Directing Basics Online Quiz 
This quiz has 50 questions (but you do not have to complete all in one session). 
When you submit the form, you will be sent a copy of your responses & be given the options to review your score, edit your response and then submit another response. We are looking for a 100% score on completion.
Sign in to Google to save your progress. Learn more
Email *
Name:- *
ABF No. *
Home Club: - Name & number *

1. East is dealer and, before they have called, South passes. 
West does not accept this pass out of rotation and it is cancelled.

East now makes a call.

South must pass, true or false?

 

*
2 points

2. South, declarer, leads a Spade.
East plays the 3D and then discovers they have a Spade in their hand. 
East plays their Spade

The 3D remains on the table as a minor penalty card, true or false?

 

 

*
2 points
3. Bidding has finished, and West makes their opening lead.

South picks up the board and places it on a stool next to the table.

East objects and an argument ensue.

The Director is called and rules that board must be placed in the centre of the table.

The Director's ruling is correct, true or false?
*
2 points
4. North is declarer in 4S.
West leads the 2D, face up.
The Director is called and gives Declarer all their options.
North chooses to spread their hand and for South to become Declarer.
They are able to do this, true or false?
*
2 points
5. North is declarer in 4S.
West leads the 2D, face up.
The Director is called and gives Declarer all their options.
North chooses not to accept the faced opening lead out of turn and the 2D becomes a major penalty card.

Declarer is allowed to demand the lead of a Heart, true or false?

*
2 points
6. West is dealer. 
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N      E       S
1S      P              2C 

South bid before East - Director is called.

West can accept the 2C bid, true or false?

*
2 points
7. West is dealer.
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N       E       S
1S     P                2C
South bid before East - Director is called.
West does not accept the 2C bid.
It is cancelled and the bidding continues:

W      N       E      S
1S     P       P 

South must now bid 2C, true or false?
*
2 points
8.  West is dealer.
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N       E       S
1S     P                2C
South bid before East - Director is called. 
2C was natural when bid out of turn. 
West does not accept the 2C bid.
It is cancelled and the bidding continues:

W      N       E         S
1S     P       1NT 

South must now bid 2C, true or false?
*
2 points
9.  West is dealer.
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N       E       S
1S     P                2C
South bid before East - Director is called.
West does not accept the 2C bid.
It is cancelled and the bidding continues:

W      N       E         S
1S     P       1NT    2C

2C was natural when bid out of turn. 
The meaning of 2C is unchanged after the 1NT bid.

Which of the following are correct?
*
2 points
10.  West is dealer.
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N       E       S
1S     P                2C
South bid before East - Director is called.
West does not accept the 2C bid.
It is cancelled and the bidding continues:

W      N       E         S
1S     P       1NT    X

2C was natural when bid out of turn. 

The Double is for takeout and implies a shortage in spades, tolerance for a contract in any of the other 3 suits and at least opening values.

Which of the following are correct?

*
2 points
11.  West is dealer.
North/South are vulnerable.
The bidding goes:

W       N       E       S
1S     P                2C
South bid before East - Director is called.
West does not accept the 2C bid.
It is cancelled and the bidding continues:

W      N       E         S
1S     P       1NT    2H
2S     P       P         P

2C was natural when bid out of turn. 

Select all correct options?

*
2 points
Required
12. North is playing in 6NT and with 8 tricks played, he claims the rest of the tricks.
East immediately objects and says that he wants North to play the hand out.
North agrees and there are no objections from West or Dummy. 
The hand can be played out and there is no need to call the Director.
Is this correct?
*
2 points
13. When using written bidding, when should the bidding slip be concealed from view? *
2 points
14. An inadmissible double may be accepted by the player next in rotation. *
2 points
15. A claim has been made. Which side may request that play continues? *
2 points
16. A claim has been made.
A player from the non-claiming side has asked that the hand be played out.
The hand must be played out.
*
2 points
17. An auction reached 3NT after which there were three passes in rotation. 
When does the auction period end?
*
2 points
18. 

Both defenders have a major penalty card, and one defender is to lead to the next trick.

Which of the following takes precedence? 

