Lit Agents
 Share
The version of the browser you are using is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a supported browser.Dismiss

 
View only
 
 
Still loading...
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR
1
The Writers' WorkshopThe world's leading editorial agency. Run by writers for writers.
2
3
How to use this spreadsheetOur contact info
4
1) Save the spreadsheet on your own computerWebsitewww.writersworkshop.co.uk
5
2) Customise it to your heart's contentTelephone0845 459 9560 (in UK)
6
3) If you add content you'd like to share with others, please let us know.Emailinfo@writersworkshop.co.uk
7
8
How to get a literary agentAbout us
9
1. Write a wonderful book.If in doubt, get helpWe can:Give advice on your manuscript
10
2. Make sure you know what agents do.They do this.Place work with literary agents
11
3. Develop an agent hunting strategyMay we suggest you do this?Help you meet one-on-one with literary agents
12
4. Write a wonderful query letter.Try these tipsSee a sample letterGive you mentoring
13
5. Write a wonderful synopsisLike this oneFind out more here.
14
6. Present your manuscript correctly. By doing thisOr get in touch.
15
16
Key
17
18
A green box like this indicates literary agencies that we have placed clients with, that we know well, or that have been involved in one of our events.
19
ExclusionsNote, virtually no agents handle poetry, journalism or academic books, so we have not noted this in the "exclusions" column
20
21
22
Literary AgencyWebsiteNon-fictionCommercial fictionLiterary fictionChildren'sExclusionsWriters' Workshop comments
23
Sheila Ableman Literary Agencywww.sheilaableman.comYesNoNoNoGardening, sport
24
Agency (London) Ltd, The www.theagency.co.ukNo NoNoYesRepresents authors & illustrators of children's books for all ages, preschool to teen fiction
25
Aitken Alexander Associateswww.aitkenalexander.co.ukYesYesYesYesAn outstanding mid-size agency. Clare Alexander is keen on debut literary novelists. You do need to be good, though
26
Ampersand Agency Ltd, Thewww.theampersandagency.co.ukYesYesYesNoAn excellent small agency. Home to a fair few WW clients.
27
Aventura E Books Limitedwww.aventura-ebooks.comAction & Adventure ebooks
28
Darley Anderson Literary, TV and Film Agencywww.darleyanderson.comYesYesYesYesA very commercially driven agency. Brilliant for thrillers, chick-lit and the like. Not a natural home for literary authors.
29
Diane Banks Associates Ltd. www.dianebanks.co.ukYesYesLit fiction with a strong storylineNoNo children's, or short stories
30
Bell Lomax Moreton Agency, Thewww.bell-lomax.co.ukYesYesYesYes
31
Michael Berenti Literary Managementwww.michaelberenti.comYesYesYesNoMichael Berenti charges a reading fee. A practice we do not agree with.
32
Blake Friedmann Literary, TV & Film Agency Ltd.www.blakefriedmann.co.ukYesYesYesNoFull length MSS only. No short stories.
33
Luigi Bonomi Associates Ltd. www.bonomiassociates.co.ukYesYesYesYoung AdultKeen to find new authors and help them develop their careers.
34
BookBlast Ltd.www.bookblast.comYesYesYesNoCurrently not taking on new clients
35
Jenny Brown Associateswww.jennybrownassociates.comYesYesYesYesNo Sci-fi fantasy.
36
Felicity Bryan Associateswww.felicitybryan.comYesYesYesNoNo crafts, how-to, sci-fi, light romance
37
Capel & Land Ltd.www.capelland.comHist / BiogYesYesNo
38
CardenWright Literary Agencywww.cardenwright.comYesYesYes
39
Celia Catchpolewww.celiacatchpole.co.ukNo NoNoYesAgents for authors and illustrators of children's books for all ages
40
Mic Cheetham Associates Ltd.www.miccheetham.comYesYesYesNoAn excellent & prominent fantasy sci-fi agent
41
Jonathan Clowes Ltd.www.jonathanclowes.co.ukYesYesYesNoVery few unsolicited MSS taken on
42
Conville & Walsh Ltd.www.convilleandWalsh.comYesYesYesYesAn outstanding mid-size agency. Now has fantasy / sci-fi specialist
43
Coombs Moylett Literary Agencywww.coombsmoylett.comYesYesYesNo
44
Creative Authors Ltd.www.creativeauthors.co.ukYesYesYesYesMBS, health & cookery
45
Rupert Crew Ltd.www.rupertcrew.co.ukYesYesYesNo sci fi, horror, fantasy or short stories
46
Curtis Brown Groupwww.curtisbrown.co.ukGeneral Non-FictionYesYesOne of the two big gorillas. Very good agency, but there are equally good agencies amongst the smaller players.
