1 of 36

Microsoft PowerPoint

Atul Nag

Associate Professor, KISS -DU

2 of 36

Overview

  • With PowerPoint on your PC, Mac, or mobile device, you can:
    • Create presentations from scratch or a template.
    • Add text, images, art, and videos.
    • Select a professional design with PowerPoint Designer.
    • Add transitions, animations, and cinematic motion.
    • Save to OneDrive, to get to your presentations from your computer, tablet, or phone.
    • Share your work and work with others, wherever they are.

3 of 36

Create a Presentation

Create a presentation from scratch, or from a theme. All themes have a palate of colours and fonts designed to work together.

Create a blank presentation

Open PowerPoint.

Select one of the Blank Presentation and start typing.

Create a presentation from a theme

Select File > New.

Double-click a theme in the gallery to create a presentation in that theme. Or search for more templates.

4 of 36

Choosing the right view

Select the PowerPoint View tab to choose the view that's best for what you're doing.

There are also icons in the task at the bottom of the screen to select a new view.

    • The default Normal setting is the best for creating and editing your slides.
    • Select Outline View to see all your slides listed in a column.
    • Select Slide Sorter to see thumbnails of all your slides. You can reorganize your slides in either view by selecting and dragging it to a new location.

5 of 36

Choosing the right view

To View your speaker notes, select Notes Page. You'll see one slide at a time.

To see your presentation full screen, select the Slide Show icon from the taskbar at the bottom of the screen.

If you want to see your current slide, next slide, and speaker notes while you present, select three dots at the bottom of the screen, then Show Presenter View.

6 of 36

Add and format text

Add and format text to organize content in your presentation.

Add text

    • Select a text placeholder or box.
    • Type in the text you want.

7 of 36

Add and format text

  • When you select text and choose a format, hover over a menu option to see a live preview in your slide. Format options include:
    • Font Color - Choose a font color for your text.
    • Numbering or Bullets - Create a list using numbers or bullets.
    • Add or Remove Columns - Add or remove columns in your text.
    • Text Direction - Change the direction of text.
    • Align Text - Connect your text to the top, middle, or bottom of a bounding box.
    • Align Left, Center, Align Right, or Justify - Align your text the way you want.
    • Increase List Level or Decrease List Level - Increase or decrease a list indent.

8 of 36

Slides & Layouts

9 of 36

What is a slide master?

  • When you want all your slides to contain the same fonts and images (such as logos), you can make those changes in one place—the Slide Master, and they'll be applied to all your slides.
  • To open Slide Master view, on the View tab, select Slide Master:

10 of 36

What is a slide master?

  • The master slide is the top slide in the thumbnail pane on the left side of the window. The related layout masters appear just below the slide master
    1. Slide master
    2. Layout masters

When you edit the slide master, all slides that are based on that master will contain those changes. However, the majority of changes that you make will most likely be to the layout masters related to the master.

11 of 36

Themes

A theme is a palette of colors, fonts, and special effects (like shadows, reflections, 3-D effects, and more) that complement one another.

A skilled designer created each theme in PowerPoint. We make those pre-designed themes available to you on the Design tab in Normal view.

You can also get more themes from templates.office.com.

12 of 36

Themes

  • Every theme you use in your presentation includes a slide master and a related set of layouts.
  • If you use more than one theme in your presentation, you’ll have more than one slide master and multiple sets of layouts.

13 of 36

Slide Layouts

  • You change and manage slide layouts in Slide Master view.
  • Every theme has several slide layouts.
  • You choose the layouts that best match your slide content; some are better for text and some are better for graphics.
  • In Normal view, you’ll apply the layouts to your slides.

14 of 36

Add & Duplicate Slides

Duplicate

Duplicate a slide

    • In the thumbnail pane on the left, right-click the slide thumbnail that you want to duplicate and then click Duplicate Slide. The duplicate is inserted immediately after the original.

