ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
NIGMS-funded PREP Programs
2
StateInstitution
# Positions
TermSalaryHealth BenefitsTake Courses?; Tuition Covered?Funds to Attend ConferenceRelocation FundsMinimum GPAApplication DeadlineStart DateContact NameContact EmailWebpage
3
AlabamaU Alabama at Birmingham81(2) yr27200yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoMarch 15, 2022June 1Cristin Gavingradprep@uab.eduhttps://www.uab.edu/prep/
4
ArizonaU Arizona61 yr27200yesyes, tuition coveredyesno2.75rolling admission2nd week JuneTiffani Begaytiffanibegay@email.arizona.eduhttps://pathology.arizona.edu/uaprep
5
CaliforniaUC Davis61 yr35,000yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0February 15, 2022 (priority)July 1Carole Homclhom@ucdavis.eduhttp://prep.ucdavis.edu
6
CaliforniaUC Santa Cruz61-2 yr31,000yesno, no tuition coveredyesno
2.8 science
2nd Friday of MarchJuly 1yuli@ucsc.eduhttp://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/prep/
7
GeorgiaU Georgia71 yr32000yespossible, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 15, 2022mid-JulyMellinda Craigprep@uga.eduhttps://prep.uga.edu/
8
IllinoisNorthwestern U51 yr32850yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 1, 2022July 1John disterhoftNUIN_INPREP@northwestern.eduhttps://www.nuin.northwestern.edu/postbac-program/
9
IllinoisU Chicago81 yr29000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonorolling admissionJuly 4 afterNancy Schwartzn-schwartz@uchicago.eduhttps://bsdprep.uchicago.edu/
10
IllinoisU Illinois at Chicago61 yr29000yesno, no tuition coveredyesno3.0March 2021JuneKaren Colleypbrcprep@uic.eduhttps://grad.uic.edu/diversity/pbrc-prep/
11
IndianaIndiana U61 yr35568yesyes, tuition covered up to 50%yesno3.0March 1, 2022June 1Rafael Bahamonderbahamon@iupui.eduhttps://iprep.iupui.edu/
12
IndianaPurdue U61 yr27000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnono~ March 15, 2022June 1Susan Mendrysamendrysa@purdue.eduhttps://dev.vet.purdue.edu/prep/index.php
13
KansasU Kansas61 yr27700yesyes, tuition coveredyesnono5/1/2022 soft deadlineJuly 5, 2022Kathy Denningdenning@ku.eduhttp://prep.ku.edu/
14
Louisiana
Louisiana State U Health Sciences Center-New Orleans
61 yr27200yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0March 1, 2022June 1
Lisa Harrison-Bernard
PREP@lsuhsc.eduhttps://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/prep/
15
MarylandJohns Hopkins U61-2 yr34000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 15, 2022openKatherine Wilsonklwilson@jhmi.eduhttps://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/som/Opportunities-High-School-Undergraduate-Postbac-Students/prep.html
16
MarylandU Maryland51 yr35568yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 28, 2022 (priority)June 21, 2021Greg Careygcarey@som.umaryland.eduhttps://lifesciences.umaryland.edu/STAR-PREP/
17
MassachusettsHarvard U61-2 yr37000yesyes, tuition coveredyes1000noFebruary 1, 2022July 1st weekSheila Thomassthomas@fas.harvard.eduhttps://gsas.harvard.edu/diversity/research-scholar-initiative
18
MassachusettsTufts U31 yr35000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 26, 2022July 1st weekDiana Piercediana.pierce@tufts.eduhttps://gsbs.tufts.edu/admissions/nonDegreePrograms/PREP
19
MassachusettsU Mass Amherst61 yr30000yesyes, tuition coveredyes600noApril 1, 2022JuneSandra Petersenspetersen@vasci.umass.eduhttps://umassprep.org/
20
MassachusettsU Mass Med101-2 yr34000yesyes, tuition coveredyes1500noFebruary 28, 2022JulyBrian Lewisprep@umassmed.eduhttps://www.umassmed.edu/gsbs/academics/prep/program-overview/
21
MassachusettsBoston U41 yr35000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoApril 15, 2022 preferred but rollingJuneAndrew Hendersonandrew.henderson@bmc.orghttps://www.bumc.bu.edu/gms/dei/undergraduate-summer-and-youth-programs/bu-prep/
22
MichiganMichigan State U51 yr27000yesyes, tuition coveredyes8002.8 sciencerolling admissionJuly 1st weekRichard Schwartzschwart9@msu.eduhttp://www.msuprep.com/
23
MichiganU Michigan111 yr28000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoMarch 15, 2022July 1Benjamin Allenm-prep@umich.eduhttps://medicine.umich.edu/medschool/education/non-degree-programs/postbac-research-education-program-um-prep
24
MinnesotaMayo Clinic61 yr31200yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 1, 2022openLuis Lujanlujan.luis@mayo.eduhttps://college.mayo.edu/academics/biomedical-research-training/post-baccalaureate-research-education-program-prep/
