District	Ranking Member	Committee	Terms	Retiring?
NC-05	Virginia Foxx	Education and the Workforce	4 [1]	
TX-12	Kay Granger	Appropriations	3	YES
NC-10	Patrick McHenry	Financial Services	3	YES
TX-10	Michael McCaul	Foreign Affairs	3	
OK-04	Tom Cole	Rules	3 [2]	
OK-03	Frank Lucas	Science, Space and Technology	3	
MO-06	Sam Graves	Transportation and Infrastructure	3	
OH-04	Jim Jordan	Judiciary	2+ [3]	
PA-15	Glenn Thompson	Agriculture	2	
AL-03	Mike Rogers	Armed Services	2	
WA-05	Cathy McMorris Rodgers	Energy and Commerce	2	YES
AR-04	Bruce Westerman	Natural Resources	2	
IL-12	Mike Bost	Veterans' Affairs	2	
OH-10	Mike Turner	Intelligence	1+ [4]	
KY-01	Jim Comer	Oversight and Government Reform	1+ [5]	
MS-03	Michael Guest	Ethics	1+ [6]	
MO-08	Jodey Arrington	Budget	1	
TN-07	Mark Green	Homeland Security	1	[7]
WI-01	Bryan Steil	House Administration	1	
TX-25	Roger Williams	Small Business	1	
MO-08	Jason Smith	Ways and Means	1	
			TOTAL:	3

District	Ranking Member	Committee	Terms	Retiring?
TX-08	Kevin Brady	Ways and Means	3.5 [8]	YES
NY-24	John Katko	Homeland Security	1	YES
IL-13	Rodney Davis	House Administration	2	Lost
IN-02	Jackie Walorski	Ethics	1	Died
NC-05	Virginia Foxx	Education and the Workforce	3	
MO-06	Sam Graves	Transportation and Infrastructure	2	
NC-10	Patrick McHenry	Financial Services	2	
OK-03	Frank Lucas	Science, Space and Technology	2	
OK-04	Tom Cole	Rules	2 [9]	
TX-10	Michael McCaul	Foreign Affairs	2	
TX-12	Kay Granger	Appropriations	2	
MO-03	Blaine Luetkemeyer	Small Business	1	
PA-15	Glenn Thompson	Agriculture	1	
AL-03	Mike Rogers	Armed Services	1	
AR-04	Bruce Westerman	Natural Resources	1	
WA-05	Cathy McMorris Rodgers	Energy and Commerce	1	
IL-12	Mike Bost	Veterans' Affairs	1	
MO-08	Jason Smith	Budget	1	
OH-04	Jim Jordan	Judiciary	1	
KY-01	Jim Comer	Oversight and Government Reform	1	
OH-10	Michael Turner	Intelligence	0.5 [10]	
			TOTAL:	1

District	Ranking Member	Committee	Terms	Retiring?
TX-11	Mike Conaway	Agriculture	3	YES
TX-13	Mac Thornberry	Armed Services	3	YES
UT-01	Rob Bishop	Natural Resources	3	YES
OR-02	Greg Walden	Energy and Commerce	2	YES
TN-01	Phil Roe	Veterans' Affairs	2	YES
GA-09	Doug Collins	Judiciary	1	YES
TX-24	Kenny Marchant	Ethics	1	YES
CA-22	Devin Nunes	Intelligence	3	
OH-01	Steve Chabot	Small Business	3	
TX-08	Kevin Brady	Ways and Means	3	
NC-05	Virginia Foxx	Education and the Workforce	2	
AR-03	Steve Womack	Budget	1.5 [11]	
AL-03	Mike Rogers	Homeland Security	1	
IL-13	Rodney Davis	House Administration	1	
MO-06	Sam Graves	Transportation and Infrastructure	1	
NC-10	Patrick McHenry	Financial Services	1	
OH-04	Jim Jordan	Oversight and Government Reform	1	
OK-03	Frank Lucas	Science, Space and Technology	1	
OK-04	Tom Cole	Rules	1 [12]	
TX-10	Michael McCaul	Foreign Affairs	1	
TX-12	Kay Granger	Appropriations	1	
			TOTAL:	7

District	Chair	Committee	Terms	Retiring?
CA-39	Ed Royce	Foreign Affairs	3	YES
PA-09	Bill Shuster	Transportation and Infrastructure	3	YES
TX-05	Jeb Hensarling	Financial Services	3	YES
TX-21	Lamar Smith	Science, Space and Technology	3	YES
VA-06	Bob Goodlatte	Judiciary	3	YES
MS-03	Greg Harper	House Administration	1	YES
NJ-11	Rodney Frelinghuysen	Appropriations	1	YES
SC-04	Trey Gowdy	Oversight and Government Reform	1	YES
TN-06	Diane Black	Budget	1	YES
TX-10	Michael McCaul	Homeland Security	3	
TX-32	Pete Sessions	Rules	3 [13]	Lost
CA-22	Devin Nunes	Intelligence	2	
OH-01	Steve Chabot	Small Business	2	
TX-08	Kevin Brady	Ways and Means	2	
TX-11	Mike Conaway	Agriculture	2	
TX-13	Mac Thornberry	Armed Services	2	
UT-01	Rob Bishop	Natural Resources	2	
IN-05	Susan Brooks	Ethics	1	
NC-05	Virginia Foxx	Education and the Workforce	1	
OR-02	Greg Walden	Energy and Commerce	1	
TN-01	Phil Roe	Veterans' Affairs	1	
			TOTAL	10
			TOTAL:	10

Note: Former UT-03 Rep. Jason Chaffetz represented the Oversight Committee until his resignation on June 30, 2017. His seat was filled in a special election.

Background: Internal House Republican rules limit members to serving three terms as the top-ranking Republican on most committees (whether as committee chair or ranking member). House Democrats do not have any term-limit rules.

All our elections data can be found at dailykosdata.com

Citation guide:

Journalists

Please cite us by name, Daily Kos Elections, and website, dailykosdata.com, including a link in online material

Academics

Authors: Jeff Singer, Stephen Wolf, Matt Booker, and David Nir

Title: House Republican committee leader retirements

Date: 2022

Publisher: Daily Kos Elections

URL: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GJyQY09TkzhurO1B9EY0kSsadqNpR5_Gh5lc0Nr_1Kl/

Corresponding author: davidnir@dailykos.com

-or- dailykosdata.com

- [1] Foxx received a waiver to exceed the normal three-term limit set by House Republican rules.
- [2] The Rules Committee does not have term limits.
- [3] Jordan took over as ranking member on March 12, 2022, after Rep. Doug Collins stepped down to pursue a Senate bid.
- [4] Turner took over as ranking member on Jan. 1, 2022, after Rep. Devin Nunes resigned.
- [5] Comer took over as ranking member on June 29, 2020, after Rep. Mark Meadows became Donald Trump's chief of staff.
- [6] Guest took over as ranking member on Aug. 19, 2022, after Rep. Jackie Walorski died.
- [7] Green announced his retirement on 14-Feb-24 but announced he would seek reelection on 29-Feb-24.
- [8] Brady became chair in Nov. 2015 after Paul Ryan stepped down to become House speaker. The end of Ryan's term did not count toward Brady's three-term maximum as chair/ranking member.
- [9] The Rules Committee does not have term limits.
- [10] Turner became ranking member after Devin Nunes resigned at the end of 2021.
- [11] Womack became chair in Jan. 2018 after Tennessee Rep. Diane Black stepped down to run for Senate
- [12] The Rules Committee does not have term limits.
- [13] The Rules Committee does not have term limits.