Data - Car Seats Laws by State
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

View only
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVW
1
StatesPrimary or Secondary LawRear-Facing Seats - AgeRear-Facing Seats - WeightRear-Facing Seats - HeightForward-Facing Seats - AgeForward-Facing Seats - WeightForward-Facing Seats - HeightBooster Seats - AgeBooster Seats - WeightBooster Seats - HeightAdult Seat belt Allowed - AgeAdult Seat belt Allowed - WeightAdult Seat belt Allowed - HeightChildren Only in Back Seat Until - AgeChildren Only in Back Seat Until - WeightChildren Only in Back Seat Until - HeightCovered by Seat belt Law - AgeCovered by Seat belt Law - WeightCovered by Seat belt Law - HeightFinePoints
2
AlabamaPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-4 years old20-40 lbsNot specified5-6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law15 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseCar seat: 1 point
3
AlaskaPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-4 years old20 lbs and upNot specified5-7 years oldLess than 65 lbsLess than 57"More than 4 years oldMore than 65 lbsMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $15 Car seat: $50 Car seat: pts tbd
4
ArizonaPrimary Car seat; Secondary Seat beltLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-4 years old20-40 lbsNot specified5-7 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 5 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $10 Car seat: $50 No law
5
ArkansasPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-4 years old20-40 lbsNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldLess than 60 lbsNot specifiedMore than 6 years old60 lbs or moreNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law15 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $100No law
6
CaliforniaPrimaryLess than 2 years oldLess than 40lbsLess than 40" tallMore than 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldLess than 60 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $162 Car seat: $100Car seat: 1 point
7
ColoradoPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Less than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-3 years old20-40 lbsNot specified4-8 years old40 lbs or moreNot specifiedMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 2 years oldMore than 20 lbsNot specified16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $71 Car seat: $82 No points
8
ConnecticutPrimaryLess than 2 years oldLess than 30 lbsNot specified2-4 years old30-40 lbsNot specified5-7 years old40-60 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years old60 lbs or moreNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $120 Car seat: $92 (18+) $120 (<18)Car seat: 2 points
9
DelawarePrimaryLess than 1 year oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 1 year oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldLess than 66 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years old66 lbs or moreNot specifiedMore than 12 years oldNot specifiedMore than 66"16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseNo points
10
FloridaPrimaryLess than 3 years oldLess than 20 lbsNot specifiedLess than 3 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo lawNo law6 years or olderNot specifiedSeat belt: $30 Car seat: $60Car seat: 3 points
11
GeorgiaPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"Not specified40lbs and overMore than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $15 Car seat: $50 Car seat: 1 point
12
HawaiiPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified4-7 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 4 years old40lbs and overMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $112 Car seat: $100No law
13
IdahoPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 7 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 7 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law7 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $10 ($51.50 if <18) Car seat: $79No law
14
IllinoisPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsHead must be more than one inch below top of seat1-4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified4-8 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 8 years old40lbs and overNot specifiedMore than 12 years oldNot specifiedNo law16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $75 (for 1st $200 for subsequent offenses)No points
15
IndianaPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-3 years oldLess than 30 lbsNot specified4-7 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years old40lbs and overNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseCar seat: pts tbd
16
IowaPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specifiedover 1 year oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo lawall ridersNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $127.50 Car seat: $195 No law
17
KansasPrimary; Secondary in back >18Less than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified4-7 years oldLess than 80 lbsLess than 57"More than 8 years old (over 4 if meet height or weight requirements)More than 80 lbsMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law14 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$60 each offense (seat belt for 18+ $10)No law
18
KentuckyPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified40" and shorterLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedMore than 57"Seat belt: $25 Car seat: $50 child restraint $30 booster seat No law
19
LouisianaPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-3 years old20-39 lbsNot specified4-5 years old40-60 lbsNot specified6 and olderMore than 60 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law13 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $100No law
20
MainePrimaryNot specifiedLess than 40 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 40 lbsNot specifiedLess than 8 years old40-80 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"More than 12 years oldMore than 100 lbsNot specified18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$50 each offense (child restraint: $250 for subsequent)No points
21
MarylandPrimary in front; Secondary in backNot specifiedNo lawNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldLess than 66 lbsLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $83 Car seat: $50No points
22
MassachusettsSecondaryNot specifiedNo lawNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law13 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseNo law
23
MichiganPrimaryNot specifiedNo lawNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specified57" and tallerOver 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedCar Seat: $10 for <4 and $25 for 4-8 and <57" Seat Belt-$25No law
24
MinnesotaPrimaryNot specifiedUnder 20 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedMore than 57"Seat belt: $100 Car seat: $50 No law
25
MississippiPrimaryLess than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified4-6 years oldLess than 65 lbsLess than 57"More than 7 years oldMore than 65 lbsMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law7 years or older65lbs and overMore than 57"$25 each offenseNo law
26
MissouriPrimary <16; Secondary 16+Less than 4 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specified4-7 years old40-80 lbs57" and under4 and older if meet weight or height otherwise, 880 lbs and upMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years and olderNot specifiedNot specifiedCar Seat: $50. $10 for over 80lbs or over 57" Seat Belt: <16 $50. 16+ $10No points