25
MissouriU of Missouri81-2 yr27200yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonorolling admissionJuly 1st weekJohn Daviddavidj@missouri.eduhttps://prepscholars.missouri.edu/index.html
26
New MexicoU New Mexico81-2 yr28600yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0
will not be accepting applications for 2022-2023
July 1st weekKelly Millerkbmiller@unm.eduhttps://prep.unm.edu/
27
New YorkEinstein College of Medicine71-2 yr30788yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoMarch 1, 2022end of JuneMyles Akabasprep@einsteinmed.orghttp://www.einstein.yu.edu/education/phd/prep-program/
28
New York
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai*
61-2 yr31000yesyes, tuition coveredyesndndFebruary 1, 2022AugustEric Sobieeric.sobie@mssm.eduhttps://icahn.mssm.edu/education/non-degree/prep
29
New YorkU Rochester41 yr31933yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0rolling admissionafter July 4Jacques Robert
Jacques_robert@urmc.rochester.edu
https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/education/graduate/prep-program.aspx
30
North CarolinaU North Carolina91 yr30000yesyes, tuition coveredyesyesnoFebruary 1, 2022June 7Donita Robinsondonita_robinson@med.unc.eduhttps://www.med.unc.edu/oge/stad/prep/
31
OhioCase Western Reserve U61-2 yr27300yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoMarch 15, 2022June 27Dana Crawforddana.crawford@case.eduhttps://case.edu/medicine/admissions-programs/prep-postbac-phd-career-path
32
OhioOhio State U51 yr31200yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonorolling admission2nd week of JuneCandice Askwithdiscovery.prep@osumc.eduhttps://medicine.osu.edu/education/discovery-prep
33
OhioU Cinncinnati41 yr29000yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.2March 30, 2022June 1st weekAlison WeissPREPprogram@ucmail.uc.eduhttps://med.uc.edu/education/graduate-education/PREP
34
PennsylvaniaU Pennsylvania61-2 yr32,500yesyes, tuition coveredyes500noMarch 1, 2022June 1Kelly Jordan-Sciuttojordank@upenn.eduhttps://www.med.upenn.edu/prep/
35
Rhode IslandBrown U61 yr27000yesyes, tuition coveredyesmaybenoFebruary 1 annuallyJune 1Maija HallsmithMaija_Hallsmith@brown.eduhttps://www.brown.edu/academics/gradschool/academics-research/post-baccalaureate-research-education-program-prep
36
South CarolinaU South Carolina71 yr28000yesyes, tuition coveredyesno2.7rolling admissionJuneBert Elyely@sc.eduhttps://sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/medicine/education/graduate_programs/biomedical_sciences/phd_program/prep_program/index.php
37
South CarolinaMedical U South Carolina61 yr30500yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoApril 30, 2022end of MaySuzanne HenniganPrep@musc.eduhttps://gradstudies.musc.edu/programs/prep
38
TennesseeVanderbilt U51 yr29000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoFebruary 1, 2022July 1Joey Barnettjoey.barnett@vanderbilt.eduhttps://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/prep/
39
TexasBaylor College of Medicine71 yr32000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnonoMarch 7, 2022July 1Fred Pereiraprep-program@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/diversity/postbaccalaureate-research-education-program-prep
40
Texas
U Texas Health Sciences Center - San Antonio
51 yr26000yesyes, tuition coveredyesnono~April 30, 2022June 1Nicquet Blakeblaken@uthscsa.eduhttps://www.uthscsa.edu/academics/biomedical-sciences/prep
41
TexasU Texas Medical Branch - Galveston41 yr31000yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0~May 14, 2022mid-JulyGracie Vargasgrvargas@utmb.eduhttps://gsbs.utmb.edu/prep/prep-home
42
VirginiaVirginia Commonwealth U71 yr29120yesyes, tuition coveredyesno2.8March 15 annuallyJuly 1Joyce Lloydjoyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.orghttps://healthdisparities.vcu.edu/researchtraining/post-baccalaureate-programs/prep/
43
VirginiaVirginia Polytechnic Institute & State U81 yr27500yesyes, tuition coveredyesno2.8March 15 review begins mid-JuneEd Smithesmith@vt.eduhttps://prep.apsc.vt.edu/
44
WashingtonU Washington61 yr31000yesyes, tuition coveredyesno3.0February 1, 2022mid-JuneGabriele Varanivarani@chem.washington.eduhttps://depts.washington.edu/uwprep/
45
46
*not confirmednd= not determined
47
Compiled by Richard Behringer, Professor, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, November 8, 2020
48
NIH list of PREP Participating Institutions
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100