Add

Add slides

    • Select the slide you want your new slide to follow.
    • Select Home > New Slide.
    • Select a layout.
    • Select the text box and type.

15 of 36

Delete Slides

For a single slide: Right-click the slide in the thumbnail pane on the left, and select Delete Slide.

For multiple slides: Press and hold Ctrl, and in the thumbnail pane on the left, select the slides. Release the Ctrl key. Then right-click the selection and choose Delete Slide.

For a sequence of slides: Press and hold Shift, and in the thumbnail pane on the left, select the first and last slides in the sequence. Release the Shift key. Then right-click the selection and choose Delete Slide.

16 of 36

Change the page orientation

  • PowerPoint slides are automatically set up in landscape (horizontal) layout, but you can change the slide orientation to portrait (vertical) layout.
  • Select the Design tab
  • Near the right end, select Slide Size, and then click Custom Slide Size.
  • In the Slide Size dialog box, select Portrait, then select OK.
  • In the next dialog box, you can select Maximize to take full advantage of the space available, or you can select Ensure Fit to make sure that your content fits on the vertical page.

​

​

17 of 36

Pictures & Graphics

18 of 36

Insert a picture in PowerPoint

  • Insert a picture on your slide
    1. Click where you want to insert the picture on the slide.
    2. On the Insert tab, in the Images group, click Pictures and then click This Device/Stock Images/Online Pictures.
    3. In the dialog box that opens, browse to the picture that you want to insert, click that picture, and then click Insert.
  • If you want a picture to appear on every slide of a specific type in your PowerPoint template, add it to the slide master.

19 of 36

Edit Pictures

Once you add a photo, graphic, or picture, you have many ways to enhance the picture, such as backgrounds, shadows, and effects.

    • Adjust the brightness, contrast, or sharpness
    • Apply Artistic Effects
    • Change the colour
    • Apply Picture Effects
    • Add a border
    • Compress the picture

These options can be found

    • Select the picture.
    • Select Picture Tools > Format

20 of 36

Add SmartArt to a slide

Convert text and bullets into a SmartArt graphic.

    • Select your text.
    • Select Home > Convert to SmartArt.
    • Select the SmartArt you want.

Convert text into SmartArt

    • Select Insert > SmartArt > Picture.
    • Select the SmartArt you want and select OK.
    • Select the picture icon and find your image, like From a File or Online Pictures. Microsoft 365 customers can also search Stock Images and Icons.
    • Select Insert.

Insert pictures in SmartArt

21 of 36

Use charts and graphs in your presentation

  1. Click Insert > Chart.
  2. Click the chart type and then double-click the chart you want.
  3. In the worksheet that appears, replace the placeholder data with your own information.
  4. When you insert a chart, small buttons appear next to its upper-right corner. Use the Chart Elements button to show, hide, or format things like axis titles or data labels. Or use the Chart Styles button to quickly change the colour or style of the chart.
  5. When you’ve finished, close the worksheet.

22 of 36

Present Slide Shows

23 of 36

Start the presentation and see your notes in Presenter view

Start presenting

On the Slide Show tab, in the Start Slide Show group, select From Beginning.

Using Presenter view is a great way to view your presentation with speaker notes on one computer (your laptop, for example), while only the slides themselves appear on the screen that your audience sees (like a larger screen you're projecting to).

24 of 36

Presenter View

  • Use the controls in Presenter view
    • To move to the previous or next slide, select Previous or Next.
    • To view all the slides in your presentation, select See all slides.
    • To view a detail in your slide up close, select Zoom into slide, and then point to the part you want to see.
    • To point to or write on your slides as you present, select Pen and laser pointer tools.
    • To hide or unhide the current slide in your presentation, select Black or unblack slide show.

25 of 36

Add speaker notes to your slides

  • When you're creating a presentation, you can add speaker notes to refer to later while delivering the slide show in front of an audience.
  • Add notes while creating your presentation

26 of 36

Rehearse and time the delivery of a presentation

PowerPoint helps you record and time a presentation before you present it to an audience.

