ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
1
ACTIVE MINDS
2
Active Minds is dedicated to saving lives and to building stronger families and communities. Through education, research, advocacy, and a focus on students and young adults ages 14-25, Active Minds is opening up the conversation about mental health and creating lasting change in the way mental health is talked about, cared for, and valued in the United States.
3
Meeting Date and Time: During Glad Time
4
Meeting Place: Student Services
5
Student Contact: Neha Kukatla
6
Faculty advisor: Steven Burnett (steven_burnett@hcpss.org); Ian Foran (ian_foran@hcpss.org)
7
8
A CAPELLA CHOIR
9
Come sing with the GHS A Cappella Choir! REQUIRES AUDITION (SECOND FRIDAY OF SCHOOL). Students are expected to attend all rehearsals and concerts.
10
Meeting Date and Time: Fridays, 2:15-3:00
11
Meeting Place: Stage/Chorus Room
12
Student Contact: Peyton Kern
13
Faculty Advisor: Chris Fox (christopher_fox@hcpss.org)
14
15
AFTER-SCHOOL CHOIR
16
Come sing with the GHS Choir Program! Students are expected to attend all rehearsals and concerts.
17
Meeting Date and Time: Thursdays, 2:15-3:15
18
Meeting Place: Stage/Chorus Room
19
Student Contact:
20
Faculty Advisor: Chris Fox (christopher_fox@hcpss.org)
21
22
ANIME CLUB
23
Anime fans watch Anime films and series and discuss related topics.
24
Meeting Date and Time: Every other Friday, 2:15-3:00
25
Meeting Place: Room 164
26
Student Contact: Charlene Magbulos
27
Faculty advisor: Laura Ohanian (laura_ohanian@hcpss.org)
28
29
ART FOR CHANGE
30
Art for Change strives to raise awareness on social issues by creating 3D art pieces, and to also promote the arts in the school and community by
taking on school-related art projects. Visit our website (https://art4changeclub.weebly.com/) or Instagram (art4change_ghs) for more information!
31
Meeting date/time:Every Thursday from 2:15 to 3-3:30 PM
32
Meeting place: Mr. English’s art room
33
Student Contact: Shirlena Chen and Anshuta Beeram
34
Faculty advisor: Greg English (greg_english@hcpss.org)
35
36
ASIAN STUDENT UNION
37
The Asian Student Union is composed of any student interested in Asian culture. Participants will discuss the experience of being Asian, born and raised in or outside of the USA.
38
Meeting Time and Date: 2nd and 4th Thursdays each month, 2:15-3:00
39
Meeting Place: Room 217 or Google Meet
40
Student Contact: Emily Sun or Mariam Shah
41
Faculty Advisor: Patricia Feinstein (Patricia_Feinstein@hcpss.org) and Rachel Litvin (rachel_litvin@hcpss.org)
42
43
BIOLOGY OLYMPIAD
44
Faculty advisor: Paul Regis (paul_regis@hcpss.org)
45
Monthly meetings will take place for students interested in the club to enhance their knowledge about Biology and take the USABO Exam.
46
47
BIOMEDICAL CLUB
48
Slide from Club Fair
49
This club welcomes those who are interested in working in the health field such as in medicine, nursing, physical therapy, psychology, paramedics, and many more!
50
Meeting Time and Date: TBD
51
Meeting Place: Room 217 or Google Meet
52
Student Contact: Mariam Shah and Kousalya Gaddam
53
Faculty advisor: Patricia Feinstein (patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org)
54
55
BLACK STUDENT UNION
56
The Black Student Union (BSU) follows the 6P’s of Excellence from the Black Student Achievement Program: Proud, Prompt, Persistent, Productive, Polite, and Prepared. The Black Student Union is a group of multicultural students who learn about their history, culture, and heritage, while promoting diversity.
57
Meeting Time and Date:
58
Meeting Place:
59
Student Contact:
60
Faculty advisor: Phil Johnson (philip_johnson@hcpss.org); Vanessa Hooks (vanessa_hooks@hcpss.org)
61
62
BOOK CLUB
63
Slide from Club Fair
64
This group of students meets to thoughtfully and respectfully discuss the MD One Book, MD Black Eyed Susans, and a variety of other books suggested by club members. https://glenelgbookclub.weebly.com AND instagram@glenelghighlibrarybookclub
65
Meeting Date and Time: One Friday a Month, Book Club Kindles Can be Delivered To You
66
Meeting Place: Media Center
67
Student Contact: Chris Lewis, Nico Wenzel, Sierra Rohman
68
Faculty advisor: Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org)
69
70
CHESS CLUB
71
Meet and play or learn chess!
72
Meeting Date and Time: Thursdays, 2:15-3:00
73
Meeting Place: Media Center
74
Student Contact:
75
Faculty Advisor: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)
76
77
CIVIL AIR PATROL
78
https://mountairy.cap.gov/
79
Meeting Date and Time: Wednesdays, 6:45 pm - 9 pm
80
Meeting Place: Isaac Walton League of America, 6642 Woodville Rd, Mt Airy, MD 21771
81
Student Contacts: Dimitry Madsen, Alex Rolfe
82
Faculty Advisor: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)
83
Squadron Commander: Capt. Nathan Rolfe (mtairy.cap@md.cap.gov)
84
85
CLASS of 2025
86
Meeting Date and Time: Fridays, 2:15-3:00
87
Meeting Place: Room 162
88
Student Contact: Grayson He
89
Faculty advisor: Jonathan Illuzzi (jonathan_illuzzi@hcpss.org)
90
91
CLASS OF 2022
92
Meeting Date and Time: Fridays, 2:15
93
Meeting Place: Room 211
94
Student Contact: Dhruvi Mirani
95
Faculty Advisors: Maureen Hammond (maureen_hammond@hcpss.org); Nick Formica (nicholas_formica@hcpss.org)
96
97
CLASS OF 2023 - https://hcpss.instructure.com/courses/75810/pages/class-of-2023-sga
98
Meeting Date and Time:
99
Meeting Place:
100
Student Contact: