BCDEFGHKXYZAAABACAD
1
2
Fusion and Plasma Student Research Institutions
3
4
Link to Additional Information InstitutionLocationWebsiteResearch areasDepartment Degrees OfferedContact for more information
6
Auburn University Auburn, ALhttp://www.physics.auburn.eduFusion plasmas, Space plasmas, Low Temperature plasmas, Dusty plasmas, Atomic processes in plasmas, Atomic Physics, Biophysics, Condensed Matter PhysicsPhysicsPhDEvdokiya (Eva) Kostadinova, egk0033@auburn.edu
David Maurer, dam0014@auburn.edu
John Schmitt, jcs0114@auburn.edu
7
Baylor UniversityWaco, TXhttps://www.baylor.edu/physics/index.php?id=68165
http://www.baylor.edu/CASPER
Complex plasmas; high energy & elementary particle physics; condensed matter & surface chemistry physics; gravitation & cosmologyPhysicsPh.DTruell Hyde, Truell_Hyde@baylor.edu
Lorin Matthews, Lorin_Matthews@baylor.edu
10
Bryn Mawr CollegeBryn Mawr, PAhttps://www.brynmawr.edu/gsas/programs/graduate-program-physicsPlasma Physics, AMO Experiment, Condensed Matter Experiment, Galactic Dynamics, String Theory
PhysicsPhDProf. David Schnaffner, dschaffner@brynmawr.edu
12
College William and MaryWilliamsburg, VAhttps://www.wm.edu/as/physics/ Plasma physics experimental and theoretical. Mostly fusion, but also basic plasmas
Strong particle physics program at various energies both theory as well as experimental with a strong connection to JLab, Fermi lab and NASA.
PhysicsPhDRyan Chaban, rachaban@email.wm.edu
Richard Rekoatmodjo, rmreksoatmodjo@email.wm.edu
Saskia Mordijck, smordijck@wm.edu
15
Colorado State UniversityFort Collins, COhttps://www.engr.colostate.edu/projects/clsd/Prof. Jacob Roberts, jacob.roberts@colostate.edu
16
Columbia UniversityNew York, NYhttps://www.apam.columbia.edu/applied-physics-research
http://plasma.apam.columbia.edu
In plasma physics: fusion energy science, instability diagnostics and control, experiments on HBT-EP, DIII-D, and NSTX-U tokamaks.Applied Physics and Applied MathematicsMasters, PhDProf. Gerald Navratil, navratil@columbia.edu
Prof. Michael Mauel, mauel@columbia.edu
Prof. Carlos Paz-Soldan, carlos.pazsoldan@columbia.edu
Jeffrey Levesque, JPL2131@columbia.edu
17
Cornell UniversityIthaca, NYhttps://www.lps.cornell.edu/Electrical and Computer EngineeringProf. David Hammer, dah5@cornell.edu
Prof. Bruce Kusse, brk2@cornell.edu
20
Eastern Michigan UniversityYpsilanti, MI https://www.emich.edu/physics-astronomy/low temperature plasma, dusty plasma, atmospheric pressure plasma PhysicsMSProf. Surabhi Jaiswal, sjaiswa1@emich.edu
23
Georgia Institute of TechnologyAtlanta, GAhttps://frc.gatech.edu/fusion technology, fusion materialsAerospace Engineering
Nuclear & Radiological Engineering
Physics.
