2017 Conference Sessions - Moderators List
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

View only
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVW
1
UAA 2017 Conference Session ID/TitleModerator
Moderator Email
3
Thursday, April 20
4
TH9.10.01 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Housing as a Right and Critical Questions about Services for the HomelessKathryn Terzanoterzano@arch.utah.edu
5
TH9.10.02 Claiming Neighborhood, New Ways of Understanding Neighborhood ChangeJohn Betancurbetancur@uic.edu
6
TH9.10.03 Housing Across the Lifecourse: Aging and MobilityJaclene Begleyjmbegley@ryerson.ca
7
TH9.10.05 Shaping the Visions of Infrastructure: Coalitions and DiscoursesAshley Burnsaburns5@tulane.edu
8
TH9.10.07 Sports in the Entrepreneur CityMark Rosentraubmsrosen@umich.edu
9
TH9.10.08 Groups and Institutions of Civil Society as Sustainability Agents
Lucia Capanema-Alvares
luciacapanema@gmail.com
10
TH9.10.10 Exploring the Complexity of Economic Development in Diverse ContextsIryna Lendeli.lendel@csuohio.edu
11
TH9.10.11 Technologies and Mythologies of MobilityAditi Aggarwalaaggar20@uic.edu
12
TH9.10.12 The Limits of Charter Schools and School ChoiceJulia Sass Rubinjlsrubin@rutgers.edu
13
TH9.10.13 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Innovating and Organizing for Racial Justice in EducationKimberly Mayfieldkmayfieldlynch@gmail.com
14
TH9.10.14 Local Non-Profit Organizations as Service ProvidersDouglas Ihrkedihrke@uwm.edu
15
TH9.10.16 Parks and Dumps, Traffic and Memories: The Historical and Material Embededness of Urban PlanningJuan J. Riverojj_rivero@yahoo.com
16
TH9.10.17 Migration, Mobility and Population Dynamics in ChinaPeter Burnspburns@soka.edu
17
TH9.10.25 Issues in Historic Preservation: Tax Credits and Historic DistrictsAaron Passellapassell@barnard.edu
18
19
20
TH10.50.01 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Activist Approach to Housing PolicyKaren Gibsongibsonk@pdx.edu
21
TH10.50.02 Preserving Safe and Affordable HousingKathe Newmanknewman@rutgers.edu
22
TH10.50.03 Housing Policy at the Local Level: the Role of Local Decisions and Decision-MakersAlex Schwartzschwartz@newschool.edu
23
TH10.50.04 What Prevents Vulnerability? Policy and Diverse CommunitiesBilly Fieldswf16@txstate.edu
24
TH10.50.05 Understanding the Values Behind Infrastructure InvestmentsJoe Grengsgrengs@umich.edu
25
TH10.50.06 Race, Residency and EducationKirk Harriskeharris@uwm.edu
26
TH10.50.07 Locational Decision Making in Local PlanningThomas Siglert.sigler@uq.edu.au
27
TH10.50.08 Bottom-up Sustainability and ActivismYasminah Beebeejauny.beebeejaun@ucl.ac.uk
28
TH10.50.09 Governing Urban Crises and Austerity: Lessons from a Cross-National Study Ismael BlancoIsmael.blanco@uab.cat
29
TH10.50.10 Rethinking Government Structures and Service ProvisionDaniel Blissdbliss@iit.edu
30
TH10.50.12 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Civic Engagement, Institutional Relations, Resource Delivery & Education
Rebecca Frances Kemper
Kemper.30@osu.edu
31
TH10.50.13 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Mass Incarceration; Public Housing Policy; and NeoliberalismCeletta Huntercelettahunter@yahoo.com
32
TH10.50.14 The Enduring Significance of Race in Urban PolicyAkira Rodriguezakirad@upenn.edu
