On Skates Officiating: IPR, Pack Definition and Pack Penalties
Basic information for skaters and officials
Welcome
PLEASE NOTE:
This slideshow has been assembled by Big Red (HSO) of Tri-City Roller Derby.
This presentation has been created in order to provide information & training to officials & skaters during the COVID-19 pandemic. We hope to educate & inspire others to seek certification through the official WFTDA channels.
For more information, or to apply for certification go to:
Penalty Review
Try your best to recreate the hand signal and verbal cue for each of the following penalty codes:
A
High Block
B
Back Block
C
Illegal Contact
D
Direction
E
Leg Block
F
Forearm
G
Misconduct
H
Head Block
I
Illegal Procedure
L
Low Block
M
Multiplayer
N
Interference
P
Illegal Position
X
Cut
What is a Pack?
Definition:
WFTDA Rules Section 2.3
“The Pack is the largest group of in bounds and upright Blockers in proximity (10 ft.) and containing members from both teams.”
This means that a pack can be as small as 2 blockers, provided that they meet the above criteria.
Pack Continued
No Pack
When no group of blockers fits the criteria to form a pack, this is called a “No Pack”.
The IPR will call “No Pack” and raise both arms up at a 90 degree angle.
Once the pack reforms the IPR will say “Pack is Here” or “Pack is All” and point to the two sides of the pack.
In some cases there will be two equal groups of blockers more than 10 feet apart, resulting in a “Split Pack”. In this case the IPR will call “No Pack, Split” to inform the skaters that even though it may look like they have the pack, there is still a “No Pack”.
No Pack Continued
Bridging
Definition:
Blockers positioning themselves within 10 feet of two different groups of blockers although not specifically addressed in the rules, are commonly referred to as bridges.
When a skater is bridging they are holding the pack together by staying within 10 feet of these two groups, which extends the pack, allowing blockers to continue to engage with the opposing jammer.
Bridging Continued
Engagement Zone
Definition:
WFTDA Rules Section 2.3
“The Engagement Zone is the area in which it is legal for Blockers to engage or be engaged. The Engagement Zone extends forward and backward 20 ft (6.10m) from the foremost and rearmost Pack Skaters, respectively.”
Engagement Zone Continued
Inside Pack Referee
IPR Positioning
The Front IPR positions themselves around 10 feet in front of the foremost blocker, close to the track boundary, moving out of the way of the jammer referees as they skate past.
The Rear IPR positions themselves near the middle of the pack at the point where the pack is most likely to break, standing back from the track line to give themselves a broad view of the entire pack.
IPR Positioning
IPR Role
Pack Definition
The two Inside Pack Referees are responsible for defining the pack so that legal gameplay can be determined.
If there is no pack, no blockers can legally make contact with any other skaters, and therefore cannot play roller derby.
The Rear IPR will typically handle most of the pack definition, but will “throw” the pack definition to the Front IPR to assist as needed while the RIPR handles other issues such as drawbacks or penalty enforcement.
IPR Role Continued
Teamwork
As the pack shifts to the front or rear, the RIPR will typically call “Pack is Front” or “Pack is Back”.
This communication is beneficial for skaters, but is mainly for the benefit of the other officials.
When “Pack is Front” the Front IPR will take over pack definition until either “Pack is All” or “Pack is Back” at which point the RIPR will take over again.
Ideally the two IPRs will be in sync and will make the call simultaneously, making for seamless pack definition.
IPR Role Continued
Out of Play
When a skater moves towards the front or rear of the engagement zone, the corresponding pack referee will follow them and give them a warning when they leave the engagement zone.
The IPR will raise the hand away from the pack at a 90 degree
angle and use the verbal cue “Out of play at the [Front/Back]”
IPR Role Continued
Out of Play at the Front
IPR Role Continued
Out of play at the back
IPR Role Continued
Failure to Return
Once the skater is given the “Out of Play” warning, if they are at the front they must stop skating forward and wait for the pack to catch up, or if the pack is moving clockwise, the skater is required to skate clockwise until they reenter the engagement zone. If a skater is at the rear when given the warning, they must skate forward until they reenter the engagement zone.
If they fail to heed the warning, they will be given a failure to return penalty. The official will bring their raised hand down to parallel with the floor in a chopping motion.
Penalties
Penalty Calls
Skating Officials in any position watch for all types of penalties, and are empowered to call any penalty, provided they have all of the parts required to make the call.