PhDProf. Mitchell Walker, mitchell.walker@ae.gatech.edu
27
Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyCambridge, MAhttps://web.mit.edu/nse/theoretical and experimental Plasma Physics; Magnetic fusion energy reactor design; High Energy Density Astrophysics; Superconducting magnet technologyNuclear Science and Engineering PhDHeather Barry, hbarry@mit.edu
31
North Carolina State UniversityRaleigh NCwew.ne.ncsu.eduPlasma science and engineeringNuclear Engineering PhDProf. Steve Shannon, scshanno@ncsu.edu, Director of Graduate Program
Lisa Marshall, lisa.marshall@ncsu.edu, Director of Outreach, Retention & Engagement
Alexander Bataller, awbatall@ncsu.edu (ultrafast spectroscopy, laser/plasma interaction)
Katharina Stapelmann, kstapel@ncsu.edu (plasmas for life sciences)
Amanda Lietz, amandalietz@gmail.com (plasma modelling and simulation)
33
Penn State UniversityUniversity Park, PAhttps://www.nuce.psu.edu
https://rssel.psu.edu
Plasma-Material Interactions, Surface Characterization, Materials DesignDepartment of Nuclear Engineering PhDJean Paul Allain, allain@psu.edu
Leigh Winfrey, lzw290@psu.edu
Matthew Parsons, matthew.parsons@psu.edu
34
Princeton UniversityPrinceton, NJhttps://plasma.princeton.edu/Within PiPP: magnetic fusion energy, inertial fusion, lasers, low temperature plasma applications and nanotechnology, space physics, plasma astrophysics. Within MAE: Physics of laser-produced plasmas, ultrafast and high-field phenomena in plasmas, intense light–matter interactions, attosecond science, and quantum optics; engineering for magnetic fusion including plasma control and plasma-material interactions.Program in Plasma Physics (PiPP),
Astrophysical Sciences
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)
Chemical Engineering,
Electrical Engineering
PhDDara Lewis, dmlewis@princeton.edu (PiPP)
Julia Mikhailova, j.mikhailova@princeton.edu (MAE)
Nicholas Fasano, nfasano@princeton.edu (MAE)
42
University of Alabama, HuntsvilleHuntsville, ALhttp://uah.edu/cpu2alUAH: Experimental research in electric propulsion, magnetic nozzle, atmospheric pressure plasmas, optical diagnostics, plasma water purification, plasma-assisted combustion, burning plasma. Computational research in space plasmas, solar wind, heliosphere, solar corona, CME
CPU2AL: Wide range of topics including plasma synthesis of materials, plasma agriculture, plasma food sterilization, ionosphere, plasma catalysis, electric propulsion, space physics
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Center for Space Plasma and Aeronomic Research
Also representing statewide NSF CPU2AL project
PhDGabe Xu , gabe.xu@uah.edu
Dana Waller, dsw0012@uah.edu
44
University of Alaska - FairbanksFairbanks, AKhttps://www.uaf.edu/physics/Basic plasma physics, Plasma turbulence, Space plasmas (sun-planatary magnetospheres, auroral research, aeronomy, ionospheric. observational, theoretical, computational ), Complex systems, Computational plasma physics, Ionospheric research includes direct pertubative experiments (HAARP), rocket launches (from the Poker Flat Rocket Range), Satellite and computationalPhysicsPhD (Physics and Space Physics), MSProf. David Newman, denewman@alaska.edu
47
University of California, BerkeleyBerkeley, CAhttps://nuc.berkeley.eduLaser-Plasma Interactions, High Energy Density Plasmas, Accelerators and Beams, Materials Processing, Fusion, Applied Plasma PhysicsNuclear EngineeringPhDCarl Schroeder, cbschroeder@berkeley.edu
48
University of California, IrvineIrvine, CAhttps://www.physics.uci.edu/research/plasmaIn plasma physics: Fusion Plasmas, laser plasma interactions.
UCI also has condensed matter, particle physics, astrophysics, medical physics, and biophysics.
PhysicsPhDFranklin Dollar, fdollar@uci.edu
49
University of California, Los AnglesLos Angeles, CAhttp://psti.ucla.eduResearch areas, focusing solely on plasma science and technology:
Within Physics and Astronomy: Fundamental plasma physics, intense laser-matter interactions, plasma-based accelerators, high energy density plasmas, low temperature plasmas, computational plasma physics, magnetic confinement fusion energy research, plasma diagnostics, inertial confinement fusion energy research, space and astrophysical plasmas
Within Earth Planetary and Space Sciences (EPSS) and Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (AOS): Space plasma physics, spacecraft instrumentation, space weather
Within Electrical Engineering (EE): Laser-plasma interactions, computational plasma physics, plasma-based accelerators, inertial confinement fusion energy research
Within Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE): fusion technology, plasma propulsion, plasma-materials interaction
Within Materials Science and Engineering (MSE): fusion materials
Plasma Science and Technology Institute
Physics and Astronomy (P&A)
Earth Planetary and Space Sciences (EPSS)
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (AOS)
