ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
This is a list of resources to begin your anti-racist work. This list will be continously updated.
2
Name of ResourceType of ResourceLinkNotes
3
Ella Baker and the Black Freedom Movement: Mentoring a New Generation of ActivistsArticlehttps://drive.google.com/file/d/0By2bSlBi5slDbXB2enJ0RzN6c3M/view
4
White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack (Peggy McIntosh)Articlehttp://convention.myacpa.org/houston2018/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/UnpackingTheKnapsack.pdf
5
Who Gets to Be Afraid in America? (Ibram X. Kendi)Articlehttps://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2020/05/ahmaud-arbery/611539/
6
The American Nightmare (Ibram X. Kendi)Articlehttps://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2020/06/american-nightmare/612457/
7
Dear White Women: A letter reminding modern white feminist of their relationship with black women throughout history (Rachel E. Cargle) Articlehttps://072bc434-41d6-41ab-b249-9180c67fb60f.filesusr.com/ugd/5be363_f5d9bdf09e2d4f6eaba09a8c193f5199.pdf
8
How to Talk to Your Family About Racism on Thanksgiving (Rachel E. Cargle)Articlehttps://www.harpersbazaar.com/culture/politics/a25221603/thanksgiving-dinner-conversation-how-to-talk-to-family-about-politics/
9
The Intersectionality Wars (Jane Coaston)Articlehttps://www.vox.com/the-highlight/2019/5/20/18542843/intersectionality-conservatism-law-race-gender-discrimination
10
What exactly is a microaggression? (Jenée Desmond-Harris)Articlehttps://www.vox.com/2015/2/16/8031073/what-are-microaggressions
11
How Racism Hurts White Americans (John Bracey)Articlehttps://www.mediaed.org/transcripts/How-Racism-Harms-White-Americans-Transcript.pdf
12
No More Money for the Police (Philip V. McHarris and Thenjiwe McHarris)Articlehttps://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/30/opinion/george-floyd-police-funding.html?smid=fb-share&fbclid=IwAR0E8U1Anwh8YUK3Yq96zkxr5IiTZHdmMS2UkRlsiK7fvFSZn9HLBGQ4T1Y
13
The Police Don't Change (Joel Anderson)Articlehttps://slate.com/news-and-politics/2020/05/police-violence-protests-george-floyd.html
14
Policing doesn’t need reforming. It needs to be abolished and created anew. (Courtland Milloy)Articlehttps://www.washingtonpost.com/local/policing-doesnt-need-reforming-it-needs-to-be-abolished-and-created-anew/2016/10/04/cb6db210-8a50-11e6-875e-2c1bfe943b66_story.html
15
Summer Heat (Mariame Kaba)Articlehttps://thenewinquiry.com/summer-heat/
16
Broken Windows is On Hiatus: Community Interventions We Can Enact Now for Real Justice (Hannah Hodson)Articlehttps://www.autostraddle.com/broken-windows-is-on-hiatus-community-interventions-we-can-enact-now-for-real-justice-271625/
17
BLACK PEOPLE ARE DEMANDING POLICE ABOLITION—WE COULD BE DEMANDING MUCH MORE (Benji Hart)Articlehttps://radfag.com/2017/08/09/black-people-are-demanding-police-abolition-we-could-be-demanding-much-more/
18
What Does Police Abolition Mean? (Derecka Purnell)http://bostonreview.net/law-justice/derecka-purnell-what-does-police-abolition-mean
19
20
Freedom is a Constant Struggle (Interview w/ Angela Davis)Interviewhttps://www.docdroid.net/rfDRFWv/freedom-is-a-constant-struggle-pdf#page=3
21
22
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? (Mumia Abu-Jamal)Bookhttp://www.citylights.com/book/?GCOI=87286100216460
23
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? And Other Conversations about Race (Beverly Daniel Tatum)Bookhttps://www.basicbooks.com/titles/beverly-daniel-tatum/why-are-all-the-black-kids-sitting-together-in-the-cafeteria/9781541616585/
24
Stamped from the Beginning (Ibram X. Kendi)Bookhttps://www.ibramxkendi.com/stamped-from-the-beginning
25
How To Be An Antiracist (Ibram X. Kendi)Bookhttps://www.ibramxkendi.com/how-to-be-an-antiracist-1
26
Hood Feminism (Mikki Kendall)Bookhttps://mikkikendall.com/books-2/
27
28
When and Where I Enter (Paula J. Giddings)Bookhttps://www.harpercollins.com/9780688146504/when-and-where-i-enter/#:~:text=When%20and%20Where%20I%20Enter%20reveals%20the%20immense%20moral%20power,undisputed%20dignity%20of%20my%20womanhood%2C
29
The House That Race Built (Edited by Wahneema Lubiano)Bookhttps://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/104155/the-house-that-race-built-by-edited-and-with-an-introduction-by-wahneema-lubiano/
30
Assata: An AutobiographyBookhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/100322.Assata
31
The Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color (Cherríe L. Moroga, Gloria E. Anzaldúa, Toni Cade Bambara)Bookhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/313110.This_Bridge_Called_My_Back