Penalties Continued
Parts of a Penalty
Pack Related Penalties
Illegal Position
Pack related penalties fall under the umbrella of ‘Illegal Position’
Illegal Position Continued
Destruction
WFTDA Rules Section 4.2.1
“Since all Blockers are unable to block when a Pack cannot be defined, if a Skater’s illegal action destroys the Pack...that Skater should be penalized.”
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
Red blocker 1 is bridging (9 feet on either side of them) between the front and rear sections of the pack. There are 3 blue blockers in the front group, 3 red blockers and 1 blue blocker in the rear group. To aid their jammer at the front half of the pack, red blocker 1 skates forward to throw offense, causing a gap of more than ten feet between the two sections of the pack.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
Red blocker 1 has caused a “No Pack, Split”.
As we now have two groups of 4 blockers, 3 red, 1 blue at the rear and 3 blue, 1 red at the front, there is no pack. Because of their actions, the pack was destroyed, therefore we issue a destruction penalty to red blocker 1 and pack is back.
Illegal Position Continued
Skating Out of Bounds
Skaters are not allowed to skate outside of the track boundaries, except when they are reporting to the penalty box, or re-entering after being forced out of bounds.
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
Red Jammer skates around the track after leaving the engagement zone. As they are rounding the apex, they briefly step into the infield with one skate as part of their normal stride.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
If this is a one time occurence, the skater should not be penalized. There was no gain of relative position as they were not near any other skaters, and this can be seen as a mistake.
Should this occur multiple times (3 or more) red jammer should be issued a skating out of bounds penalty.
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
Blue Jammer skates out of bounds without being contacted, then calls off the jam.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
The jammer referee should not call off the jam, as the skater has now committed a penalty. The jammer should be issued a skating out of bounds penalty and the jam should run for the full 2 minutes.
Illegal Position Continued
Failure to Reform
During a No Pack situation, all blockers are responsible for reforming the pack.
Any player not actively attempting to reform the pack should be penalized.
If players are at the front, they must actively slow to a stop to allow the pack to reform.
If players are at the rear, they must make a noticeable effort to move forward in order to reform the pack.
This is a GROUP metric. When there is no pack, it is EVERYONE’S job to reform it.
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
There are two groups of blockers, 4 red skaters at the front, 4 blue skaters at the rear, with a gap of 15 feet between them.
The Rear IPR calls “No Pack” and raises their forearms at a 90 degree angle.
The skaters in both groups make no visible change to the way they are skating or playing derby.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
One skater from each group should be issued a “Failure to Reform” penalty.
The Rear IPR will once again call a “No Pack”.
Should the skaters continue to do nothing, “Failure to Reform” penalties should continue to be issued until a pack is reformed.
Illegal Position Continued
Failure to Return
If a skater is told they are “Out of Play” they must return to the engagement zone as soon as safely possible.
If they are in front of the engagement zone, they must slow and eventually stop to allow the pack to catch up so they re-enter the EZ. If the pack is stopped or moving backwards, the skater must skate clockwise to re-enter the EZ.
If they are behind the EZ, they must skate counterclockwise until they re-enter.
This is an INDIVIDUAL metric. When there IS a pack, it is YOUR job to return to it.
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
Red blocker is blocking blue jammer at the front of the engagement zone as their teammates bridge.
As they cross 20 feet the Front IPR calls “Out of Play at the Front” and raises their left forearm at a 90 degree angle.
Red blocker continues to block the jammer.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
As there is still a pack, but red blocker has left the engagement zone, red blocker is issued a “Failure to Return” penalty.
Illegal Position Continued
Failure to Yield
If a skater is slightly out of position at the jam start, they will be given a warning by the referees.
After the warning they are required to pause for a moment to yield the advantage their positioning gave them.
Failure to do so results in a “Failure to Yield” penalty.
Illegal Position Continued
Question:
Red blocker 1 positions themselves at the jam line before the jam starts.
Their wheels roll back onto the Jammer Line.
The jam start whistle is blown.
What call, if any should be made?
Illegal Position Continued
Answer:
Red blocker 1 should be given a warning:
“Red 1 False Start”
If they stop and wait a beat, then continue, no penalty is issued.
If they continue to play derby, they will be issued a “Failure to Yield” penalty.
Resources
Thanks For Attending!!