47
Caroline Davidson Lit Agwww.cdla.co.ukYesYesYesReference works accepted.
48
DGA Ltdwww.davidgodwinassociates.co.ukYesNoYesNo
49
DHH Literary Agencyhttp://dhhliteraryagency.com/NoYesYesYesDon't currently handle non-fiction, poetry, plays, screenplays or film scripts.An outstanding small agency.
50
Bryan Drew Ltdwww.bryandrew.comBiographiesGeneral fiction, thrillersYesNo
51
Robert Dudley Agencywww.robertdudleyagency.co.ukYesYesYesNoSpecialises in history, biography, sport, management, politics, military history, current affairs
52
Toby Eady Associates Ltdwww.tobyeadyassociates.co.ukYesYesYesNoSpecial interests: China, Middle East, Africa, India
53
Eddison Pearson Ltdwww.eddisonpearson.comYesYesYesYesPoetry accepted.
54
Fox Masonwww.foxmason.comNarrative non-fictionYesYesNo
55
Fraser Ross Associateswww.fraserross.co.ukNo YesYesYesMainly represents writers & illustrators for children. Edinburgh based
56
Futerman, Rose & Associateswww.futermanrose.co.ukYesYesYesNoNo children's, sci-fi / fantasyFiction, biog, show business, current affairs and teen fiction
57
Graham May Christiewww.grahammawchristie.comGeneral Non-FictionNoNoNoNo fiction, children's or poetryVery strong with non-fiction proposals. Also ebooks & apps.
58
Annette Green Authors' Agencywww.annettegreenagency.co.ukYesYesYesTeenage FictionNo poetry, sci fi or fantasyFull length MSS only. Submissions recommended to Annette herself.
59
Christine Green Authors' Agencywww.christinegreen.co.ukNarrative non-fictionYesYesNoNo sci fi, travel, self-help, picture booksCrime & historical fiction welcome
60
Greene & Heaton Ltdwww.greeneheaton.co.ukYesYesYesNoNo poetry.Excellent mid-sized agency
61
The Greenhouse Literary Agencywww.greenhouseliterary.comNo No NoYesNo picture booksChildren's fiction from age 5 through to teen/YA. Currently expanding their lists.
62
Gregory & Company Authors' Agentswww.gregoryandcompany.co.ukYesYesYesNoNo sci fi, fantasy, or children's
63
Hanbury Agency Ltd, Thewww.hanburyagency.comYesYesYesNoNo children's or self-help
64
Antony Harwood Ltdwww.antonyharwood.comYesYesYesNo
65
A. M. Heath & Co. Ltdwww.amheath.comYesYesYesYesNo sci fi, or short storiesAn outstanding agency. Use Euan Thorneycroft for crime/thriller type work. Bill Hamilton / Victoria Hobbs for other fic & non-fic. Sarah Molloy for children's.
66
hhb agency ltdwww.hhbagency.comYesNoNoNoJournalism accepted. Cookery a speciality
67
David Higham Associates Ltdwww.davidhigham.co.ukYesYesYesYes
68
Janklow & Nesbit (UK) Ltdwww.janklowandnesbit.co.ukYesYesYesUsed to be an American offshoot, now important in its own right. Will Francis will look at (good!) short story collections.
69
John Jarroldwww.johnjarrold.co.uk/NoYesNoNoAccepts fantasy, sci-fi, horror onlyThe king of fantasy / sci-fi in the UK.
70
Johnson & Alcock Ltdwww.jonsonandalcock.co.ukYesYesYes8+No picture books
71
Tibnor Jones & Associateswww.tibnorjones.comYesYesYes
72
Jane Judd Literary Agencywww.janejudd.comYesYesYesNo short storiesA very good independent agent. We're fans.
