| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | AA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
2 | Old World Legends - FAQ | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
3 | Community FAQ - This living document is community driven with a TO ruling for OWL Events. The Old World is a complicated with various community play styles, mistakes will be made. The FAQ provides guidance to create an enjoyable event experience for everyone. Rules as Intended - Old World Legends is a Rules as Intended (RAI) community where we focus on what we believe is the intention / spirit of the rule based upon our understanding of the game and what makes a great experience for everyone. Contact Us - If you would like to get clarity to any FAQ ruling or to submit new ones please join the OWL Discord and post in the Rules channel. https://discord.gg/snmfVApSXA Reference - New or changed entries will be highlighted in Blue with the most recent additions highlited in Purple. Entries in Green are confirmed by GW FAQ, Red indicates changes that GW removed. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
4 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
5 | Last Updated: 11-10-2025 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
6 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
7 | Army Composition | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
8 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
9 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
10 | A1 | Combined Arms Rule of 3 | Are we using Rule of 3? | We will be adapating to the GW Matched Play packet Combined Arms comp restrictions. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
11 | A2 | Combined Arms Multi-Slots | How does combined arms work for units that can be taken in special/rare but also can be taken in core? Such as graveguard that can be taken as a core choice if you take a Wight King. | Each unit profile irrespective of slot will count towards the combined arms amount. If a unit can be taken in a higher up slot from its normal compsition (such as a rare unit taken in special, or a special unit taken in core) players may taken in total 1 additional selection of that unit than would normally be allowed from combined arms (but it must be slotted in the higher up position). | |||||||||||||||||||||||
12 | A3 | Combined Arms Characters & Mounts | How are characters on mounts (such as Cathay Sky Lantern) treated when using the Combined Arms? | Characters on mounted monsters & warmachines will count towards the total combined arms for the Unit Entry with other monster and warmachine mounts. For example the Cathay Sky Lantern is a rare, so in a 2,000 pts game you can only take 2, if you take the character that allows you to take 1 in special than you may only take 3 in total. Which means if you mount the character in a Sky Lantern that will take up 1 of your 3 potential slots for Sky Lanterns. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
13 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
14 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
15 | General Principles | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
16 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
18 | G1 | Losing Wounds Suffering Wounds | What is the difference between "losing" a wound and "suffering" a wound? | Suffering a wound as normal allows for the model to take any saves that they may have. If the rule states that you lose a wound (IE: Failing a Dangerous Terrain test) armour, ward and regeneration saves do not apply unless specified otherwise. | GW removed this from the latest FAQ update, which we interpret as they no longer want this to be in effect. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
19 | G2 | Split Profile | The FAQ defines a model with a split profile as "not one model, but several, all sharing the same base." Does this mean when there is an ability that is not specific to any one profile, that it applies to all of them? (IE: Wailing Dirge on the Mortis Engine) | Split Profile models that have special abilities that are not specifically attributed to any profile refer to the entire model, not each element of the profile, and may use the ability once. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
20 | G3 | Armor Value | When an effect states that it modifies an "armour value" does this include ward and regeneration saves as well (IE: Plague of Rust)? | No References to “armour value” refer to “armour save” unless specifically stated otherwise. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
21 | G4 | Applied Effect Slain Duration | Do abilities such as the eternal Taskmaster/MWBD end if the "casting" model is slain? | No This is not a remains in play spell bound to the world by a wizard. This is an effect that if successfully is applied will last until its duration states it ends. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
22 | G5 | Regeneration Unstable | With the updated Regeneration rules, do you get to use regeneration saves against Unstable, Dangerous Terrain, Daemonic Instability and other things that cause you to suffer wounds? | Yes | Based upon the additional combat resolution changes and the removal of the suffering wounds / not being able to use regen from the FAQ, we belive this is GW intent. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
