Co curricular.xlsx
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

View only
 
 
ABCDEF
1
ActivityDaysTimeDescriptionContactsWebsite
2
Fit Kids Morning MovementK-4 M/W/F; 5-8 T/Th7:30-8:00 AMStudents get up and moving to promote a successful start to their day! K-4 students will participate in different stations for short periods of exercise with high variety. Middle level students will have more of a game like setting with flexible drop-in times. Kelly Spreen kspreen@cvsdvt.org
3
5/6 Grade Student Leadership Council (SLC)Thursday 12:40-1:20 (LUNCH & RECESS)During lunch & after schoolThe mission of the 5th grade Student Leadership Council (SLC) is to make our school, community, and world a better place for everyone.   John Madden jmadden@cvsdvt.org
4
Geo BeeFridayDuring middle level lunchThe Geo Bee is a middle school level club. Geo Bee is for any student who loves or is interested in geography. We use digital games and quizzes to explore and learn world geography. Sam Nelson snelson@cvsdvt.org http://goo.gl/2nXpfC
5
Math Counts 6-8SCS Math Counts meets during lunch/Recess one day a week (Wednesday)12:05 PMMath Counts is a national middle school coaching and competitive mathematics program that promotes achievement through a series of fun and engaging "bee" style contests. Students investigate and process problem sets and work towards the CVSD competition held in January and the Northeast competition at UVM in February. Teams may also qualify to compete at the State Level which happens in March.Lisa Phelps lphelps@cvsdvt.org Devon Morrill dmorrill@cvsdvt.org
 https://www.mathcounts.org/
6
SAGA: Sexuality And Gender AllianceWednesdays
12-12:30 PM
This student lead organization focuses on education, respect, and inclusion of all students regardless of their GLBTQA identity. All are welcome!
Meghan Kelley
mkelley@cvsdvt.org

Amy Sayer
asayer@cvsdvt.org
7
Stage Band: SCS Band 7/8th co-curricular jazz ensembleMondays & Thursdays (tentatively)7:30-8:00 AM7th or 8th grader (student must be enrolled in the SCS band program – some exceptions apply to guitar, piano, bass, and drums). Stage Band performs in two seasonal concerts (March and May), at SCS Cabaret Night, CVSD Jazz Festival, and the Burlington Discover Jazz Festival.Tim Buckingham tbuckingham@cvsdvt.orgSCS Band
8
Scripp's Spelling BeeJanuary & FebruaryM, W, or Th 3:00-4:00 PMScripps Spelling Bee is an activity open to all students in Grades 3-8. In order to participate in the oral school bee held in January or February, students take a qualifying written test in early November. Thirty students are chosen based on their written test results. Several practice spelling sessions are held after school from 3:00-4:00 PM with a late bus available to take students home.
The Bee occurs during the school day so that all students who qualified can participate. Parents are invited to attend. The school champion represents SCS at the State Bee held at St. Michael's College in March.
Laura Davenport ldavenport@cvsdvt.orghttps://spellingbee.com/
9
SKATOctober - May (6 week sessions)M-TH (Varies) 3:00-4:00 PMSKAT provides students in grades 3 through 8 (depending on the club) the opportunity to try something new.Sarah Sargent ssargent@cvsdvt.orgSKAT website
10
Spelling Team Grade 5/6Season starts in September and can run to December. 6th grade, during lunch; 5th grade, time varies (TBD)Spelling Team is a team activity with district, regional and state competition potential.  Participants will practice and compete as part of a team.  We meet one/two times per week at lunch time.Robin Halnon rhalnon@cvsdvt.org5&6 Words Section 1 PDF
5&6 Words Section 2 PDF
5&6 Words Section 3 PDF
11
Spelling Team Grade 7/8Season starts in September and can run to December. During lunch one/two times per weekSpelling Team is a team activity with district, regional and state competition potential.  Participants will practice and compete as part of a team.Robin Halnon rhalnon@cvsdvt.org7&8 Words Section 1 PDF
7&8 Words Section 2 PDF
7&8 Words Section 3 PDF
12
7/8 Student Council September - June Weekly during lunch / Recess on Thursdays, additional times as projects require7-8 Student Council is an opportunity for student leaders to develop and exercise leadership skills.  The main goal of Student Council is to work towards building and maintaining a positive school community. Students can submit an "Expression of Interest Form" in September and once joined can continue involvement by making a commitment to attend and participate fully in all meetings and activities sponsored by student council.
  
Robin Halnon rhalnon@cvsdvt.org Lisa Phelps lphelps@cvsdvt.orghttps://spellingbee.com/
13
Interscholastic Sports (6-8)Fall, Winter and SpringDaily, after schoolFall sports: Field Hockey, Girls & boys Soccer, Cross Country Winter Sports: Girls & Boys Basketball Spring Sports: Track & FIeld, Softball, BaseballBob Gurwicz (Athletic Director) bgurwicz@cvsdvt.org
14
WEB - Where Everybody Belongs
Monthly meetings during lunch (Wednesdays), & events and outings TBA.VariesWEB (Where Everybody Belongs) a nationwide Program, whose sole purpose is to help sixth graders feel more comfortable as well as help them achieve success in their first year of middle school.
Eighth grade students serve as peer mentors, with the intent of helping the sixth grade class during the transition to middle school.
Rachel Petraska rpetraska@cvsdvt.org & Amy Sayre asayre@cvsdvt.org
15
YearbookDays will be determined based on student availabilityAfterschoolFor the yearbook, students will design and help promote the SCS Yearbook. Assisted by teachers, students use an online computer program to create pages, and are also primarily responsible for taking the pictures that will end up in the yearbook. Our main goals are to capture the atmosphere of Shelburne Community School and include every student's picture in the book. Nancy Nakhleh nnakhleh@cvsdvt.org
16
VolleyballM, W, T, F
3:15- 4:15pm
Middle level volleyball. All students welcome! Home and Away Matches. End of the season Tournament.Chris Boget chris@lclt.org & Kelly Spreen kspreen@cvsdvt.org
17
Bolton Ski ProgramFebruary & MarchFriday 3:00 PMBolton Valley After School Ski and Ride Program is offered through Shelburne Recreation Department and provides middle school students an affordable way to ski and ride with friends! We provide transportation to and from the mountain on a motorcoach, with lessons, rentals and lift tickets available to purchase as needed. The program runs for 5 weeks on Friday evenings in February and March. Registration opens in September, with a November deadline. This program fills up fast so don’t wait to sign up! Contact the Recreation Dept for more information at 985-9551.Shelburne Parks and Recreation (Betsy Cieplicki, Director) bcieplicki@shelburnevt.orgwww.shelburnevt.org
18
Student Diversity & Inclusion GroupTBD for 2019/20TBDOpen discussions, idea-sharing, and planning in-class or school-wide events all centered on diversity & inclusion. This is a club where students come as they are, share as much or little as they'd like, and take a judgment-free approach to dissecting school and community-wide climate and culture. Vasanthi Meyette (vmeyette@cvsdvt.org), Sam Nelson (snelson@cvsdvt.org) and Scott Sivo (ssivo@cvsdvt.org)
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1CW7q1aAkGCDIdewwOG2iYpH45slOUkQmJrG_KzO86J0/edit
19
Loading...