73
Peter Knight Agencywww.knightfeatures.comYesYesYesYesNo poetry, sci fi or cookeryMotor sports, cartoon books
74
LAW (Lucas Alexander Whitley)www.lawagency.co.ukYesYesYesYesNo fantasy.Full-length MSS only. A good agency.
75
LBLA (Lorella Belli Lit Ag)www.lorellabelliagency.comYesYesYesNoNo children's, sci fi, fantasy.Particularly interested in first time writers. Lorella's terrific.
76
Susanna Lea Associates Ltdwww.susannalea.comYesYesYes
77
Limelight Celebrity Management Ltdwww.limelightmanagement.comYesYesYesNoSci-fi, fantasy, children'sFull-length and short MSS, Food, Drink, Entertainment, Fiction, Health & Beauty, Self-Improvement, Business, Politics, Antiques, Gardening, Interior Design, History, Biography, Women’s Fiction, Crime, Art, Humour. (Home 15%, overseas 25%), TV and radio rights (10-20%) will suggest revision where appropriate.
78
Lindsay Literary Agencywww.lindsayliteraryagency.co.ukSerious non-fictionYesYesYes
79
Christopher Little Literary Agencywww.christopherlittle.netYesYesYesYesNo sci fi, fantasy, illustrated children's or short storiesChristopher Little represents JK Rowling, but don't send your work to CL just because you like Harry Potter.
80
Andrew Lownie Literary Agencywww.andrewlownie.co.ukYesNoNoNoBiography, history, reference, current affairs, and packaging journalists and celebrities for the book market. Good at both serious non-fic and very commercial non-fic (eg: misery memoir).
81
Lucy Luck Associateswww.lucyluck.comYesYesYesNo
82
Jennifer Luithlen Agencywww.luithlenagency.comNo NoNoYes
83
Luxton Harris Ltdwww.luxtonharris.co.ukYesYesYesNoNo sci fi, fantasy or children'sSport, history, music and biography
84
McKernan Literary Agencywww.mckernanagency.co.ukYesYesYesScottish, biography, history, current affairs & memoirs
85
Eunice McMullen Ltdwww.eunicemcmullen.co.ukNo NoNoYesOnly Children'sAll types of children's fiction, particularly picture books & older fiction
86
Andrew Mann Ltd.www.andrewmann.co.ukYesYesYes
87
Sarah Manson Literary Agentwww.sarahmansom.comNo NoNoYesSpecialises in fiction for children or YA
88
Marjacq Scripswww.marjacq.comYesYesYesYesNo poetry
89
Marsh Agency Ltd, Thewww.marsh-agency.co.ukYesYesYesNoNo poetry, children's or picture booksSpecialises in authors with international potential
90
MayerBenham Ltdwww.mayerbenham.comYesSpecialises in popular culture, humour, music, history & business
91
MBA Literary Agents Ltdwww.mbalit.co.ukYesYesYesYesA very good mid-sized agency.
92
William Morris Endeavor Entertainmentwww.wma.comYesYesYesYesNo sci fi, fantasy, self-help or pcture booksAn American agency, with a strong London branch.
93
No. 1 Machester Literary Agency, Thewww.theno1manchesterliteraryagency.co.ukYesYesYesYesNo picture books
94
Maggie Noach Literary Agencywww.mnla.co.ukYesYesYesFull length MS for older childrenNo illustrated books or specialist non-fiction
95
Andrew Nurnberg Associates Ltdwww.andrewnurnberg.comYesYesYesYes
96
PFD (The Peters Fraser & Dunlop Group Ltd)www.pfd.co.ukYesYesYesNoA former giant, but the old team left to form United Agents. Now capably rebuilt, however.
97
Pollinger Limitedwww.polingerltd.comYesYesYesYes
98
PVA Management Ltdwww.pva.co.ukYesNo NoNoNon-fic onlyFull legnth MSS only
99
Rogers, Coleridge & White Ltdwww.rcwlitagency.comYesYesYesYesFull-length MSSA very strong agency, and now large. Peter Straus particularly good with more literary work. Hannah Westland is building her list.
100
Elizabeth Roy Literary Agencywww.elizabethroyliteraryagency.co.ukNo No NoYesChildren's fiction and non-fiction - writers & illustrators
Loading...
 
 
 
Sheet1