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Building a Marketing Strategy

L72072-Larissa

Project 8: DMND Portfolio

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1.Customer Journey Based Marketing Plan�

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What: your offer �

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Option 1: Digital Marketing Nanodegree

Create a Customer Journey Based Marketing Plan with the goal of signing up new customers to the DMND Program in one quarter.

Budget: $50,000

Profit: For the purpose of this assignment, the cost of the Nanodegree is $999, assume a profit margin of 30%, meaning that Udacity makes $299 in profit per student that signs up.

Campaigns: We want to aggressively grow the program, but, we want to do it without losing money.

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Marketing Objective: DMND

What is the marketing objective for your marketing efforts?

My marketing objective for this campaign, it’s create an marketing campaign about the DMND and make at least 3.000 new customers in one quarter

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Who Are Our Customers�

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Target Persona

Background and Demographics

Target Persona Name

Needs

  1. Female, 46 years old
  2. Live in São Paulo - Brazil
  3. Married, 1 child (20 years old)
  4. Graduate degree in Publicity
  5. Husband work with her
  6. HH income 230k

  1. Sell her products on internet
  2. Save her productive time
  3. Does not want long courses
  4. Learn about social media

Hobbies

Goals

Barriers

  1. Travel with her husband
  2. Like to read novels
  3. Dinner with friends
  4. Pilates

  1. Make her services a success
  2. Reach more clients
  3. Enjoy time with friends
  4. Plan her retirement
  5. Graduate her daughter

  1. Fear of risking money
  2. Doesn’t have time to attend face-to-face classes
  3. Too many digital tools to learn

Monica

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Phases of the Customer Journey�

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When+How+Where = Marketing Tactics

Customer Journey

Awareness

Interest

Desire

Action

Post Action

Message

Sample:

  • describe the product
  • describe what it can do for your target persona
  • Describe the what the product can effort
  • Describe what make this product different from others
  • Describe what benefits the product have

  • Feedbacks of clients about the product
  • Instructions about how the program works
  • A “ thank you” letter

Channel

Sample:

  • content marketing (e.g. blog)
  • Informative landing page
  • Social media
  • display and video ads �
  • Informative landing page
  • Content marketing
  • Display ads
  • Social media
  • Content videos
  • Content marketing
  • E-mail marketing
  • Social Media
  • check-out or download landing page
  • Informative Videos
  • E-mail marketing
  • E-mail marketing

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2. Budget Allocation

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Digital Marketing Nanodegree

Budget Allocation for Media

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Awareness: Budget Allocation for Media

Channels

Planned Spend

Cost Per Click

Number of Site Visits

Average Conversion Rate

Total Sales

Facebook

$ 1.000,00

$1.25

800

0.05%

0

AdWords Search

$ 2.000,00

$1.40

1.429

0.05%

1

Display

$ 3.000,00

$5.00

600

0.05%

0

Video

$ 4.000,00

$3.50

1.143

0.05%

1

Total Spend

$ 10.000,00

Total # Visitors

3.972

Number of new Students

2

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Interest: Budget Allocation for Media

Channels

Planned Spend

Cost Per Click

Number of Site Visits

Average Conversion Rate

Total Sales

Facebook

$5.500

$0.50

11.000

0.1%

11

AdWords Search

$3.500

$1.50

2.333

0.1%

2

Display

$2.000

$3.00

667

0.1%

1

Video

$4.000

$2.75

1.455

0.1%

1

Total Spend

$15.000

Total # Visitors

15.445

Number of new Students

15

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Desire: Budget Allocation for Media

Channels

Planned Spend

Cost Per Click

Number of Site Visits

Average Conversion Rate

Total Sales

Facebook

$14.000

$0.30

46.667

0.3%

140

AdWords Search

$8.500

$1.50

5.667

0.3%

17

Display

$1.500

$3.00

500

0.3%

2

Video

$1.000

$2.75

364

0.3%

1

Total Spend

25.000

Total # Visitors

53.198

Number of new Students

160

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ROI: Budget Allocation for Media

Phase

Total Spend

Total Number of Site Visits

Total Number of Sales

Profit Per Sale

Total Profit

ROI

Awareness

$10.000

3.972

2

$299

$598

-9.402

Interest

$15.000

15.445

15

$299

$2.290

-10.515

Desire

$25.000

53.198

160

$299

$48.132

+23.139

Total

$50.000

72.615

177

$299

$20.930

+3.222

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Additional Channels/Recommendations

I would add the e-mail marketing channel, and use digital influencers with reviews about the program on their blogs and social media.