Rehearse the presentation

    • Select Slide Show > Rehearse Timings.
    • Select Next, click the mouse or press the Right Arrow key to go to the next slide.
    • The time for the current slide is shown to the right of the Pause icon. The time to the right of that is the time for the whole presentation.
    • Select Pause to pause the recording. Select Resume Recording to resume.
    • Select Yes to save the slide timings, or No to discard them.
    • You can also press Esc to stop the recording and exit the presentation.

27 of 36

Rehearse and time the delivery of a presentation

View the timings

    • Select View > Slide Sorter. The amount of time allotted to a slide is shown at the bottom-right of the slide.

Turn off recorded slide timings before you give a presentation

    • To prevent slides from automatically advancing, use the recorded slide timings as follows:
      • Select Set Up > Slide Show.
      • Clear the Use Timings or Use Rehearsed Timings check box.�To turn the slide timings on again, select Use Timings.

28 of 36

Record a slide show with narration and slide timings

You can record your PowerPoint presentation—or a single slide—and capture voice, ink gestures, and your video presence.

When completed, it’s like any other presentation.

You can play it for your audience in a Slide Show or you can save the presentation as a video file.

29 of 36

Record a slide show

  • All recording tools are in the Record tab in the ribbon, but you can start by selecting the Record button.
  • You can also record by selecting one of the options in the Record section of the Record tab.
  • If you have notes in your presentation, they’re turned into text at the top of the screen so you can use them like a teleprompter as you record.

​

30 of 36

Print your PowerPoint slides, handouts, or notes

​

​

In PowerPoint, you can print your slides, your speaker notes, and create handouts for your audience.

​

31 of 36

Create a self-running presentation

  • You can use a self-running presentation to run unattended in a booth or kiosk at a trade show or convention, or you can save it as a video and send it to a client.
  • On the Slide Show tab, click Set Up Slide Show.
  • Under Show type, pick one of the following:
    • To allow the people watching your slide show to have control over when they advance the slides, select Presented by a speaker (full screen).
    • To present your slide show in a window, where control over advancing the slides is not available to the people watching, select Browsed by an individual (window).
    • To loop your slide show until the people watching press Esc, select Browsed at a kiosk (full screen).

32 of 36

Animation, video & audio

33 of 36

Add, change, or remove transitions between slides

A slide transition is the visual effect that occurs when you move from one slide to the next during a presentation.

You can control the speed, add sound, and customize the look of transition effects.

Add slide transitions to bring your presentation to life

    • Select the slide you want to add a transition to.
    • Select the Transitions tab and choose a transition. Select a transition to see a preview.
    • Select Effect Options to choose the direction and nature of the transition.
    • Select Preview to see what the transition looks like.

Select Apply To All to add the transition to the entire presentation.

To remove a transition, select Transitions > None.

34 of 36

Animate text or objects

You can animate the text, pictures, shapes, tables, SmartArt graphics, and other objects in your PowerPoint presentation.

Effects can make an object appear, disappear, or move. They can change an object's size or color.

35 of 36

Insert a video from YouTube or another site

  • In PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 or PowerPoint 2019, you can insert an online video from YouTube or Vimeo on a slide.
  • In PowerPoint for Microsoft 365, version 1907 or later, you can also insert an online video from Microsoft Stream, a video service for enterprises—people in an organization can upload, view, and share videos with one another.
  • The video plays directly from the website, and it has the site's controls for playing, pausing, volume, and so on. The PowerPoint playback features (Fade, Bookmark, Trim, and so on) don't apply to online videos.
  • Because the video is stored on a web site, rather than in your presentation, you must be connected to the internet in order for the video to play successfully.

​

36 of 36

Record your screen in PowerPoint

  • You can record your computer screen and related audio, and then embed it in your PowerPoint slide—or you can save it as a separate file.