33
TH10.50.15 : (P)olitics & politics: Challenges and Limits of Organizing Low-wage Immigrants in Contemporary Labor MovementsErika Grajedaegrajeda@gc.cuny.edu
34
TH10.50.16 Urban Revitalization, Economic Development and ConsequencesThomas Vicinovicino@neu.edu
35
TH10.50.17 Enduring Urban Injustice: How the State of Nevada Deals Las Vegas a Losing HandWilliam Brownwilliam.brown@unlv.edu
36
37
38
TH1.20.00 HOPE VI Outcomes: Prioritizing Residents?Jonathan Daviesjsdavies@dmu.ac.uk
39
TH1.20.02 Affordable Housing & Housing Choice Vouchers Embedded in CommunitiesDavid P. Varadydavid.varady@gmail.com
40
TH1.20.03 Addressing Needs in Shrinking Legacy CitiesJ. Rosie Tighej.l.tighe@csuohio.edu
41
TH1.20.06 Urban Green SpacesAnna Barkera.c.h.barker@leeds.ac.uk
42
TH1.20.07 Progressive Measures: How Well Are they Doing at the Local Level?Al Gourrieragourrier@ubalt.edu
43
TH1.20.08 Towards Environmental Justice: Sustainability and Social Justice Put TogetherWeifeng Liwfli@hku.hk
44
TH1.20.09 Theorizing Urban Political Change: Perspectives from American Political DevelopmentJoel Rastjrast@uwm.edu
45
TH1.20.10 Governing Amidst UncertaintyThomas Skuzinskiskuzinsk@vt.edu
46
TH1.20.11 Housing and Community Development in AsiaAshok Dasashokdas@hawaii.edu
47
TH1.20.12 Student Transportation and Educational EquityKristin Blaggkblagg@urban.org
48
TH1.20.13 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Grassroots Struggles for Employment and Agency in Urban RehabilitationLouise Simmonslouise.simmons@uconn.edu
49
TH1.20.14 Local Context and the Politics of Immigrant Integration and ExclusionMara Sidneymsidney@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
50
TH1.20.15 Equity Effects of New Labor Market PoliciesElizabeth Nisbetenisbet@jjay.cuny.edu
51
TH1.20.16 Can Policy Conquer Urban Inequality?Allison Bramwellafbramwe@uncg.edu
52
TH1.20.17 Urban Challenges: Spatial, Social, and Racial DynamicsRyan Devlinrdevlin@jjay.cuny.edu
53
TH1.20.18 Metromobility and Spatial Justice I: Thick Mobile InequalitiesTheresa Enrighttheresa.enright@utoronto.ca
54
55
56
TH3.00.02 Neighborhood Effects: Consequences of Living in Disadvantaged NeighborhoodsAnita Zuberizuberia@duq.edu
57
TH3.00.03 Community Participation and Community MobilizationLouise Jezierskijeziersk@msu.edu
58
TH3.00.04 Historic Preservation: Space and PlaceArturo Floresarturo.flores@iedf.org.mx
59
TH3.00.05 Plans, Projects in Comparative PerspectiveMaria Del C. Veramariadelc.vera@unlv.edu
60
TH3.00.06 Issues in Transit Oriented DevelopmentOlivier Roy-Baillargeonolivier.roybaillargeon@gmail.com
61
TH3.00.07 Financing Development: Practice and TheoryMerissa Piazzam.c.piazza83@csuohio.edu
62
TH3.00.08 Green Infrastructure: Building Administrative Capacity and WillingnessJill L. Taoj.tao.808@gmail.com
63
TH3.00.09 Effective Participation Methods 1Amber Wichowsky
amber.wichowsky@marquette.edu
64
TH3.00.10 The Ubiquitous Regional Governing Organizations (RGOs) of AmericaDavid Millerdymiller@pitt.edu
65
TH3.00.13 Explaining and Evaluating Local Immigration PoliciesThomas Vicinovicino@neu.edu
66
TH3.00.14 Urban Education, Innovation and EquityElizabeth L. Sweetelsweet1@gmail.com
67
TH3.00.15 Tackling Inequality in Cities: International Lesson Drawing from Progressive Urban InitiativesRobin Hambletonrobin.hambleton@uwe.ac.uk
