.

TimestampStart DateEnd DateHeadlineTextMediaMedia CreditMedia CaptionMedia ThumbnailTypeTagAuthor

.

People of the Tower: Ordnance OfficeExplore the timeline as a slideshow by using the arrows or use your mouse to drag the timeline at the bottom and click on the timeline flags to view them.Title

.

1323John Flete appointed Keeper of the Privy WardrobeDuring the early 14th century the Privy Wardrobe became the royal department responsible for supplying and storing arms and armour at the Tower of London http://www.royalarmouries.org/assets-uploaded/images/source/Wooden-head-Edward-III-ref-2416.jpg© Royal Armouries 2013Carved wooden head of Edward III used in the Line of Kings exhibitionPeople

.

1399Artillery HouseAn established store for ordnance established at the Tower of London by the end of the reign of Richard II and the beginning of the reign of Henry IVInstitution

.

1414Nicholas MerburyAppointed 'Master of the Works of the King's engines and guns and other ordnance for war' during Henry V's war with FrancePeople

.

1427John Malpas, Keeper of Armour at the Tower of LondonGiven custody of the 'Artillery House'J.Hewitt, The Tower and its Armouries (1841), p.1© Royal Armouries 2013Representation of the Tower in the reign of Henry VIPeople

.

1450Thomas VaughanFirst recorded appointment by Royal Letters Patent as Master of the OrdnanceNegative No. A13/238© Royal Armouries 2013The Boxted Bombard is an early example of a wrought iron cannon capable of firing a 60kg granite ballPeople

.

14851501Ordnance StorehouseMedieval building replaced by new building north of Tower GreenInstitution

.

1544Reorganisation of Office of OrdnanceAppointment of Master of Ordnance, Lieutenant of Ordnance, Surveyor of Ordnance, Clerk of Deliveries and StorekeeperInstitution

.

15451547New Ordnance Storehouse replaces early Tudor buildingI.573c or Negative No.A12/466© Royal Armouries 2013Representation of the The Tower of London in late 16th century showing new Storehouse to the north of the White TowerInstitution

.

16631664Construction of New ArmouriesInstitution

.

1671Office of Armoury abolished and duties assumed by Office of OrdnanceNegative No. A10/185© Royal Armouries 2013Late 17th century Receipt and Issue Book used by the Storekeepers of the Office of OrdnanceInstitution

.

1683Board of Ordnance formally establishedThe Broad Arrow (Pheon Mark) used by the Board of Ordnance from the late 17th century onwards used to indicate government propertyAL 15/7 (section showing mark)© Royal Armouries 2013Broad Arrow of the Board of OrdnanceInstitution

.

16881692Construction of Grand StorehouseGrand Storehouse replaced existing Tudor buildings. An artillery Train established on lower floor and 'new armoury of small guns' on upper floor.Lapper Painting for 1700 (p.33); I.1575© Royal Armouries 2013Grand StorehouseInstitution

.

16921693Line of KingsNew exhibition opens in New Armouries.DI 2013-0146 (XVII.30)© Royal Armouries 2013Wooden Horse which had appeared in the early 18th century line carrying the armour Edward I. In 1857 this horse was carrying the armour of William Somerset, 3rd Earl of Worcester but displayed as Francis Hastings, Earl of HuntingdonInstitution

.

1716Ordnance Drawing Office and Modelling Office establishedI.508a© Royal Armouries 2013Engraving of White Tower from the north east showing the eastern annex in which the Ordnance Drawing Room was locatedInstitution

.

17771792Construction of new Ordnance offices to the south of the White Tower at ColdharbourInstitution

.

1791Ordnance SurveyMaster General of the Ordnance directed to establish a survey of the entire country to produce military maps and other maps for public useInstitution

.

1802Treaty of Amiens signed between Great Britain and FranceHistorical

.

1803Outbreak of War between Great Britain and FranceHistorical

.

18031815Arms Manufacture on Tower WharfLocated at eastern end of Tower Wharf to supply the British war effort the manufactory was closed in 1815 and the facilities moved to Enfield and Lewisham© Royal Armouries 2013Tower Wharf (Daniell, 1804)??Institution

.

18081814Peninsular WarHistorical

.

1815Battle of WaterlooBritish military forces like the Life Guard shown here were supplied with their equipment through the Ordnance Office whose stores were managed from the Tower of LondonI.53© Royal Armouries 2013Historical

.

18191827Duke of Wellington, hero of Waterloo, becomes Master General of the OrdnanceJ Hewitt,The Tower and its Armouries (1841), pg 78© Royal Armouries 2013People

.

18201828Government reduction of civil and military expenditure As a result of financial cutbacks the permanent establishment of civil and military staff of the Ordnance Office was reducedInstitution

.

18261827The opening of the New Horse ArmouryReorganisation of historic displays by Dr Samuel Rush MeyrickI.528 (21)© Royal Armouries 2013The Horse Armoury Institution

.

1841Grand Storehouse FireI.1640© Royal Armouries 2013Illustration showing view from river of Grand Storehouse Fire of 1841 printed by R Lloyd, Office of the Penny Sunday TimesInstitution

.

18531855Crimean WarTower WharfHistorical

.

1855Abolition of the Board of OrdnanceAfter disastrous performance supplying military forces during the Crimean Campaign the role and functions of the Ordnance Office were assumed by the War OfficeNegative No. A10/160© Royal Armouries 2013Tower Wharf in the late 19th centuryInstitution

.

18821883Demolition of Ordnance Office and warehouseNegative No. A12/240© Royal Armouries 2013Engraving of Ordnance Office from Tower Wharf showing warehouse and store shortly before demolitionInstitution

.

1994Tower of London ceases to be a military depotInstitution

.

1947War Office replaced by Ministry of Defence at Whitehall in LondonInstitution