23 | G6 | Not on Battlefield Use Ability | Can a character in ambush use its special abilities such as a one use magic item? | No Unless stated otherwise, a character or unit that is not on the battlefield may not use any special ability, magic item, or otherwise. | There likely are exceptions to this rule, which will be identified on a case by case basis. By default this is how OWL events will treat being off the table. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
24 | G7 | Placing Terrain Special Feature | Can an army (Wood Elf, High Elf or other) that is able to place an extra piece of terrain on the table, able to put it ontop of a Special Feature, or the King of the Hill objective? | No While the extra terrain could normally be placed on objectives, it may not be placed on Special Features or the King of the Hill objectives. The extra terrain must be placed at least 6" away from Special Feature or King of Hill objective. | In particualr this has come up in sceanrios with a single Special Feature or dominant King of the Hill objective in the middle of the table. The idea of being able to cover either up with terrain is far too much of an imbalance and will not be played that way. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
25 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
26 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
27 | Scoring | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
28 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
29 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
30 | S1 | Flee Below 25% | Are victory points cumulative if a unit flees and is below 25% of its starting size? | Yes | |||||||||||||||||||||||
31 | S2 | Created Units Separate Units | For unit upgrades that create separate units on the table (IE: Fanatics, Skaven Weapon Teams) do I have to kill the parent unit as well to score the victory points for them? | Yes and No You only score points for killing the parent unit, though you score the points for the weapon team / fanatics etc... even if they are still on the table. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
32 | S3 | Ressurected Return to Life | Do models that come back to life such as the Green Knight or Hell Pit Abomination reward points if they are killed but come back to life and are alive at the end of the game? | Yes Full victory points will only be scored for the first time you kill the model, not each time. | RAI - we believe this is a more fair and balanced way for bother players that have models that come back to life. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
33 | S4 | Below Starting Strength | What are the updated scoring points costs for Below Starting Strength? | Enemy units below 50% of their starting unit strength are worth 25% of their post costs as VP. If they are below 25% of their starting strength they are worth 50% of their post costs as VP. | RAI - this is what we feel is the intention / spirit of the rules and fair to both players. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
34 | S5 | Monstrous Creatures / Behemoths | What are the updated scoring points for Monstrous Creatures / Behemoths? | Each enemy monster at 50% or less wounds is worth 50% of its points costs as VP, or if at 25% or less is worth 75% of its points costs as VP. | RAI - this is what we feel is the intention / spirit of the rules and fair to both players. This rewards more points than Below Starting Strength as it is much harder to achieve. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
35 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
36 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
37 | Movement | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
38 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
39 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
40 | Mv1 | Turn Manoeuvre | How do you perform a turn manoeuvre with rectangular bases? | Turn the models in the center of the unit first and then arrange the others so that they are lined up correctly. | RAI - The purpose of turning the centre models first is to equally distribute the changing shape of the unit from a wide frontage to a long frontage, rather than the unit oddly shifting its position further one direction or the other. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
41 | Mv2 | Swiftstride Determine Use | When do I determine when to use Swiftstride, before or after the roll? | Before making a Charge, Flee or Pursuit roll. This was added in the GW FAQ | |||||||||||||||||||||||
42 | Mv3 | Redress Ranks | When you make a Redress the Ranks manoeuvre, do you need to remove/add the models as equal as possible or can you choose (e.g. adding 5 models to only one side)? | You must add or remove them as equally as possible as shown in the diagram on PG 125 | RAI - per the diagram this is what we believe is the intent | ||||||||||||||||||||||
43 | Mv4 | Random Movement Compulsory Move | Can a unit with Random Movement use a spell like Arcane Urgency to move again in the remaining moves phase? | No Models that have moved in the compulsory movement phase are not allowed to move again in the remaining moves phase. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
44 | Mv5 | Marching Difficult Terrain | If a unit marches through difficult terrain, how much movement does it lose? | Apply +/- modifiers first before multiplying for marching. e.g. A unit marching through difficult terrain would use the following formula: (M-1) x 2 This would result in a total loss of 2” from its normal movement distance. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
