ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
ACTIVE MINDS
2
Active Minds is dedicated to saving lives and to building stronger families and communities. Through education, research, advocacy, and a focus on students and young adults ages 14-25, Active Minds is opening up the conversation about mental health and creating lasting change in the way mental health is talked about, cared for, and valued in the United States.
3
Meeting Date and Time: First and Third Wednesday of each month, 1:30pm
4
Meeting Place: GHS-ActiveMinds
5
Student Contact: Mariam Shah, Grace Whitken, Natalie Heinrichs
6
Faculty advisor: Steven Burnett (steven_burnett@hcpss.org)
7
8
AFTER-SCHOOL CHOIR
9
Come sing with the GHS Choir Program! Students are expected to attend all rehearsals and concerts.
10
Meeting Date and Time: every Thursday, 3:30-4:30
11
Meeting Place: GHS-ASC
12
Student Contact:
13
Faculty Advisor: Natalie Cardillo (natalie_cardillo@hcpss.org)
14
15
ANTIRACISM AWARENESS GROUP
16
"It’s hard to understand antiracism without understanding what it means to be racist" (Ibram Kendi). This group strives to be a brave space where we can explore and process events of the past and the present with a lens of racial equity.
17
Meeting Time and Date: 10:50-11:50 am, every other Wed, March 24th, April 7, April 21, May 5, May 19, June 2)
18
Meeting Place: GHS-AAG
19
Student Contact: Kara Kimos, Baz Vallone, Jocelyn Cather
20
Faculty advisors: Jenn Shepard (jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org), Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org), Marcy Burkom (marcy_burkom@hcpss.org)
21
22
ASIAN STUDENT UNION
23
The Asian Student Union is composed of any student interested in Asian culture. Participants will discuss the experience of being Asian, born and raised in or outside of the USA.
24
Meeting Time and Date: Every Friday,
25
Meeting Place:
26
Student Contact: Mariam Shah, Emily Sun
27
Faculty Advisor: Patricia Feinstein (Patricia_Feinstein@hcpss.org)
28
29
BIOLOGY OLYMPIAD
30
Slide from Club Fair
31
The USA Biology Olympiad (USABO) is a national competition sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Education to select the competitors for the International Biology Olympiad. The open exam is a short multiple choice exam open to all high school students administered later in the year.
32
Meeting Time and Date: First Friday of every month at 3:30 pm
33
Meeting Place: GHS-BioOlympiad
34
Student Contact: Ocarina Lin
35
Faculty advisor: Jessica Montminy (jessica_montminy@hcpss.org)
36
37
BIOMEDICAL CLUB
38
Slide from Club Fair
39
This club welcomes those who are interested in working in the health field such as in medicine, nursing, physical therapy, psychology, paramedics, and many more!
40
Meeting Time and Date: TBD
41
Meeting Place: TBD
42
Student Contact: Emmanuel Mekasha, Ethan Denny, Mariam Shah
43
Faculty advisor: Patricia Feinstein (patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org)
44
45
BLACK STUDENT UNION
46
The Black Student Union (BSU) follows the 6P’s of Excellence from the Black Student Achievement Program: Proud, Prompt, Persistent, Productive, Polite, and Prepared. The Black Student Union is a group of multicultural students who learn about their history, culture, and heritage, while promoting diversity.
47
Meeting Time and Date: Every other Wed. 11:00 am-12:00 pm starting Wed. Sept. 30th
48
Meeting Place: GHS-BSU1
49
Student Contact: Nikki Wildy, Bisi Owens
50
Faculty advisor: Phil Johnson (philip_johnson@hcpss.org); Vanessa Hooks (vanessa_hooks@hcpss.org)
51
52
BOOK CLUB
53
Slide from Club Fair
54
This group of students meets to thoughtfully and respectfully discuss the MD One Book, MD Black Eyed Susans, and a variety of other books suggested by club members. https://glenelgbookclub.weebly.com
55
Meeting Date and Time: One Friday a Month, Book Club Kindles Can be Delivered To You
56
Meeting Place: GHS-Bookclub
57
Student Contact: Chris Lewis, Nico Wenzel, Cassie Fischer, Sierra Rohman
58
Faculty advisor: Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org)
59
60
CHESS CLUB
61
Meet and play or learn chess!
62
Meeting Date and Time: Email advisor
63
Meeting Place: GHS-Chess
64
Student Contact:
65
Faculty Advisor: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)
66
67
CLASS OF 2024
68
Meeting Date and Time: Alternate Tuesdays, 3:30-4:00
69
Meeting Place: GHS-SGA2024
70
Student Contact:
71
Faculty advisor: Michelle Oland (michelle_oland@hcpss.org); Feven Nugusse (feven_nugusse@hcpss.org)
72
73
CLASS of 2021 - https://ghssga2021.weebly.com/
74
Meeting Date and Time: Tuesdays, 11am
75
Meeting Place: GHS-2021
76
Student Contact: Allison Abruscato
77
Faculty advisors: Justin Rix (justin_rix@hcpss.org); Jennifer Shepard (jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org); Paul Regis (paul_regis@hcpss.org)
78
79
CLASS OF 2022
80
Meeting Date and Time: Fridays at 3:30
81
Meeting Place: GHS-SGA2022
82
Student Contact: Dhruvi Mirani
83
Faculty Advisors: Maureen Hammond (maureen_hammond@hcpss.org); Nick Formica (nicholas_formica@hcpss.org)
84
85
CLASS OF 2023 - https://hcpss.instructure.com/courses/75810/pages/class-of-2023-sga
86
Meeting Date and Time: Thursdays, 3:30
87
Meeting Place: GHS-2023
88
Student Contact: Ava Stamatakis
89
Faculty Advisors: Chris Rosas (christopher_rosas@hcpss.org)
90
91
CODING, GAME DESIGN, MAKER CLUB
92
Students use raspberry pi minicomputers to create or design nearly anything they're interested in!
93
Meeting Time and Date: Restarting 3/30/21 - Wednesdays 1 pm
94
Meeting Place: GHS-Maker
95
Student Contact:
96
Faculty advisors: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)
97
98
COMPUTER CLUB
99
The Computer Club prepares its members for several programming and computer competitions, such as the University of Maryland High School Programming Contest and the American Computer Science League (ACSL) contests. The computer club members practice solving problems from previous competitions. In addition, the members explore data structures and algorithms beyond the scope of the computer science courses offered at Glenelg High School to prepare to achieve at the highest levels in the computing competitions.
100
Meeting Date and Time: Mondays, 3:15-4:00