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3. Showcase Work

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Market your Content

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What is the theme and framework of your blog post?

Provide a brief summary of your blog post including the following:

  1. Select a theme for your blog post:
  2. I choosed a campaign that happened in Brazil, 2012, about the soccer team Vitória Esporte Clube helping the clinic Hemoba with blood donation.

2. What is the framework of your blog post?

  • The SCQA framework
  • Situation: The clinic Hemoba needs to improve their bank of blood.
  • Complication: The soccer team Vitória create the campaign and take out the red color of their uniform.
  • Question: Are the fans involved with the campaign?
  • Answer: The number of donation on the clinic

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Write a blog post, with the theme you’ve chosen from the options above, in the space provided below.

Remember to keep in mind your target audience when crafting your post. Consider: What voice and tone are appropriate?

If you include media in your post, include it here and make sure you are compliant with copyright laws.

Your post should be a minimum of 250 words and maximum of 500.

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My Blood is Black and Red

How the soccer team Vitoria Esporte Clube helped the blood bank Hemoba to increase the donation on 46%? Abrance this campaign if you are a fan too!

https://larieaf.wordpress.com/2017/09/25/my-blood-is-black-and-red/

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Platform 1 and Post

Facebook platform:

The Vitória Esporte Clube has always given its blood to you, now is your time of retribution. Donate!

Be part of this campaign, just attend the Hemobe clinic and give your blood to help those who need it.

Only with your help, the red of our uniform will appear again. We are trusting on you!

#mybloodisredandblack #donatebloodandsavelives #donateblood

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Platform 2 and Post

Twitter: using the account of the singer Ivete Sangalo, who is a fan of the team Vitória Esporte Clube. She has 16 million followers on her Twitter, a great huge influencer!

“Joy this cause, donate your blood and help our team to fill the red again#mybloodisbalckandred https://youtu.be/qYE_l0ju-ss”

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Platform 3 and Post

Instagram: Reposts of the fans donating their bloods!

Do like @franz120 and donate your blood to Hemobe too! Embrace this cause, donate it!

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Run a Facebook Campaign

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Campaign Approach

To the campaign that I chose to work, DMND, to reach those who wants to learn more about digital marketing. I focused on small business owners, those who wants to reach more clients and make their sells grows. That’s why I approached about how the guide can teach how to increase conversions on websites and learn about social media. To reach the target, I included on the interest: digital marketing, social media, startups, advertising agency. I used some words to reach more attention, like “Do you want to increase the conversions of your website?” creating a curiosity in reading the guide.

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Campaign & Ad Set: Sample �

Who did you target with your Ad Set and how (demographics, location, interest, behavior etc.)?

My target mainly was students and entrepreneurs.

Demographics: Women and Men between 20 and 40 years old.

Location: I target USA, Vancouver and Quebec from Canada, London on United Kingdom and New Delhi from India.

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Marketing Objective & KPI

  1. Who is the target audience of your campaign?

My target mainly was students and entrepreneurs.

  • What marketing objective did you aim to achieve with your campaign?

My marketing objective to the DMND project was to reach at least 20.000 of people, the conversion of 200 downloads of the ebook, with the budget of 125,00 dollars in the timeframe of September 28 and October 3; The result was 19.550 of people and 97 of conversions.

3. What primary KPI did you track in your campaign and why?

The KPI of this project in the number of ebooks downloaded. On the lead page, to download the ebook, it’s necessary to fill your e-mail. With the e-mail, Udacity can keep the contact with them, sending e-mail marketing.

