon FSalon GLoganSalon H
27
09:00-11:00Data Foundations & TerminologyRDA/WDS CertificationEngagementAgricultural DataRDA for NewcomersLegal InteroperabilityRDA Colloquium (by invitation)
28
Peter Wittenburg <peter.wittenburg@mpi.nl>, Gary Berg-Cross <gbergcross@gmail.com>Ingrid Dillo <ingrid.dillo@dans.knaw.nl>Marcio Faerman <mfaerman@osc.edu>, Inna Kouper <inkouper@indiana.edu>, Andrew Maffei <amaffei@whoi.edu>Johannes Keizer <Johannes.Keizer@fao.org>, Devika P. Madalli <devika@drtc.isibang.ac.in>Herman Stehouwer, Ross Wilkinson, Andrew TreloarPaul F. Uhlir <PUhlir@nas.edu>, Enrique Alonso García <enrique.alonso@consejo-estado.es>Christopher Greer <christopher.greer@nist.gov>, Robert Chadduck <rchadduc@nsf.gov>
29
11:00-11:15Coffee Break
30
11:15-12:15Data Foundations & TerminologyGlobal Registry of Trusted Data Repositories and ServicesEngagementAgricultural DataData CitationLegal InteroperabilityEconomic Models & Infrastructures for Federated Materials Data ManagementCouncil (by invitation)Council will be in the board room. A smaller room.
31
Michael Diepenbroek <mdiepenbroek@pangaea.de>, Peter Wittenburg <peter.wittenburg@mpi.nl>Andreas Rauber <rauber@ifs.tuwien.ac.at>, Reagan Moore <rwmoore@renci.org>, Dieter van Uytvanck <dieter.vanuytvanck@mpi.nl>James A. Warren <james.warren@nist.gov>, Laura Bartolo <lbartolo@kent.edu>Fran Berman <BERMAF@rpi.edu>
32
12:15-13:15Practical PolicyGlobal Registry of Trusted Data Repositories and ServicesMarine DataAgricultural DataData CitationToxicogenomics InteroperabilityResearch Data ProvenanceCouncil (by invitation)
33
Rainer Stotzka <rainer.stotzka@kit.edu>, Reagan Moore <rwmoore@renci.org>Helen Glaves <hmg@bgs.ac.uk>Diana Hendrickx <d.hendrickx@maastrichtuniversity.nl>, Rebecca Boyles <rebecca.boyles@nih.gov>David Dubin <ddubin@illinois.edu>, Sayeed Choudhury <sayeed@jhu.edu>, Bridget Almas <bridget.almas@tufts.edu>
34
13:15-14:00Networking Lunch
35
14:00-15:00Practical PolicyRDA/WDS Publishing DataPID typesMetadataBrokeringBig Data AnalyticsOrganizational Members business meeting
36
Jonathan Tedds <jat26@leicester.ac.uk> Michael Diepenbroek <mdiepenbroek@pangaea.de>Tim DiLauro <timmo@jhu.edu>, Tobias Weigel <weigel@dkrz.de>Jane Greenberg <janeg@email.unc.edu>, Keith Jeffery <Keith.Jeffery@keithgjefferyconsultants.co.uk>,Rebecca Koskela <rkoskela@unm.edu>Stefano Nativi <stefano.nativi@cnr.it>, Siri Jodha Singh Khalsa <sjsk@nsidc.org>Morris Riedel <m.riedel@fz-juelich.de>, Rahul Ramachandran <rahul.ramachandran@uah.edu>Juan Bicarregui <juan.bicarregui@stfc.ac.uk>
37
15:00-16:00Practical PolicyRDA/WDS Publishing DataPID typesMetadataBrokeringBig Data AnalyticsLong Tail of Research Data
38
Kathleen Shearer <m.kathleen.shearer@gmail.com>
39
16:00-16:15Coffee Break
40
16:15-17:15Community Capability ModelRDA/WDS Publishing Data Subgroup: ServicesPID typesData Type RegistriesPreservation e-InfrastructureBoF: Chemical SafetyLong tail of research data IG
41
Liz Lyon <e.lyon@ukoln.ac.uk>Hylke (ELS-AMS) Koers <H.Koers@elsevier.com>Larry Lannom <llannom@cnri.reston.va.us>, Daan Broeder <daan.broeder@mpi.nl>David Giaretta <david.giaretta@stfc.ac.uk>Diana Hendrickx <d.hendrickx@maastrichtuniversity.nl>
42
17:15-18:15Community Capability ModelRDA/WDS Publishing Data Subgroup: WorkflowsPID typesData Type RegistriesPreservation e-InfrastructureBoF: Education and Training in Data Intensive ScienceOpen
43
Jonathan A. (Dr.) Tedds <jat26@leicester.ac.uk>, Merce Crosas <mcrosas@iq.harvard.edu>Yuri Demchenko <y.demchenko@uva.nl>
44
19:00-21:30Conference Dinner
45
Wednesday 18 September 2013
46
09:00-10:30Plenary V: Initial Meeting Results
Chair: Carlos Morais Pires, European Commission
47
09:00-10:30Rapid Reports from Working Groups and Interest Groups
48
49
50
10:30-11:00
Coffee Break
51
11:00-12:30Plenary VI: Community discussion.
Moderator: Mark Parsons, RDA Secretariat
52
11:00-12:30Issues will be gathered on easels throughout the venue and then members will vote on the most important issues for discussion.
53
54
12:00-12:30
Closing and Announcement of Plenary 3
Andrew Treloar
55
12:30-14:00Lunch on your own and travel to Hotel
56
14:00-17:00Working Groups, Interest Groups, and Task Forces
57
RoomsSalon ASalon BSalon CSalon DSalon ENAS
58
14:00Libraries and Research DataTechnical Advisory Board Business MeetingWorking Group Chairs meetingDigital Practices in History and EthnographyCloud Computing and Data Analysis Training for the Developing WorldData Citation Harmonization (@ NAS)
Breakout rooms are available right at lunch (TAB want to start at 13:00)
59
Wolfram Horstmann <Wolfram.Horstmann@bodleian.ox.ac.uk>Andrew Treloar <andrew.treloar@ands.org.au>Peter Wittenburg <peter.wittenburg@mpi.nl>Kim Fortun <fortuk@rpi.edu>, Mike Fortun <profmikefortun@gmail.com>, Jason Baird Jackson <jbj@indiana.edu>Hugh Shanahan <Hugh.Shanahan@rhul.ac.uk>, Andrew P Harrison <harry@essex.ac.uk>Paul F. Uhlir <PUhlir@nas.edu>
convening of the myriad groups addressing this issue
60
61
Loading...