1 of 12

CYBERPUNK

STYLE

2 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

What is cyberpunk? Click here to learn more about it.

3 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

By request, in this assignment you will learn how to take these photos and transform then into something that has a cyberpunk style.

​

You may add your own twist by using some different photos and colors.. BUT YOU MUST INCLUDE THEM IN YOUR SUBMISSION ON A SEPARATE PAGE SO I CAN SEE WHAT YOU TRANSFORMED.

​

Click HERE to download these photos.

4 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

This video shows how to make the whole scene. Please stop and start it as you’re doing each step.

​

Click at bottom to watch on YouTube instead of inside of these slides.

5 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 1: Open the background photo of the city street first.

​

Use the magic wand tool (with a tolerance about 30) and click in the sky.

​

Then Select>Similar

​

Use select and mask to refine the selection.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 0:16.

6 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 2: Once you have a selection, unlock the background layer so that it becomes a regular layer.

​

Then press delete to delete the sky you selected. The video shows how to do this @2:00.

​

Step 3: Copy and paste the stormy sky and the black vest into the scene.

​

The vest can be selected with any tool (eraser, lasso, etc). I used the pen tool in the video, but it’s not required to do it that way. Select only the right half of it for now and copy/paste it into the scene.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 2:49.

7 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 4: Now copy the car and the model. I drew paths around those 2 photos for you so you can remove the backgrounds easily. (You’re welcome!)

​

To use them go to Window>Paths. Then click on the path to activate it. Go to make selection. Then click on the layer and copy it.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 3:45.

8 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 5: After all the elements are pasted in, put the half vest on the model.

​

You’ll use Edit>Transform>Distort to position it on her body.

​

Then you’ll make a copy of the right side (Control J) and then flip it (Edit>Tranform>Flip Horizontally)

​

Shift click on both right and left sides and press Control E to merge them into one layer.

​

Position and rotate the car in place too.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 4:54.

9 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 6: Change the lighting and coloring of all the layers.

​

Image>Adjustments>Levels to change the brightness and contrast.(Control L)

​

Image>Adjustments>Color Balance to bump up the Cyan, Magenta and Blue sliders in the highlights, shadows, and midtones. (Control B)

​

The video shows how to do this @ 7:15.

10 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 7: add a shadow layer on the road under the car by making a new layer and brushing black with a big soft brush.

​

Add glows to the model by selecting her (Select>Load Selection), make a new layer, get a large soft brush, paint pink on one side and blue on the other side.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 11:36.

11 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 8: To make the neon, make a new layer and use the lasso tool to draw around the signs. If you hold the ALT key it will keep your line straight. Or use the polygonal lasso tool.

​

Then go to Edit>Stroke

Use white 2 pixel size.

​

Make a Layer style: Layer>Layer Style>Outer Glow for the neon effect to appear (fx at bottom of layer tab).

​

You can even use a hard brush set to white 2 or 3 pixels and paint over the signs.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 12:57.

12 of 12

CYBERPUNK STYLE

Step 8: Finally, you can add another layer with a large soft brush - using the same colors as your neon - brush opacity 10% and make the light effect appear even more realistic.

​

The video shows how to do this @ 12:56.

​

At the end, I also cut the car windows out and put a transparent fill in them so you could see through.

​

At this point add any details you want! Glasses on the model, details to the vest, more signs, etc.