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Campaign Summary

  1. Who did you target with your Ad Set and how (demographics, location, interest, behavior etc.)?

Demographics: Women and Men between 20 and 40 years old. Location: I target USA, Vancouver and Quebec from Canada, London on United Kingdom and New Delhi from India.

For interest, I focused on students and small business owners. I wanted to reach those who are starting a new business, online stores, bloggers….

(Digital Marketing, Digital Media, Sells, Blog, Facebook, Marketing, Startups, entrepreneurs, Social Media, Publicity, Business, Small Business, Technology, Students,Communication, Advertising Agency, Youtube, Snapchat, Blogger,Small Business Owner)

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Campaign & Ad Set: Sample �

For interest, I focused on students and small business owners. I wanted to reach those who are starting a new business, online stores, bloggers….

(Digital Marketing, Digital Media, Sells, Blog, Facebook, Marketing, Startups, entrepreneurs, Social Media, Publicity, Business, Small Business, Technology, Students,Communication, Advertising Agency, Youtube, Snapchat, Blogger,Small Business Owner)

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Ad Summary: Sample

Headline: Get your FREE Digital Marketing E-book

Text: Do you want to increase the conversions of your website? Learn today with our FREE ebook, how to advertise on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat to reach your more clients!

Description: In this guide you will learn how about social media advertising, and how to target your audience and measure the success of your business

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Ad Images: Sample

The images that I chose those who have people working with spreadsheets. The Facebook like images that have humans on it, giving more point to ads with it.

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Key Results

  1. Present the most important metrics per ad

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Key Results

  • Present the most important metrics per ad

The most important metric was the number of downloads of the ebook, with the result of 97;

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Campaign Evaluation

  1. Evaluate the success of your campaign, given your marketing objectives.

I think my campaign was a success, even I didn't reach my objective.

  • If you had additional budget, how would approach your next campaign?

I would focus more on India, and change the images, to show more about the product.

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Campaign Results: Performance

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Campaign Results: Demographics

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Campaign Results: Placement

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Ad Set Data: Performance

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Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Audit

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Page Index

Using the Pingler tool, research how many of DMND’s website pages are indexed by Google.

Explain why the number of pages indexed is important.

To make your website appear on the top of search consoles like Google, it’s important the content of your page corresponds to a users search query. That’s why it’s important that your web pages be indexed on the search engines. If only your website’s homepage is indexed, a search query corresponding to content on your sub pages will not appear in the results.

It’s important that you have important pages, web pages that have potential to your customers to find. To test these important pages, just enter the entire URL into the search box and it will be the first result returned if it is indexed.

To grow the number of indexed pages on your site, consider starting a blog about your company, to quickly increase the number of pages. It’s important to place keywords in the right places on web pages to help Google know what each page of your web site is about, and what keywords to rank you for.

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Page Speed

Using the Google Page Speed Insights tool, perform a speed test of dmnd.udacity.com’s mobile presence.

Explain why evaluating the Page Speed is important.

The Page Speed of a website it’s important because the searchs consoles, like Google, consider that the Page Speed it’s relevant to the ranking on the results.

That happen because when the loading time of a website it’s high, the user can leave it, creating a bad experience, mainly for mobile users, usually mobile connections are slower than desktop connections.

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Mobile-Friendly Evaluation

Using the Think with Google tool, assess the mobile-friendliness of the dmnd.udacity.com website.

Explain why having a mobile-optimized is important.

The access on the internet by mobile phone increase every day, and for Googler’s Think Insight, if an user gets frustrated on your website, if they don’t find what they're looking for, the chances for the user immediately leave your website it's 61%. The facts is if your website it’s not optimized for mobile, you’re losing sales, because your customer will abandon a purchase transaction if the shopping cart isn’t optimized for mobile devices.

