USER GUIDE
GOOGLE MEET
V. 20200501
MAY 2020
Content
Navigate directly to:
����
�
What is Google Meet?
����
�
Open Google Meet
�
1
2
3
Overview of Google Meet
The background of Google Meet is different every time. You can always find the current date and time at the top left. In this overview you can start a new meeting or join an existing meeting. Once you have an appointment in Google Calendar with multiple participants, it will be automatically visible here.
����
�
Start or join a meeting (1)
����
�
1
2
3
Start or join a meeting (2)
The meeting is now open. You’ll see a notification which gives you various ways to add others to the meeting:
1
2
3
4
5
Attend a Meet-session: Google Calendar
While creating an appointment in Google Calendar with one or more participants, a Meet-link is automatically added to the appointment. There are two ways to attend your meeting:
����
�
1
2
Start a Meet-session (1)
The first time you use Google Meet, you have to give permission to use the microphone and camera of your device.
1
Start a Meet-session (2)
You can turn off the camera and microphone before and during the meeting.
����
�
1
2
1
2
3
Attend a Meet-session (1)
Before joining a meeting you can see who is already in the meeting.
3
Attend a Meet-session (2)
Everyone participating this meeting is now visible. As soon as they have the camera switched off, you will see their initial. Once the camera is turned on, you can see the person. Participants can decide for themselves if they want the camera and microphone switched on or off.
Functionalities in Google Meet (1)
1
2
3
4
Functionalities in Hangouts Meet (2)
1
2
2a
2b
2c
Functionalities in Google Meet (3)
����
�
1
2
1
Functionalities in Google Meet (4)
����
�
1
Present your screen - Entire screen (1)
����
�
1
2
Present your screen - Entire screen (2)
If you choose ‘Entire screen’ you are able to show everything on your device, including your desktop and local files (when working on a desktop).
����
�
1
Present your screen - A window (1)
����
�
2
1
Present your screen - A window (2)
2
Present your screen - ‘Stop presenting’
����
�
2
Present your screen - View a presentation
When of the participants is presenting their screen, the presentation is displayed on the left. The person presenting is also still visible on the right if the camera of the presenter is turned on.
����
�
Multiple presentations at the same time
Several participants can present their screen or window during a meeting. As soon as you want to see another participant's presentation on the screen, hover the mouse over the presentation and click on the ‘pin to screen’ button. You can undo this in the same way.
����
�
More options (1)
Click the three vertical dots at the bottom right and choose:
����
�
1
2
3
4
1
More options (2)
Click the three vertical dots at the bottom right and choose:
����
�
1
2
3
1
1
Temporary additional functionalities
Due to the spread of the Corona virus (COVID-19), more and more schools are temporarily closing. To assist schools, Google now ensures that all G Suite users have access to features that were normally only available to Enterprise and Enterprise for Education users. These features are available for free until July 1, 2020:
����
�
Record a meeting and save in Google Drive
����
�
Record a Meet (1)
����
�
2
3
4
Record a Meet (2)
����
�
Stop recording
n’
����
�
1
2
3
View the recording (as an organizer)
����
�
2
1
3
View the recording (as a participant)
����
�
2
3
Live stream a meeting up to 100,000 viewers
����
�
Add a ‘live stream’ to a Calendar appointment
����
�
1
2
2
3
3
Share ‘live stream’
����
�
1
3
2
Start ‘live stream’
����
�
2
3
3
View a ‘live stream’
����
�
Stop a ‘live stream’
Note: If you want to record the live stream so that the meeting can be viewed afterwards, click on ‘Record meeting’ (and follow these steps)
����
�
1
2
2
Get personal advice (free)�sales@cloudwise.cool�+31 85 273 3007
Curious how we could�help your school?