45 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
46 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
47 | Fly | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
48 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
49 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
50 | F1 | Random Movement | Can a model with Random Movement use the Fly (X) special rule? | Yes and No The model will still Random Move in terms of distance and mechanics but it can pass over units and impassable terrain with Fly | |||||||||||||||||||||||
51 | F2 | Fanatics | Do models using Fly (X) get hit when they pass over a fanatic? | No | |||||||||||||||||||||||
52 | F3 | Vortex | Can Units with fly pass over a vortex that counts as impassable terrain? | No Example - A unit with fly can NOT move over Crystal Column, they must go around it. | RAI - this is a strongly contested ruling, and we are leaning towards the side where the difficult to cast spell is more effective for the casting player | ||||||||||||||||||||||
53 | F4 | Pursuit Fly | Can the Fly(X) special rule be used during pursuits, overruns, and flees? | Not during pursuits and overrun moves, but it can still be used during Flee moves as per GW FAQ 1.5.1 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
54 | F5 | Pursuit Walk | If a unit with Fly(X) pursues another unit, can it choose to intentionally not use Fly(X) in order to make contact with another unit or terrain instead of flying over to catch its original target? | No The player no longer has a choice, fly can NOT be used for a pursuit move. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
55 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
56 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
57 | Charging | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
58 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
59 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
60 | Cg1 | Charge Order | Which player decides the order in which charge reactions and charge moves are resolved? | First the active player declares charges one by one. Once all charges are declared, the inactive player chooses the order to declare and resolve all charge reactions one by one. Finally the active player chooses the order in which charge moves are resolved one by one (at this point choosing to attempt to redirect if applicable). | |||||||||||||||||||||||
61 | Cg2 | Fear & Terror Tests | When declaring a charge when are Fear / Terror tests made? | When a charge is declared that requires the target to take a Fear / Terror test that test must be made immediately before any other charges are declared. If the target unit fails the test that unit must Flee when picked for charge reactions in the next step. The active player then continues to declare any additional charges. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
62 | Cg3 | Multi-Charge | What is the order to resolve multiple units charges declaring a charge against the same arc of an enemy unit? | When two or more units are charging into the same arc of a single enemy unit, they are considered to move simultaneously and must be selected to make charge moves at the same time. Roll for all charges before moving units since this result can change the required movement paths for maximizing contact. When two or more units charge a unit in skirmish (or lance) formation, instead of moving chargers simultaneously the active player must choose which charging unit makes contact with the skirmishing (or lance) unit first. The skirmishers then form up (or the lance is blunted if applicable). The subsequent charging units complete their charges simultaneously if possible. If the subsequent charging units can not make contact due to how the skirmishing unit has formed up, count these as failed charges. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
63 | Cg4 | Frenzied Impetuous | Does a frenzied or impetuous unit need to declare a charge if there is a friendly unit in its way that would prevent it from completing a charge, even if the friendly unit could itself declare a charge and move out of the way? | No Unless the friendly unit blocking the frenzied/impetuous unit declares a charge, then the frenzied or impetuous unit must declare a charge. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
64 | Cg5 | Counter Charge | Does the move of the counter-charge count as a charge move, for example for the purpose of furious charge? | Yes | |||||||||||||||||||||||
65 | Cg6 | Distance Moved | When a unit "counts as having charged" do they get bonuses based on the distance moved during a charge? Such as when making a pursuit move into an enemy or moving into base contact with an enemy via random movement. | When a unit "counts as having charged" treat the movement prior to making base contact as its charge distance for the purposes of determining whether a special rule is triggered (ie: Initiative bonus for charging, impact hits, etc.) | |||||||||||||||||||||||
66 | Cg7 | Lance Weapon | When can a model use a lance? | During any turn in which it charged or counts as having charged. This includes turns where an enemy unit has fallen back in good order and the unit with lances has successfully pursued into them. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