Although Google prefers web designs responsive to mobile standards. When the website have a unique URL, makes more easier for Google to crawl your page, and reduces the chances of SEO’s errors on the page. That’s why responsive sites often perform better and are easier to maintain than a separate mobile site template.

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Recommendations

To DMND page I recommend to make a responsive mobile optimized, to be more attractive to the users. On my phone for exemple, I have to zoom out the page to fit all the informations on my screen, resulting in a bad experience.

Change the meta-description of the page to something more informative to the users, a summary in a way that instigates the user to click on the link and access the site, using keywords and become more relevant fort Google. Exemple: A Udacity Nanodegree program is a unique online educational offering a experience and abilities to become a professional on Digital Marketing.

On the website source, change the tag site_name to Digital Marketing Nanodegree Program, Alt tag all the images with informations about them.

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Run an Adwords Campaign

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2. Marketing Objective & KPI

  1. What marketing objective do you aim to achieve with your campaign?

The marketing objective that I’m aim to achieve for the my campaign is to reach 1500 of impressions and 50 clicks on the link through 5 days.

  • What primary KPI are you going to track in your campaign?

The KPI I'm tracking on my campaign it’s the numbers of clicks on the ads.

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Ad Group #1: Ads & Keyword Lists

Keyword List: udacity, udacity course, udacity free course, udacity free online course, udacity free classes, udacity classes, free course, free online course, free online course with certification, best online course, best free online course, best free course

Negative Keywords List: coursera, edx, openculture, open2study.

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Ad Group #2: Ads & Keyword List

Keyword List: udacity, udacity course, udacity free course, udacity free online course, udacity swift course, ios course online free, free courses ios app, course build app ios, how to build an ios app, build ios application, building an ios app from scratch, make an app for ios, learn ios app development, learn iphone app development, learn ios development, learn ios development online, learn ios programming online, learn ios development free, best place to learn ios development, ios developer career, ios app developer career

Negative Keywords: android, coursera, edx, openculture, open2study.

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Key Campaign Results (Campaign & Ad Groups)

Present the results of your campaign and ad groups by completing the table below.

Ad Group

Max. �CPC Bid

Impr.

Clicks

CTR

Avg. Cost per Click

Conversions

CR

Cost per

Conversion

Cost

Free Online Course

U$ 3,00

3.240

53

1,64%

US$ 1,32

7,00

13,21%

US$ 10,02

US$ 70,17

iOS

U$ 3,00

719

12

1,52%

US$ 1,65

0,00

0,00%

US$ 0,00

US$ 19,79

Total

4.031

65

1,61%

US$ 1,38

7,00

10,77%

US$ 12,85

US$ 89,96

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Key Campaign Results (Ads)

Present the results of your ads by completing the table below.

Ad

Clicks

CTR

Avg. Cost �per Click

Conversions

CR

Cost per

Conversion

Ad Group 1, Ad 1

39

1,47%

$1.19

4.00

10,26%

$ 60.00

Ad Group 1, Ad 2

14

2,40%

$1.69

3.00

21,43%

$ 45.00

Ad Group 2, Ad 1

10

614

1,63%

0

0

$ 0

Ad Group 2, Ad 2

2

177

1,13%

0

0

$ 0

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Key Campaign Results (Keywords)

Present the three keywords you consider most successful based on your marketing objective.�

Keyword

Clicks

CTR

Avg. Cost �per Click

Conversions

CR

Cost per

Conversion

Udacity

16

4,69%

$0.21

1.00

6,25%

$3.36

Free Course

15

1,29%

$2.11

2.00

13,33%

$15.85

Free Online Course

14

1,83%

$1.67

4.00

28,57%

$5.84

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Campaign Evaluation

Evaluate how successful your campaign was, given what your Marketing Objective has been.

