SNAP the Silence About Poverty: Join Councilmember Valerie Ervin's SNAP Challenge

Are You Up for the Challenge? Live on a SNAP budget for one week. Gain a perspective for a lifetime. We all know how expensive it is to live in Montgomery County. What many people may not know is how many working families struggle to put food on the table everyday. The current economic crisis has forced more people than ever to ask for public assistance. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly known as the Food Stamp Program, supports those whose wages are too low to lift them out of poverty, helping them to put food on the table. This Federal program allows individuals that qualify to purchase food to eat, or to buy seeds and plants which produce food for the household. In October 2012, approximately 65,200 County residents (6.7%) participated in the SNAP program. From July through October 2012, an average of 2,400 households applied for SNAP benefits each month. For families that qualify for the SNAP program, the average daily benefit per person, according to USDA/FNS statistics, is $4.28 per day. Montgomery County Councilmember Valerie Ervin invites you to join her in taking the SNAP Challenge and highlight how it feels to live in poverty. Participants will only spend $5 on food each day. While living on a SNAP budget for just a week will not come close to the struggles encountered by low-income working families, it does provide a new perspective and greater understanding for those who take the challenge. What: Take the SNAP Challenge. Spend $5 on food per day per person for one week. When: February 4 – 8, 2013 Share your experience on Twitter using @ValerieErvin #SNAPthesilence Share your experiences on Facebook (and "like" our page) at Who: Join your friends, neighbors and others who have already accepted the challenge, such as: Ike Leggett, County Executive, Montgomery County Ariana Kelly, District 16 Delegate, Maryland General Assembly Aruna Miller, District 15 Delegate, Maryland General Assembly Nancy Navarro, Council President and District 4 Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Craig Rice, Council Vice-President and District 2 Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Phil Andrews, District 3 Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Roger Berliner, District 1 Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Marc Elrich, At-Large Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Nancy Floreen, At-Large Councilmember, Montgomery County Council George Leventhal, At-Large Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Hans Riemer, At-Large Councilmember, Montgomery County Council Christopher Barclay, President, Montgomery County Board of Education Shirley Brandman, At-Large Member, Montgomery County Board of Education Peter Fosselman, Mayor, Town of Kensington Uma Ahluwalia, Director, Department of Health and Human Services Komal Ahmad, Founder and CEO/President, Feeding Forward Marilyn Balcombe, President and CEO, Gaithersburg-Germantown Chamber of Commerce Mark Bergel, Founder and Executive Director, A Wider Circle Dr. Sheryl Brissett Chapman, Executive Director, The National Center for Children and Families Yvette Butler, Founder and Executive Director, GapBuster, Inc. Judith Clark, Founder and Executive Director, Women Who Care Ministries Jacki Coyle, Executive Director, Shepherd’s Table Rev. Patricia Drumming, Rainbow Community Development Center Ronnie Galvin, Executive Director, IMPACT Silver Spring Susan Hawfield. Executive Director, Rebuilding Together Montgomery County. Clarissa Hayes, Maryland Hunger Solutions Marie Henderson, Executive Director, Interfaith Works D'Juan Hopewell, Maryland Advocacy Manager, Share Our Strength Richard Jaeggi, Executive Director, Gandhi Brigade Jonathan Jayes-Green, former Student Member, Montgomery College Board of Trustees Michele Levy, Co-Director, Crossroads Farmers Market Ana Lopez-Van Balen, Director, Mid-County Regional Services Center Catherine Matthews, Director, Upcounty Regional Services Center Mark McLaurin, Political Director, SEIU Local 500 Brett Meyers, Founder and Executive Director, Nourish Now NAACP, Montgomery County Branch Roberto Pinero, Chair, Housing Opportunities Commission Anita Powell, President, NAACP, Montgomery County Maryland Branch David Rodich, Executive Director, SEIU Local 500 Reemberto Rodriguez, Director of the Silver Spring Regional Services Center Laurie-Anne Sayles, Vice President, Montgomery County Young Democrats Karla Silvestre, Latino Liaison, Office of the Montgomery County Executive Ben Simon, Founder and Executive Director, Food Recovery Network Jeffrey Slavin, Board of Directors Chair, The Nonprofit Village Dr. Joshua Starr, Superintendent, Montgomery County Public Schools Kathy Stevens, Executive Director, Montgomery Coalition for Adult English Literacy Jim Stowe, Montgomery County Office of Human Rights Jenna Umbriac, Nutrition Educator, Manna Food Center Tim Warner, Chief Engagement and Partnership Officer, Montgomery County Public Schools Joslyn Williams, President, Metropolitan DC Council AFL-CIO Gregory Wims, Victims' Rights Foundation
* Required

Never submit passwords through Google Forms.