Electrical Engineering (EE)
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)
Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)
Troy Carter, tcarter@physics.ucla.edu
52
University of California, San DiegoSan Diego, CAhttps://cer.ucsd.edu/Fusion Energy, Energy Sciences, Renewable Energy, Energy storage, Fuel cellsCenter for Energy Research, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department, Department of PhysicsPhDDmitri Orlov, dorlov@ucsd.edu
C.Holland chholland@ucsd.edu
57
University of Florida Gainesville, FLhttps://mcdevitt.mse.ufl.eduComputational plasma physics, magnetic fusion, plasma turbulence, materialsNuclear EngineeringPhDProf. McDevitt, cmcdevitt@ufl.edu
58
University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignUrbana, ILnpre.illinois.eduhealth physics, plasma and fusion, reactor physics, risk and policy, and nuclear materialsMS, PhDKristie Stramaski, kstram20@illinois.edu
Prof. YZ, zhyang@illinois.edu

61
University of Maryland, Baltimore CountyBaltimore, MDhttps://me.umbc.edu/graduate-program-overviewMechanical EngineeringPhDProf. Carlos Romero-Talamas, romero@umbc.edu
62
University of Maryland, College ParkCollege Park, MDhttps://ireap.umd.edu/research/theory
http://lasermatter.umd.edu/
https://terpconnect.umd.edu/~mattland/
Space and astrophysical plasmas, plasma turbulence, magnetic fusion, stellarators, laser-plasma interactions, magnetic mirrors, accelerator physicsPhysicsPhDJames Drake, drake@umd.edu,
Matt Landreman, matt.landreman@gmail.com
63
University of MichiganAnn Arbor, MIhttps://mipse.umich.edu/grad_school.phpLaser-Plasma Interactions, High Energy Density Plasmas, Low temperature Plasmas, Accelerators and Beams, Plasma propulsion, Materials Processing, High Speed Flows, Environmental and Energy Applications, Microplasmas, Diagnostics, High Power Microwaves, Biological and Biomedical Applications, Modeling and Simulation Methods, Radiation transport, Nanotechnology, microelectronics, MEMS, Electromagnetics and Wave Plasma Interactions, Space and Astrophysical Plasmas, Fundamental Plasma TransportApplied Physics, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Aerospace EngineeringPhDProf. Carolyn Kuranz, ckuranz@umich.edu
Louise Willingale, wlouise@umich.edu
Prof. John Foster, jefoster@umich.edu
Prof. Mark Kushner,
64
University of MinnesotaMinneapolis, MNhttps://cse.umn.edu/me https://cse.umn.edu/physicsWithin Mechanical Engineering: plasma science and engineering
Within Physics: space plasma physics
Mechanical Engineering
Physics
PhDPeter Bruggeman, pbruggem@umn.edu
Uwe Kortshagen, korts001@umn.edu
Cynthia Cattell, cattell@umn.edu
67
University of Nevada - Reno Reno, NVhttps://www.unr.edu/physics/research/high-energy-density-plasma-physicshigh energy densityProf. Hiroshi Sawada, hsawada@unr.edu
70
University of RochesterRochester, NYhttps://www.lle.rochester.edu/index.php/education/
http://www.hajim.rochester.edu/me/graduate/index.html
https://www.pas.rochester.edu/graduate/index.html https://www.rochester.edu/imaxed/ https://www.rochester.edu/cmap/
HOME OF THE OMEGA LASER, Plasma physics, Fusion Energy, Laser-Plasma Interactions, Inertial Confinement Fusion, High Energy Density Science, AstrophysicsLaboratory for Laser Energetics
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhDAdam Sefkow, adam.sefkow@rochester.edu
Chuang Ren, chuang.ren@rochester.edu
Mingsheng Wei, mingsheng@lle.rochester.edu
72
University of Tennessee, KnoxvilleKnoxville, TNhttps://ne.utk.edu/research/nuclear-fusion-technology/Plasma-Material Interactions, Boundary Plasma Physics, Fusion Technology, Nuclear Materials, Plasma and Heat Flux Diagnostics, Radiation Damage to MaterialsNuclear Engineering PhDProf. David Donovan, ddonovan@utk.edu
Professor Livia Casali, lcasali@utk.edu
73
University of Texas - AustinAustin, TXhttps://cheds.ph.utexas.edu/
https://sites.cns.utexas.edu/utifs-exp/home
https://w3fusion.ph.utexas.edu/ifs/
Fusion plasma, Space and astrophysical plasma, Laser plasmaPhysicsPhDProf. David Hatch, drhatch@austin.utexas.edu
75
University of Wisconsin, MadisonMadison, WI https://fusion.wisc.eduPlasma physics, fusion energy science and technology, astrophysical plasmas, plasma chemistryElectrical and Computer Engineering
Engineering Physics
Physics
Materials Science and Engineering
PhD Steffi Diem, sjdiem@wisc.edu
Benedikt Geiger, benedikt.geiger@wisc.edu
Oliver Schmitz, oschmitz@wisc.edu
Carl Sovinec, csovinec@wisc.edu

76
Utah State UniversityLogan, UThttps://www.usu.edu/physics/indexHybrid fluid/kinetic modeling of fusion plasmas PhysicsPhD Prof. Eric Held, eric.held@usu.edu
78
West Virgina UniversityMorgantown, WVhttps://physics.wvu.edu/research/plasma-and-space-physicsPlasma Physics, Astrophysics, Astronomy, Biophysics, Condensed Matter Physics and Physics EducationPhysicsPhDProf. Earl Scime, escime@wvu.edu
Prof. Paul Cassak, paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143