    • Did your campaign result in a positive ROI? Yes, my campaign had a positive ROI
      • Number of convertions: 7 CPA = 89,96 / 7 = 12,85 ROI = [(60-12,85)*7 = 330,05�
    • Was the conversion rate higher or lower than expected? It was higher than my expectations.
      • I was expecting just 50 clicks on the ad and 3 conversions, and the result was 50 clicks and 7 conversions.
    • Which ad group, ads and keywords led to the highest click through and conversion rates and why might that have been the case? Because the number of search about “free online course” it’s high based on Google Trends

Name

Click

Conversion Rate

Free Online Course

53

7

Free Online Course, Ad 1

39

4

Free Online Course

14

4.00

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Campaign Evaluation

Evaluate how successful your campaign was, given what your Marketing Objective has been.

  • Feel free to use “bullet points” for your analysis and add as many slides as you need.
  • The following questions can help structure your answer (also review Lesson 6 in the SEM course for some additional guidance):�
    • Looking at the cost per click and the average position of your ad groups, can you infer which kind of keywords are subject to higher competition in AdWords? The word “free online course with certificates”����
    • Which keywords performed best for you and why might that have been the case? The keyword “free online cost”, it’s a type of education that have a great number of search.

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Recommendations for future campaigns

Imagine you had additional budget, how would you use it, given your campaign evaluation?

  • Feel free to use “bullet points” for your analysis and add as many slides as you need.
  • The following prompts can help you structure your answer:
    • Would you focus on certain Ad Groups, ads or keywords? I would focus only on the group A “free online course”.
    • Would you change any of your existing ads or keywords or add any new ones? I would add more brand and generic terms.
    • Would you set up an A/B test, and if so, how would you go about it? I would test with the keywords “certificate”

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Evaluate a Display Advertising Campaign

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Display Image Campaign: Overall Results�

Find below the overall results of the Display Image Campaign

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Results: Calculate the ROI

  1. Present the results of the overall campaign by completing the table below.
  2. Highlight Key Results
  3. What was the overall ROI of the campaign? Was it Positive or Negative?�The result was Positive, The result did not beat the expense, not giving a good return

Creative

Clicks

Impressions

CTR

Avg CPC

Campaign Results

1.973

282.066

0.70

0.44

Cost

Conversion Rate

# New Students

CPA

ROI +/-

$ 872.51

0.2

4

$ 218,12

$ 323,52

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Which Ad Group Performed Better?

  1. Present the results of each ad by completing the table below.

  • Creative A outperformed Creative B? Why?

The number of clicks on the ad A was higher than the ad B, resulting on more conversion and high cost.

Creative

Clicks

Impressions

CTR

Avg CPC

Cost

Conversion

Rate

# of New Students

CPA

ROI +/-

Creative - A

1.531

216,199

0.71

0,45

$ 686,27

.2%

3

$ 228,75

$ 210,75

Creative - B

442

65,867

0,67

0,42

$ 186,24

.2%

1

$ 186,24

$ 112,76

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Display Image Campaign: Keywords�

Review the Keyword results for the Display Image Campaign

Full keyword list in separate file here

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Keyword

Clicks

Impressions

CTR

Avg CPC

Cost

1

Marketing Online

236

20.750

1.14%

$ 0.5

$ 118.64

2

Online Marketing Course

226

38.259

0.59%

$ 0.28

$ 63

3

Digital Marketing Training

57

8.224

0.69%

$ 0.54

$ 30.75

4

Marketing Course

19

1.999

0.95%

$ 0.27

$ 5.14

5

Marketing Career

14

2998

0.47%

$ 1.68

$ 23.5

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How would you optimize this campaign?�

Provide at least three suggestions to improve this campaign. (Answers might include things like: A/B testing, different creative, adding or removing keywords, etc…)

Suggestion 1: A/B test with keywords that focus on Digital Marketing Course.

Suggestion 2: Use negative keywords with competitor’s brand, like Coursera, and keywords like free, since the nanodegree program requires payment.

Suggestion 3: Use brand keywords like Udacity, and Digital Marketing Course.��

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Display Video Campaign: Overall Results�

Review below the overall results of the Display Video Campaign�

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Results: Calculate the ROI

  • Present the results of the overall campaign by completing the table below.