27
MontanaSecondaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldLess than 60 lbsNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law6 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $20 Car seat: $100 No law
28
NebraskaSecondaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseCar seat: pts tbd
29
NevadaSecondaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 6 years oldLess than 60 lbsNot specifiedMore than 6 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law6 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $500 (min $100)No points
30
New HampshirePrimary <18; No law 18+Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 7 years oldNot specified57" or shorterMore than 7 or under 7 if meet heightNot specified57" or tallerNot specifiedNot specifiedNo lawNo lawNo lawNo lawSeat belt: No law Car seat: $50 No law
31
New JerseyPrimary in front; Secondary in backLess than 2 years oldLess than 30 lbsNot specified2-4 years old30-40 lbsNot specifiedunder 4 years oldunder 40 lbsNot specifiedMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedMore than 57"7 years and youngerMore than 80 lbs57" and upSeat belt: $46 Car seat: $75 No law
32
New MexicoPrimaryLess than 1 year oldNot specifiedNot specified1-4 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specified5-6 years oldLess than 60 lbsNot specified7 and olderNot specifiedNot specified<1yrNot specifiedNot specified18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offense2 pts for each offense
33
New YorkPrimaryunder 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specified3 and underLess than 40 lbsNot specified4-7 years oldNot specifiedNot specified8 and older. 4 and up if no lap/shoulder belt available Over 40 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $50 Car seat: $100 Seat belt: No law; Car seat: 3 pts
34
North CarolinaPrimary in front; Secondary in backNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underunder 80 lbsNot specified8 and older40-80 lbs if no shoulder beltNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified16 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $161 front seats. $10 back seat Car seat: $213 Car seat: 2 points
35
North DakotaPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedunder 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"8 and olderNot specified57" and tallerNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: 18+ $20. <18 $25 Car seat: $25 Seat belt: 1 pt if rider <18; Car seat: 1 pt
36
OhioSecondaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specified4-7 years oldMore than 40 lbsLess than 57"8 and olderNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $30 driver $20 passenger. Car seat: $75 No points
37
OklahomaPrimaryLess than 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 4 years oldNot specifiedNot specified4-7 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"8 and olderNot specified57" and tallerNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law13 years and olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $20 Car seat: $208 No points
38
OregonPrimaryuntil 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specified7 and younger40 lbs and underNot specifiedunder 8 years old40 lbs and over if <8 or <57"Less than 57"8 and olderNot specifiedMore than 57"Not specifiedNot specifiedNo lawall ridersNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $130 Car seat: $110No law
39
PennsylvaniaPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Less than 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underNot specifiedNot specified8 and olderNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 and olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $10 Car seat: $75 No points
40
Rhode IslandPrimary2 years and underUnder 30 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underLess than 80 lbsLess than 57"8 and older80 lbs and over57" and tallerMore than 8 years oldNot specifiedNot specified8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $40 Car seat: $85 for kids 8-17: $40No law
41
South CarolinaPrimaryunder 2 years oldNot specifiedNot specified2-8 years oldNot specifiedNot specified2-8 years old if lap/shoulder beltNot specifiedNot specified8 and olderNot specified57" and taller8 and olderNot specifiedNot specified6 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $150No points
42
South DakotaSecondaryNot specifiedNo lawNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 5 years oldLess than 40 lbsNot specified5 and older40 lbs and overNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseNo points
43
TennesseePrimaryLess than 1 year old20 lbs and underNot specified1-3 years oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified4-8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"9 and olderNot specifiedMore than 57"9 and older (recommended for 12 & under)Not specifiedMore than 57"driver and all passengers 4 years & upNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $30 Car seat: $50No points
44
TexasPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedMore than 57"Seat belt: <17 $200 17+ $50. Car seat: $25 min.Car seat: 2 points
45
UtahPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underNot specifiedLess than 57"8 and olderNot specified57" and tallerNot specifiedNot specifiedNo lawall ridersNot specifiedNot specified$45 each offenseNo points
46
VermontPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Less than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified1-7 years oldover 20 lbsNot specified8 and olderover 20 lbsNot specifiedMore than a year oldover 20 lbsNot specified18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specified$25 each offenseNo law
47
VirginiaPrimary <18; Secondary 18+Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underNot specifiedNot specified8 & older (4 & up with doc note)Not specifiedNot specifiedmust be in back if in rear-facing seat unless air bag deactivatedNot specifiedNot specified18 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $50No points
48
WashingtonPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedLess than 8 years oldNot specifiedLess than 57"8 and older40 lbs and over if only lap belt available57" and tallerOver 13 years old (if practical)Not specifiedNot specifiedover 8 years oldNot specifiedover 57"$124 each offenseNo law
49
West VirginiaPrimaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified7 and underNot specifiedLess than 57"More than 8 years oldNot specified57" and tallerNot specifiedNot specifiedNo law8 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $25 Car seat: $20No points
50
WisconsinPrimaryLess than 1 year oldLess than 20 lbsNot specified1-3 years old20-39 lbsNot specified4-7 years old40- 80 lbsLess than 57"8 and older80 lbs and up57" and taller4 years old40 lbsNot specifiedall riders except those in child restraintNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: $10 Car seat: <4 $175.30 4+ $150.10 No points
51
WyomingSecondaryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified8 and underNot specifiedNot specified9 and olderNot specifiedNot specified9 years oldNot specifiedNot specified9 years or olderNot specifiedNot specifiedSeat belt: driver-$25 passenger-$10 Car seat: $50No law
52
53
*March 2018 updates in red. Effective dates in note on box if available
Loading...