Summer YAZ - Content List
Comments
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

 
$
%
123
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUV
1
Check out the items we'll discuss this Sunday- if you only have time for one, prioritize item #1!
2
DATETOPICITEM #1 (priority one to watch/ read)WHERE TO FIND ITEM #1ITEM #2 WHERE TO FIND ITEM #2ITEM #3 WHERE TO FIND ITEM #3
3
6/18/17Lifestyle Choices: Faithfully Managing Our FinancesPatheos Faith & Finance Blog: "Managing Money" (lots of sub-categories to click around on) http://www.patheos.com/blogs/faithandfinance/managing-money/TED Talk: "How To Buy Happiness"https://www.ted.com/talks/michael_norton_how_to_buy_happinessChristianity Today Article: "On Faith and Finance: In God We Trust"http://www.christianitytoday.com/women/2013/july/on-faith-and-finance-in-god-we-trust.html?share=
4
6/25/17Lifestyle Choices: Faithfully Managing Our TimePodcast: "When To Say Yes"https://www.jeffsanders.com/when-to-say-yes-to-everything-and-when-to-say-no-podcast-122/Article: "Time Management for the Time-Challenged"https://www.forbes.com/sites/work-in-progress/2013/08/14/time-management-for-the-time-challenged/#1f731d336ee5Article: "Four Lessons in Fruitful Time Management"http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/four-lessons-in-fruitful-time-managementBlog Post: "You Are Not Too Busy"http://roryvaden.com/blog/you-are-not-too-busy/
5
7/2/17Technology & Entertainment: Finding a BalanceArticle: "Have We Become Victims of Our Own Devices?"http://unitemag.com/have-we-become-victims-of-our-own-devices/Podcast (or available as article on same site): "Distracting Ourselves to Death"http://www.desiringgod.org/interviews/distracting-ourselves-to-death-an-interview-with-david-wells-and-arthur-hunt"On Being" Podcast- Interview with Tiffany Shlain (listen to minutes 7-18 on a technology fast)http://www.onbeing.org/program/tiffany-shlain-growing-up-the-internet/8545/audio?embed=1
6
7/9/17Social Issues: This Crazy Political Environment! (special guest: Karl Martin)Article: "Can We Navigate Politics With Integrity and Civility? "http://www.boundless.org/relationships/2017/can-we-navigate-politics-with-integrity-and-civilityPolitics page from Wheaton College's "Institute for Study of American Evangelicalism"http://www.wheaton.edu/ISAE/Defining-Evangelicalism/PoliticsSojourners Blog (there are lots of other things to search too)https://sojo.net/articles/christians-who-feel-betrayed-christianity
7
7/16/17Social Issues: Environment & Climate ChangeLiturgist Podcast - "Pale Blue Dot"http://www.theliturgists.com/podcast/2017/6/20/pale-blue-dotTV Show "Bill Nye Saves the World" - Episode 1: "The Earth Is a Hot Mess" Netflix!NPR's Hidden Brain podcast: "Losing Alaska"http://one.npr.org/?sharedMediaId=474684609:474727224Great blog that Alicia recommended!http://katharinehayhoe.com/wp2016/blog/
8
7/23/17Social Issues: Death Penalty & Mass IncarcerationArticle - Death Penaltyhttps://www.prisonfellowship.org/resources/advocacy/sentencing/the-death-penalty/Sentencing Project's Webpage: Criminal Justice Facts
http://www.sentencingproject.org/criminal-justice-facts/
Documentary - 13thNetflix
9
8/6/17Social Issues: Talking about TransArticle: Understanding the Transgender Communityhttp://www.hrc.org/resources/understanding-the-transgender-communityNY Times article: Trump Says No Transgender People in the Militaryhttps://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/07/26/us/politics/trump-transgender-military.htmlRadiolab podcast: The Gondolier (transgender story)http://www.radiolab.org/story/gondo/
10
8/13/17Real Talk: Suffering & PainOn Being Podcast with Nadia Bolz-Weber "Seeing the Underside and Seeing God": The entire thing is SO good, but if you're short on time, really concentrate on minutes 30:35 - 34.49https://onbeing.org/programs/nadia-bolz-weber-seeing-the-underside-and-seeing-god-tattoos-tradition-and-grace/Jen Hatmaker's Blogpost: Why Does God Allow Pain and Suffering? http://jenhatmaker.com/blog/2013/09/17/why-does-god-allow-pain-and-sufferingShort Article: "Suffering and the Problem of Evil"http://www.patheos.com/library/christianity/beliefs/suffering-and-the-problem-of-evil
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
Loading...
 
 
 
2017 Weekly Overview
Overall Brainstorm
2016 Weekly Overview