Schedule Lightning Talks SIPS 2018
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

 
%
123
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
This document contains the schedule of lightning talks and hackathon & unconference pitches planned for the 2018 SIPS meeting.
2
Any questions concerning the lightning talks can be sent to Michèle Nuijten at m.b.nuijten@uvt.nl, or ask your question on Twitter using hastag #SIPS2018.
3
4
Lightning talk:
A five-minute presentation on research ideas
5
Hackathon update / unconference pitch:
A five-minute pitch of an idea for an unconference session, or an update of a running hackathon session
6
7
8
9
ROUND 1: LIGHTNING TALKS
10
Sunday
11
2:45 - 3:15PM
12
Chair: Olmo van den Akker (O.R.vdnakker@uvt.nl)
13
NameEmailTitle
14
Talk 1Karly Cochrankcochr13@kent.eduAn OSF-Inspired Project: The Research Protocol that Brings Accountability into Our Labs and Our Field
15
Talk 2Carol Iskiwitchcaroliskiwitch@gmail.comCitation Purpose Indexing: A survey of past and current proposals
16
Talk 3Leonid Tiokhinleotiokhin@gmail.comDoes competition incentivize low-quality science?
17
Talk 4Elliott Kruseetkruse@itesm.mxBuilding IRBs and IRB-alternatives to integrate open science
18
Talk 5Flavio Azevedoazevedo@wiso.uni-koeln.deAssessing the the validity of widely used ideological instruments
19
20
21
22
HACKATHON UPDATE / UNCONFERENCE PITCHES
23
Monday
24
08:00 - 08:30AM
25
Chair: John Sakaluk
26
NameEmailTitle
27
Talk 1Melissa Klinemelissa.e.kline@gmail.comHuman-friendly, machine-readable standards for metadata and naming conventions in shared datasets (Hack Pitch)
28
Talk 2Rebecca Willénrebecca.willen@igdore.orgWhat Difference Does a PhD Make? Building a Massive Open Online Scientist Training (MOOST) [Hack Pitch]
29
Talk 3Michèle Nuijten/Tom Hardwicke
M.B.Nuijten@uvt.nl / tom.hardwicke@stanford.edu
Increasing transparency at journals
30
Talk 4Tom Hardwicketom.hardwicke@stanford.eduAnalysis Exchange: An online platform to request analysis "copilots" to verify analytic reproducibility and provide statistical expertise
31
Talk 5Katie Corkerk.corker@gmail.comBetter Evidence Synthesis in Psych: Registered Reports, Systematic Reviews, and Improvements to Meta-Analysis (Unconference Pitch)
32
(sneaky addition at the end)Sam Parsonssam.parsons@psy.ox.ac.ukWhere to publish? Considerations to make before submission (outside of journal IF) (Hack/unconference pitch)
33
34
35
ROUND 2: LIGHTNING TALKS
36
Monday
37
10:00 - 10:30AM
38
Chair: Andrea Stoevenbelt (a.h.stoevenbelt@uvt.nl)
39
NameEmailTitle
40
Talk 1Bob Calin-Jagemanrcalinjageman@dom.eduPositive Controls To Make Research Results More Interpretable
41
Talk 2Antonio Schettinoantonio.schettino@ugent.beAugmented publishing - A Proof of Concept
42
Talk 3Ladislas Nalborczykladislas.nalborczyk@univ-grenoble-alpes.frUsing information-theoretic approaches for model selection: moving from explanation toward prediction
43
Talk 4Andrew Hallahall4488@gmail.comMachine learning techniques as a means of enhancing replicability of psychological science
44
Talk 5KD Valentinekdvdnf@mail.missouri.eduBeyond p-values: Utilizing Multiple Methods to Evaluate Evidence
45
46
47
48
ROUND 3: LIGHTNING TALKS
49
Monday
50
11:30 - 12:00
51
Chair: Sarahanne Field (sarahanne.field@gmail.com)
52
NameEmailTitle
53
Talk 1Elizabeth Williamsewilliams@carpentries.orgTraining as a Pathway to Improving Reproducibility in Psychology
54
Talk 2Ivan Grahekivan.grahek@ugent.beThe day after methods are fixed: Pervasive problems of weak theories
55
Talk 3Nathan Hallnathan.c.hall@mcgill.caMotivation and Academic Scholarship
56
Talk 4Yuichi Shodayshoda@uw.eduReplication of "marshmallow test" correlates
57
Talk 5Laura Michaelsonlaurae@colorado.eduUsing evidence-based standards from an independent research registry to fix a broken peer review system
58
59
60
61
ROUND 4: LIGHTNING TALKS
62
Monday
63
2:15 - 2:45PM
64
Chair: Anne Scheel (a.m.scheel@tue.nl)
65
NameEmailTitle
66
Talk 1Alexander Parkabpark@ucdavis.eduAn Undergraduate Student's Perspective: How the Replicability Crisis in Psychological Science has changed me
67
Talk 2Tom Hardwicketom.hardwicke@stanford.eduSmart pre-registrations: Developing a system to facilitate protocol-paper comparison and enhance peer review of pre-registered studies [seeking collaborators]
68
Talk 3Gustav Nilsonnegustav.nilsonne@ki.seCumulating and dissipating research fields: data availability and implications for policy
69
Talk 4Chris Martinchris.martin@bme.gatech.eduAssessing an Intervention to Increase Inclusion in Academic Departments [seeking feedback]
70
Talk 5replacement: Nick Browne.vanman@psy.uq.edu.auDeveloping a Directory of the Replicability/Quality of "Classic" Studies in Psychology
71
72
73
74
HACKATHON UPDATE / UNCONFERENCE PITCHES
75
Monday
76
04:30 - 05:30PM
77
Chair: John Sakaluk
78
NameEmailTitle
79
Talk 1Anita Eerland & Loek Brinkmananita.eerland@gmail.comStarting your own Open Science Community (Unconference pitch)
80
Talk 2Erin M. Buchananerinbuchanan@missouristate.eduThe Life of a Project: Tips and Tools for Managing your Lab (Unconference Pitch)
81
Talk 3Alexander Etzetz.alexander@gmail.comRegistered modeling reports for psychology
82
Talk 4Jackie Thompsonjacqueline.m.thompson@gmail.comHow to harness behavioral science to increase uptake of robust research practices (Unconference pitch)
83
Talk 5Purav "Jay" Patelppatel47@wisc.eduAuthoring the Intelligent Scholarly Paper of the Future (Unconference Pitch or Hackathon)
84
85
86
87
HACKATHON UPDATE / UNCONFERENCE PITCHES
88
Tuesday
89
08:30 - 09:00AM
90
Chair: John Sakaluk
91
NameEmailTitle
92
Talk 1Oliver Clark16501511@stu.mmu.ac.ukAn Attempt (of sorts) at Creating Open and Accessible Virtual Reality Experiments
93
Talk 2Sophia Crüwell Sophia.cruwell@student.uva.nlCreating an annotated reading list / open science primer - 8 easy steps to get into OS (Hack/unconference pitch)
94
Talk 3
95
Talk 4
Flavio Azevedo/Sam Parsons/Mike
falafla@gmail.com(unconference proposal) Evaluating and incentivising teaching of open/reproducible science practices
96
Talk 5
Nick Fox/Patrick Forscher/Katheen Schmidt/Lee Jussim
nwf7@psych.rutgers.eduGiving Psych Away - Generating tools for media contact and the creation of a SIPS media officer
97
98
99
100
ROUND 5: LIGHTNING TALKS
Loading...
 
 
 
Blad1
 
 
Main menu