32
The Torture Letters: Reckoning with Police Violence (Laurence Ralph)Bookhttps://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/book/chicago/T/bo26783305.html
33
Me and White Supremacy (Layla F. Saad)Bookhttp://laylafsaad.com/meandwhitesupremacy
34
So You Want to Talk About Race (Ijeoma Oluo)Bookhttps://www.sealpress.com/titles/ijeoma-oluo/so-you-want-to-talk-about-race/9781580056779/
35
Why I'm no Longer Talking to White People About Race (Eddo Reni-Lodge)Bookhttp://renieddolodge.co.uk/books/
36
The Bluest Eye (Toni Morrison)Bookhttps://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/117662/the-bluest-eye-by-toni-morrison/
37
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness (Michelle Alexander)Bookhttps://newjimcrow.com/
38
Are Prison's Obsolete? (Angela Davis)Bookhttps://www.feministes-radicales.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Angela-Davis-Are_Prisons_Obsolete.pdf
39
Black Feminist Thought (Patricia Hill Collins)Bookhttps://www.google.com/books/edition/Black_Feminist_Thought/icWTAgAAQBAJ?hl=en&gbpv=0
40
White Fragility: Why It's So Hard For White People to Talk About Racism (Robin DiAngelo)Bookhttps://robindiangelo.com/publications/
41
Locking Up Our Own (James Forman, Jr.)Bookhttps://www.jamesformanjr.com/
42
Sister Outsider (Audre Lorde)Bookhttps://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/198292/sister-outsider-by-audre-lorde/
43
Redefining Realness (Janet Mock)Bookhttps://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Redefining-Realness/Janet-Mock/9781476709130
44
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Maya Angelou)Bookhttps://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/3924/i-know-why-the-caged-bird-sings-by-maya-angelou/
45
Heavy: An American Memoir (Kiese Laymon)Bookhttps://www.kieselaymon.com/heavy
46
Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her SuperpowerBookhttps://read.macmillan.com/lp/eloquent-rage/
47
Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption (Bryan Stevenson)Bookhttps://justmercy.eji.org/
48
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation (Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor)Bookhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25330220-from-blacklivesmatter-to-black-liberation
49
The Fire Next Time (James Baldwin)Bookhttps://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/7753/the-fire-next-time-by-james-baldwin/9780679744726/teachers-guide/
50
Between the World and Me (Ta-Nehisi Coates)Book https://ta-nehisicoates.com/books/between-the-world-and-me/
51
52
Our National Conversation About Conversations About RacePodcasthttps://www.showaboutrace.com/
53
Seeing WhitePodcastsceneonradio.org/about/
54
Intersectionality Matters!Podcasthttps://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/intersectionality-matters/id1441348908
55
Code SwitchPodcasthttps://www.npr.org/sections/codeswitch/
56
Momentum: A Race Forward PodcastPodcasthttps://www.raceforward.org/media/podcast/momentum-race-forward-podcast
57
Pod for the CausePodcasthttps://civilrights.org/podforthecause/
58
1619Podcasthttps://www.nytimes.com/2020/01/23/podcasts/1619-podcast.html
59
Shine Brighter TogetherPodcasthttps://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/shine-brighter-together/id1464945623
60
The Diversity GapPodcasthttps://www.thediversitygap.com/podcast-2
61
Abolishing Prison with Mariame KabaPodcasthttps://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/thinking-about-how-abolish-prisons-mariame-kaba-podcast-transcript-ncna992721
62
63
Race--The Power of an IllusionDocumentary Serieshttps://www.pbs.org/race/000_General/000_00-Home.htmConnect using VPN to view
64
Black Feminism & the Movement for Black Lives: Barbara Smith, Reina Gossett, Charlene CarruthersYouTube Videohttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV3nnFheQRo&feature=youtu.be
65
Why We Can and Should Abolish the Police and Prison Industrial ComplexVideohttps://www.filmsforaction.org/watch/why-we-can-and-should-abolish-the-police-and-prison-industrial-complex/
66
13th (Ava DuVernay)Documentaryhttps://www.netflix.com/title/80091741
67
American Son (Kenny Leon)Moviehttps://www.playbill.com/article/american-son-starring-kerry-washington-arrives-on-netflix-november-1
68
Just MercyMoviehttps://variety.com/2020/film/news/just-mercy-free-rental-warner-bros-1234623027/
69
Dear White People (Justin Simien)Tv Serieshttps://www.netflix.com/title/80095698
70
When They See Us (Ava DuVernay)Tv Serieshttps://www.netflix.com/title/80200549
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100