67 | Cg8 | Charge Bonus Weapons | Will you get the charge bonus from weapons (e.g. Lance) against enemies in your back or flank if you count as charging (e.g. getting charged in the back after a counter charge or a pursuit where you count as charging)? | Yes and No Similar to how impact hits work, the bonus from weapons when charging would only be applicable when attacks with that weapon are applied to the unit that you counted as charging against. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
68 | Cg9 | Chariots Low Linear Obstacle | Can chariots charge units that are behind defended low linear obstacles? | Yes Keep in mind that units behind LLO are immune to impact and stomp attacks. Note that the low linear obstacle is still impassable terrain for the chariot, so it will be unable to follow up or pursue across it. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
69 | Cg10 | Pursue Maximize Contact | When a unit overruns or pursues into a new unit, should it simply move straight into them or should it wheel to maximise contact? | When overrunning or pursuing, a unit usually moves in a straight line with no maneuvers allowed. However if it would make contact with a fresh enemy it's move counts as a charge and it is obligated to wheel to maximise contact. First, measure the distance it would move and check if it would make contact with an enemy by moving straight ahead. If it would, then it must use any movement it has available to wheel to maximize contact as you would for any normal charge. Note that you cannot wheel to charge a unit that your unit would not have reached if it had travelled in a straight line. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
70 | Cg11 | Charge Multi-Targets | When are you allowed to charge two or more units at the same time? | If you can avoid charging two units you must do so, even if that means you cannot maximise or must take a longer route. If the only way to successfully charge your intended target would put you in contact with two or more units, then you are allowed to declare a charge against multiple targets at the same time (as detailed on Rulebook, p. 130). If you declare a charge on a single target, but find that you can only succeed the charge move by contacting multiple units (eg. with a short charge roll), then any additional units that have not yet made a charge reaction this turn get to make one before you complete the charge move. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
71 | Cg12 | Move Through Cover | Do units with the "Move Through Cover" special rule still take the lowest dice when charging through difficult terrain? | Yes | |||||||||||||||||||||||
72 | Cg13 | Swiftstride Re-Roll Dice | If I am able to re-roll the dice when making a charge roll and I have the Swiftstride special rule, can I re-roll the dice for Swiftstride as well? | No | |||||||||||||||||||||||
73 | Cg14 | Random Movement Fleeing | What happens when a random movement unit impacts an already fleeing unit? | If the fleeing unit has already fled once this phase then that unit is wiped out / destroyed upon contact and the Random Mover stops at the point of touching the unit. If the fleeing unit has NOT fled yet this phase then it will flee again. It is possible the fleeing unit will still be caught and killed based upon how far both units move. Note - remember that if a unit fails a rally test they flee in the movement phase not the command phase | RAI - yes it says a unit must Hold vs a Random Mover, but the rules also state a Fleeing unit must flee. We feel this is the correct mechanics for the rules interaction. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
74 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
75 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
76 | Combat | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
77 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
78 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
79 | Co1 | Defended Low Linear Obstacle | When a unit charges another unit that is behind a defended low linear obstacle, do the models in the units fight as if they are in base to base contact? | Yes and No If the unit only makes contact with the LLO then they may fight as normal will full attacks, but will not get their stomps or impact hits. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
80 | Co2 | Base Contact Characters | Can a model that is only in base contact with a champion or a character within an enemy unit allocate their full number of attacks to normal models in that enemy unit? | Yes | |||||||||||||||||||||||
81 | Co3 | Overkill Killing Blow | How many wounds are counted for Overkill when models are killed with Killing Blow? | Each successful Killing Blow inflicts a number of wounds equal to the remaining wounds of the model. Excess wounds with Killing Blow in challenges count as one single wound each for the purposes of Overkill. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
82 | Co4 | Gives Ground Direction | When a unit Gives Ground and moves ‘directly away’ from the enemy unit, does it move perpendicular to the arc it is engaged in or center to center away from the enemy unit? | On Rulebook, p. 92, ‘directly away’ is defined as ‘center to center’, so the unit will move away center to center while maintaining the same facing (ie. it will slide diagonally away from the enemy without turning, pivoting or otherwise changing its facing in any way). Follow up moves will also move along the same path in the same way, without changing facing. Note that if either unit has the Drilled special rule they may perform a free redress the ranks manoeuvre immediately before moving. Whenever giving ground from multiple enemy units, a unit must move as directly as possible away from all of the enemy units engaging it, and must move from base contact with the victorious enemy units as explained on Rulebook, p. 155. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