  • What was the overall ROI of the campaign? Was it Positive or Negative?�It was a positive ROI, because resulted is more than 200% of investment return.

Creative

Clicks

Impressions

CTR

Avg CPC

Campaign Results

1.892

157.517

1.20%

0.03

Cost

Conversion Rate

# New Students

CPA

ROI +/-

$ 825.61

0.2

4

$ 206,40

$ 370,40

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Key Campaign Results (Keywords)

  1. Present the five keywords you consider most successful based on the results of the campaign?

The best five words was “ad advertisement”, “online marketing video”, “digital learning courses”, “course digital marketing”, and “seo”

  • Highlight the best performing keyword from the results. Why was this the best performing keyword?

The keyword “ad advertisement”, because had most clicks.

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Keyword

Clicks

Impressions

CTR

Avg CPC

Cost

Conversion Rate

CPA

# New Students

ROI +/-

ad advertisement

510

24.172

2.11%

$0.17

$85.58

.2%

85,58

1

219,402

online marketing video

495

42.440

1.17%

$0.51

$253.23

.2%

255,78

1

42,78

digital learning courses

207

14.198

1.46%

$0.31

$64.99

.2%

0

0

-58,79

business training course

163

8.726

0.93%

$0.63

$103.43

.2%

0

0

-5,95

course digital marketing

106

8.726

1.21%

$0.43

$45.50

.2%

0

0

-17,88

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How would you optimize this campaign?�

Provide at least three suggestions to improve this campaign. (Answers might include things like: A/B testing, different creative, adding or removing keywords, etc…)

Suggestion 1: Try A/B tests with different titles.

Suggestion 2: Use brand terms and match types.

Suggestion 3: remove keywords like “digital marketing courses in mumbai university” because it’s an online course and repeated keywords, “email marketing training”, “google analytic”.��

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Recommendations for future campaigns

Imagine you had additional budget, given your campaign evaluation, how would you use it?

I would change the list of Keywords, using more brand terms, negative keywords and match words.

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Market with Email

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Email Content:

Email Content Plan

Email Topic

Marketing Objective

KPI

Email #1

  1. Reach more clients with Digital Marketing

Engagement

Number of opens

Email #2

  1. Want to learn more about Digital Marketing?

Engagement

Number of opens

Email #3

  1. Learn everything about Digital Marketing studying anytime and anywhere.

Conversion

Number of conversions

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Email #1

Email Content Plan

Subject Line

Body Summary

Visual

CTA

Link

Do you want to reach more clients on your ecommerce?

Learn more about Digital Marketing and increase your sells planning on targeting specific audiences, budget and schedule your campaigns, and measure the success of your ads

Image with people closing deal, or selling products.

Learn more

http://dmnd.udacity.com/

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Email Copy: Email #1

Subject Line: *|FNAME|*, do you want to reach more clients on your ecommerce?

Body: Hello *|FNAME|*. Learn more about Digital Marketing and increase your sells, targeting specific audiences, budget, and measure the success of your ads

CTA: Learn more

Link for CTA: http://dmnd.udacity.com/

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Email Screenshot: Email #1

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Results Email #1

After you have hit send on the first email of your campaign, you can spend some time analyzing the results.

  1. Calculate the Open Rate

Results and Analysis

Sent

Delivered

Opened

Opened Rate

Bounced

2500

2250

495

22%

225

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Results Continued Email #1

Results can be monitored within the first 24 hours of an email send, after a couple days or even after a week.

  1. Calculate the CTR and the Conversion Rate

Results and Analysis

Clicked

CTR

Take Action

Conversion

Unsubscribed

180

8%

75

3,33%

30

It’s important to keep the attention about the unsubscribes. If this rate it’s too high, I would try a different frequency of emails, or how I can make my content more relevant to the consumers.

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Final Recommendations

Based on the work you did throughout this project, what would you do for Emails #2 & 3.

I would make as well an A/B test, and to draw the attention of the public, use the ebook “Free Social Media Advertising Guide”, so they can be more interest on the program and subscribe.

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