68
TH3.00.16 Activist Scholarship Special Session:Translation and Healing Justice in the Face of Trauma in Community-Engaged ScholarshipCelina Sucsu3@gc.cuny.edu
69
TH3.00.17 Changing American Suburbs: Housing, Population Shifts, Inequality & PlanningCathy Liucyliu@gsu.edu
70
TH3.00.18 HOPE VI Outcomes: Housing Stock and Community ImpactsMai Nguyenmai@unc.edu
71
72
Friday, April 21
73
FR8.00.01 Local Viewpoints: Resident Perceptions of Redevelopment EffortsSeyeon Leeslee80@syr.edu
74
FR8.00.03 The Role of Business and Government Policy in GentrificationDan Immergluckdan.immergluck@gatech.edu
75
FR8.00.04 Challenges to Public Housing Authorities & Public Housing PracticesMichael Glassglass@pitt.edu
76
FR8.00.05 Urban Design for Sustainable CommunitiesBethany Welchbethanyjwelch@gmail.com
77
FR8.00.06 Issues in Density and New UrbanismDan Trudeautrudeau@macalester.edu
78
FR8.00.07 Place Meaning and Economic Resilience: Visiting the PossibilitiesCandi Clousec.clouse@csuohio.edu
79
FR8.00.08 Going Green: Rhetoric, Action, ResultsJulia Nevarezjnevarez@kean.edu
80
FR8.00.09 Effective Participation Methods 2Todd Schenktschenk@vt.edu
81
FR8.00.10 Actually Existing Urban GovernanceKathe Newmanknewman@rutgers.edu
82
FR8.00.12 Social Justice and EducationErin Graveserin.m.graves@bos.frb.org
83
FR8.00.14 Using Local Research to Inform Action (Programs and Public Policies) with and for Immigrant and Refugee Communities in the Twin CitiesNicole MartinRogersnicole.martinrogers@wilder.org
84
FR8.00.15 Equal Access to ServicesBernadette Hanlonhanlon.42@osu.edu
85
FR8.00.16 Healing Our Communities: What Trauma-Informed Engaged Research Can Teach Us About Enduring Urban InjusticeMaurice Stevensstevens.368@osu.edu
86
FR8.00.17 Rethinking Urban PlanningSusan Mooresusan.moore@ucl.ac.uk
87
FR8.00.18 Getting Tenure/Promotion –Research, Teaching and Service Strategies (COLLOQUY ORGANIZED BY UAA VICE CHAIR)Robert Silvermanrms35@buffalo.edu
88
89
90
FR9.40.00 Community Land Trust Practitioners and Researchers Dialogue: Ambitions, Limitations and the FutureJames Defilippisjdefilip@rutgers.edu
91
FR9.40.01 Understanding Neighborhood ChangeTodd SwanstromSwanstromt@umsl.edu
92
FR9.40.02 Saving and Strengthening Detroit’s Neighborhoods: Can Residents Impact Residential Land Use and Housing?Margaret Dewarmedewar@umich.edu
93
FR9.40.03 Protecting and Expanding the Stock of Affordable HousingDarrel Ramsey-Musolfdarrel@larp.umass.edu
94
FR9.40.04 Evaluating Public Housing Authority Programs and PoliciesCorianne Payton Scallycscally@urban.org
95
FR9.40.05 Land Use, Resilience, and Environmental IssuesSevin Yildizsyildiz@barnard.edu
96
FR9.40.06 Culture, Community and Place-makingYasminah Beebeejauny.beebeejaun@ucl.ac.uk
97
FR9.40.08 Advancing Urban Analysis: Methods and Mapping IJulia Barnardjulialb@email.unc.edu
98
FR9.40.09 Urban Elections: Funding and PowerBrian McCabemccabeb@georgetown.edu
99
FR9.40.10 Activist Scholarship Special Session: Media as a Tool for Youth Activism: Examples from the University Community Collaborative at Temple UniversityNuala Cabralnuala.cabral@temple.edu
100
FR9.40.12 Race and the Enduring Legacy of the 1960sKaren Gibsongibsonk@pdx.edu
101
FR9.40.13 Economics and EthnicityQingfang Wangqingfang.wang@ucr.edu
Loading...