ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVW
1
Reminders -
2
All dates are designed to have 2 presentations (30 min each). If you would like the full hour to present, please indicate that in the second presentation slot.
3
Please email talk titles and abstracts to meiselj@umiacs.umd.edu a week before your talk.
4
Seminars are held on Thursdays at 2:00 pm in room IRB-4105
5
DateSpeaker(s)
Concentration Area or Affiliation (if not a grad student)
Speaker's PI/AdvisorEmail addressTitleFaculty Members Providing Feedback
6
8/29/2019CBCB all hands meeting
7
8
9
9/5/2019
10
11
12
9/12/2019RECEPTION FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS INTERESTED IN BIOINFORMATICS/COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY
13
14
15
9/19/2019Brian OndovNiklas Elmqvistondovb@umd.eduDiscovery of Microbial Communities in Metagenomic Data Using Topic ModelingHCB
16
Daniel AyresyttCBCBayres@umd.eduHigh-Performance Phylogenetic Likelihood Evaluation on Parallel Processors
17
18
9/26/2019Fatemeh AlmodaresiRNA seq Alignment and sequence searchRob Patrofalmodar@umiacs.umd.eduTBD
19
20
21
10/3/2019Kiran JavkarWhole genome Genotype-Phenotype correlationsMihai Popkjavkar@cs.umd.eduPHENO-SURVEIL: Phenotype-Structural Variants CorrelatIon ToolMihai Pop
22
23
24
10/10/2019Hirak Sarkar (Room 3137)RNA-seq quantification and SimulationRob Patrohsarkar@umd.eduTBDNajib El-Sayed
25
26
27
10/15/2019CBCB SEMINAR: Dr. Mohammed El-KebirImplications of Non-uniqueness of Solutions in Cancer PhylogeneticsHost: Max Leiserson
28
29
30
10/17/2019TBD
31
TBD
32
33
10/24/2019Theresa AlexanderCBBGHéctor Corrada Bravoreesyxan@umd.eduCapturing latent structure in data with innate clustered architectureMihai Pop
34
Rob Patro
35
36
10/31/2019Jackie MeiselCS + MicrobiomeMihai Popmeiselj@umiacs.umd.eduUsing graph-based approaches to study taxonomic interactions and genomic variants of gut microbes in diarrhea
37
Nidhi ShahCSMihai Popnidhi@cs.umd.edu
38
39
11/7/2019Khiem LamCBBG
Najib El-Sayed/Romina Goldszmid
lamkc@umd.eduTBDMihai Pop
40
Seth CommichauxCBBGMihai PopTBDNajib El-Sayed,
41
42
11/14/2019Alexis BoledaCBBGMichael Cummingsaboleda@umd.eduTBDNajib El-Sayed,
43
Renee Ti ChouCBBGMichael Cummingsrchou@umd.eduTBDNajib El-Sayed,
44
45
11/21/2019Philip JohnsonCBBGAnne Simon/Bruce Shapiropjohnson@umd.eduCharacterization of Panicum mosaic virus-like translation enhancers by chemical structure probing and 3-D modeling
46
Jason FanCSMax Leisersonjasonfan@cs.umd.eduTBD
47
48
11/28/2019HAPPY THANKSGIVING- NO SEMINAR
49
50
51
12/5/2019Tracy ChenCSMax Leisersonychen151@cs.umd.edu
Supervised discovery of mutation signatures for clinical translation
52
Gowthami S.CSSridhar Hannenhalligowthami@umd.eduTBD
53
54
12/12/2019Victoria Cepeda EspinozaCSMihai Pop
55
Brook StacyMetagenome Assembly ValidationMihai Pop
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100