WERC Seminars 2017-2018
Comments
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

 
$
%
123
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
Available slots shown in green rows
2
DateFaculty HostPresenter NamePresenter's emailPresenter's affiliation & position (student etc)Presentation TitleAbstractRemote access infoDial in using phoneRoom
3
9/8/2017Anna LiljedahlJessie Cherryjessica.cherry@alaska.eduNOAA, WERCWater and infrastructure from the air: airborne bridge monitoring in Interior Alaska
This talk will describe recent efforts to capture and quantify open water and ice interactions with bridges from airborne
photogrammetry throughout the course of the cold season. Groundwater, including aufeis, ice floes, sediment, and debris can all cause problems for bridge structures. This work is supported by the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities.
No remote access as requested by presenter.No remote access as requested by presenter.Duckering 531
4
9/15/2017William SchnabelKaren Spaletakjspaleta@alaska.eduCNSM-UAFHappiness is a lab full of (working) instruments: Overview of analytical techniques available at the Advanced Instrumentation Laboratory (AIL)AIL is a multi-instrument resource that specializes in elemental and surface analysis and related techniques. I will provide an overview of our instrumentation.
Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/525439685
United States (Toll Free): 1 877 568 4106, United States: +1 (786) 535-3219, Access Code: 525-439-685Duckering 531
5
9/22/2017INE Pubinar/William SchnabelJoel Homanjwhoman@alaska.eduWERCComparison and Review of two 2D Hydrologic Models
Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/782427733
United States (Toll Free): 1 877 309 2073; United States: +1 (224) 501-3217; Access Code: 782-427-733
6
9/29/2017Anna Liljedahl Misha Kanevskiymkanevskiy@alaska.eduINE-WERC FacultyYedoma (ice-rich syngenetic permafrost) in northern Alaskahttps://global.gotomeeting.com/join/767524941United States (Toll Free): 1 877 309 2073; United States: +1 (224) 501-3217; Access Code: 767-524-941
7
10/6/2017Anna Liljedahl Lei Cailcai4@alaska.eduCNSM Ph. D studentClimate downscaling products North Slopehttps://zoom.us/j/103560567US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 103 560 567
Duck 531
8
10/13/2017Anna LiljedahlAnna Liljedahlakliljedahl@alaska.eduWERC FacultyGlacierfed streams recharge aquifershttps://zoom.us/j/547185414 US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 547 185 414
Rasmuson 340
9
10/20/2017INE Pubinar/William Schnabel
Erin Whitney, Jen Schmidt
erin.whitney@alaska.eduUAF, UAARenewable Power, Energy Costs, and Subsistence in Rural Alaskahttps://zoom.us/j/456666577US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 456-666-577
The Pub
10
10/27/2017
Anna Tarbeeva/William Schnabel
Anna Mikheevaarvin2@yandex.ruFulbright Visiting Researcher at University of Alaska Anchorage from Lomonosov Moscow State University.Assessment of vegetation changes in mountain tree line ecotone, Agashoshok valley, Western Brooks Range, over the last 60 yearshttps://zoom.us/j/932275309US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 932-275-309
Duck 531
11
11/3/2017Anna LiljedahlNicole Misartinmisarti@alaska.eduWERC FacultyTBDhttps://zoom.us/j/615564160US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 615-564-160
Duck 531
12
11/10/2017Chris ArpAnna Tarbeevaamtarbeeva@yandex.ruVisiting WERC researcher from Moscow State UniversityGradations in Stream Beadation from Siberia to Alaskahttps://zoom.us/j/517881215US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 517-881-215
Duck 531
13
11/17/2017INE Pubinar/William SchnabelNed Rozellejrozell@gmail.comScience Writer, Geophysical Institute
Against the flow: 800 miles hiking next to a pipe
https://zoom.us/j/159735481US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 159-735-481
Duck 531
14
11/24/2017THANKSGIVING
15
12/1/2017Anna LiljedahlKen Tapekdtape@alaska.eduINE-WERC FacultyBeaver colonization of the ArcticTBDhttps://zoom.us/j/895567393US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656
Meeting ID: 895-567-393
Duck 531
16
12/8/2017
No seminar: ELIF opening ceremony
17
WINTER BREAK
18
1/26/2018Anna LiljedahlPrajna Lindgrenpregmi@alaska.eduGeophysical InstituteTBD - Remote sensing of lakes and CH4 emission
19
2/2/2018Anna Liljedahl Ina Timlingitimling@alaska.eduFaculty Institute of Arctic BiologySoil microbes
20
2/9/2018Anna LiljedahlKristin Gagnekrgagne2@alaska.eduCNSM Ph. D StudentDissolved Organic Matter TBDTBD
21
2/16/2018INE Pubinar/William SchnabelYuri Shuryshur@alaska.eduINE Faculty
22
2/23/2018Debu MisraFawad Naseerfnaseer@alaska.eduGE MS StudentTBA
23
3/2/2018Anna LiljedahlGerald "JJ" Frostjfrost@abrinc.comABRTBA - YK Delta ecosystem studiesTBA
24
3/9/2018Srijan AggarwalAbdul Kadirakadir@alaska.eduMS StudentTBD
25
3/16/2018SPRING BREAK
26
3/23/2018Anna LiljedahlAbraham Emond
abraham.emond@alaska.gov
DGGSGoldstream EM to Permafrost
27
3/30/2018Anna LiljedahlLorrie Realdrea@alaska.eduINE-WERC FacultyMercury in Alaskan seals and sea lions
will send as a pdf - Lorrie will contrast levels of mercury seen in 3 species of seals and sea lions in the Aleutian Islands and Bering Sea, Alaska and discuss how their different foraging behavior may impact their exposure to dietary mercury
28
4/6/2018Anna LiljedahlTamara Harmstkharms@alaska.eduIAB, B&W UAFCoupling of hydrology and biogeochemistry on Arctic hillslopes
29
4/13/2018Nicole MisartiAlexander Thorntonaethornton@alaska.eduCFOS MS StudentTBA
30
4/20/2018INE Pubinar/William SchnabelAaron Dotson (?)
31
4/27/2018Debu MisraBrittany Bloodbablood@alaska.eduGE MS StudentTBATBA
32
5/4/2018Sveta StueferKelsey DeanWES MS studentTBA
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
Loading...
 
 
 
Sheet1