83 | Co5 | Completely Destroys Overrun Reform | If a unit completely destroys its enemy in combat and makes an overrun move, can it attempt to reform after moving? | Yes With a leadership test required to do so. Note that you can still attempt to reform even if you failed a test to restrain from overrunning. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
84 | Co6 | War Machine Overrun | If a war machine breaks and flees from combat and is destroyed due to the "We're Not Paid to Fight" rule, can the enemy unit overrun? | Yes | |||||||||||||||||||||||
85 | Co7 | First Round of Combat | When is a combat deemed to be ongoing and when does a combat count as "first round of combat"? | Rounds of combat with the same unit, after a pursuit or follow up move have been made are considered "ongoing" and not the "first round of combat." Example - if you give ground and follow up or if the enemy falls back in good order and you pursue and tag them, in both cases the combat continues and is NOT considered the first round. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
86 | Co8 | Supporting Attack | Can a model that would have been able to make a supporting attack but that stepped forward to the fighting rank this round still attack even if there are no more ranks behind him? | Yes | RAI - this would be unnecessarily punishing and odd to not allow the attack. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
87 | Co9 | Challenge Champions | If a unit is engaged in the flank/rear by a character/unit with champion, can the unit champion of the flanked/engaged in the rear unit issue or accept challenges? | Champions and character can only accept a challenge if they are in the fighting rank / or adjacent to it against the issuer of the challenge. While characters can move into the fighting rank champions do not have this rule, and therefore it is very possible for a champion to not be in tehe fighting rank and therefore cannot accept or issue a challenge to its flank or rear. Note that "adjacent to" is defined in the book for characters with different base sizes to the unit they are joining, not meaning a model next to another model within the unit. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
88 | Co10 | Impact Hits Champions | Can impact hits be directed at champions before the combat begins? | Yes Champions are not characters, they just benefit from some character rules, and character protection is not one of them. Therefore if something that causes impact hits is in base to base contact with a champion it may direct its impact hits against the champion. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
89 | C11 | Challenges Mount & Rider | With the updated rider and mount attacks being lost in a challenge how does this work when they have multiple attacks with overlapping initiatve values? | If the mount kills the enemy it may finish its attacks (not stomps - those are lost) but the rider cannot make any further attacks. If the rider kills the enemy, the rider may finish making their attacks, but the mount cannot make any further attacks (it also loses its stomps). | |||||||||||||||||||||||
90 | Co12 | Fly Overrun | Can you fly move during an overrun move? | No An overrun move is a pursuit move, and per the 1.5.1 update you can not fly for pursuit moves. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
91 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
92 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
93 | Psychology | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
94 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
95 | # | Keywords | Question | Answer | Notes | ||||||||||||||||||||||
96 | P1 | Fear Terror | Are models with Fear immune to the Fear caused by models with Terror? | No Units with Terror are downgraded to cause Fear in units with Fear | |||||||||||||||||||||||
97 | P2 | Heavy Casulties | When does a unit take a panic test after suffering Heavy Casualties? | Take the test immediately after the losses are incurred. Do not wait until the end of the phase to take Heavy Casualties panic tests. Remember that each unit may only take one panic test per phase (Rulebook, p. 160). | |||||||||||||||||||||||
98 | P3 | Inspiring Presence Modified General LD | When using inspiring presence, does the unit take the general's unmodified or modified LD characteristic | Use the General's Leadership Characteristic, including any positive or negative modifiers affecting the General's Leadership Characteristic. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
99 | P4 | Inspiring Presence Modified Units LD | When using inspiring presence, does any modifiers on the units characteristic get applied? Example - The -2 LD effect from Wailing Dirge | Modifiers affecting the Leadership Characteristic of the unit using Inspiring Presence do apply. You start by taking the modified Generals LD and then apply any further modifiers affecting the unit. | RAI - the benefit of Inspiring Presence is for a unit to swap out their LD characteristic with a higher one, not to avoid any leadership modifiers being applied to the target unit. | ||||||||||||||||||||||
100 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||