*
2 points
19.  A player who has written " 11 " on the bidding pad, before realizing that it is not his turn to call, has made a bid out of rotation. *
2 points
20. East has two major penalty cards, the AH and the 4C, and is void in spades. 
Declarer, South, leads the AS from the table.
East must choose to discard either the AH or the 4C.
*
2 points
21. North incorrectly informs West it is their opening lead. 
West faces the 3S whereupon North realizes they are the Declarer, and the lead is out of turn.
North must accept the lead.
*
2 points
22. The auction proceeds: 

     N       E      S
          2C      P

South is about to call when North, who is resorting his cards, accidentally drops the 10S face up on the table.

South must pass at this turn.
*
2 points
23.  The auction proceeds: -
        N         E        S
           1NT      X        XX

North's partnership agreement is that South's redouble shows a weak single-suited hand.
North is obliged to bid 2C if West passes.

This redouble must be alerted by North.
*
2 points
24.  The auction proceeds: -
        N         E             S
           1H        2NT

2NT shows both minors.

This bid does not require an alert.

*
2 points
25. East has a minor penalty card, 5D. 
South, declarer, leads the JD to trick 7, up toward the A, Q, 8 of diamonds planning to finesse the KD. West plays the 2D, Declarer plays the 8D from dummy. East plays the KD, winning the trick.
Is this allowed?
*
2 points
26. East has a minor penalty card, 5D.
South, declarer, has played the JD towards the A, Q, 8 Diamonds on the table, playing the 8D. East wins the trick with the KD.
East now plays the AS.
Is this allowed?
*
2 points
27. West has a minor penalty card, 3S.
South, declarer, has played the JD towards the A, Q, 8 Diamonds on the table, playing the 8D. East wins the trick with the KD.
South can deny the lead of a Spade.
*
2 points
28. The clarification period is the time between the end of the auction (when there have been 3 consecutive passes after a bid) and the end of the auction period (when the opening lead is faced). *
2 points
29. South is in 4S.
On trick 5 South plays a Heart from dummy which is ruffed by East. Fortunately, declarer is able to over-ruff, winning the trick. West plays a Heart.
As South plays to the next trick, West says to partner "having none". East looks in their hand and sees a Heart!
South says "It's too late, I've played to the next trick. You can't correct it now"
Is South, correct?
*
2 points
30. 

West is declarer in 3NT.
On trick 4, North leads an 8C, covered by the 10C in dummy.
South plays 2C and Declarer plays the 2S.
Declarer calls for the 2H from Dummy then says, "wait a minute, I should have played a club".
They pick up the 2S and replace it with 3C.

Play continues without further rectification?

*
2 points
31. The bidding has gone:

W      N      E       S
1S     P      X      2H

Can you allow bidding to proceed?
*
2 points
32. The bidding has gone:

W      N      E       S
         1S     P      X      

You are called to the table. West wants to accept the double and bid 2H.
Can you allow West to bid 2H?
*
2 points
33. You are called to the table because a player wants to change their call. They tell you that they can change it because the pencil is still on the bidding pad.
Can they change their call simply because they have not removed their pencil from the bidding pad?
*
2 points
34. A defender has a major penalty card but fails to play it at the first opportunity, instead playing a card from their hand.
Can Declarer choose which card is be played?
*
2 points
35. A player on lead accidentally plays two cards and the face of both cards are seen.
Can they choose which card to play?
*
2 points
36. A player writes "1 I" on the bidding pad and then calls you wanting to bid 2D.
Is the player allowed to make the bid of 2D?
*
2 points
37. Playing in a Matchpoint Pairs event, South overhears discussion of a board that they are about to play, and that West has 6 spades and 10 HCP.
Can you allow the board to be played?
*
2 points
38. 

Declarer calls for a 2 from Dummy which has both the 2S and 2C.

Can the defenders choose which card is to be played?

*
2 points
39.  If Declarer says 'play anything' when playing from dummy, can a defender specify which card to play? *
2 points
40. South wins trick 8, having a minor penalty card, the 5D.
Can they lead the AS to trick 9?
*
2 points
41. North bids 2NT which in their system is a balanced 20 -22 HCP hand. 
Unfortunately, South forgets the system and, when asked by East, says that is a weak hand, 8-10 HCP and 5+/5+ minors. 
East passes and South bids his longest minor, 3D, which North alerts.
West passes and North bids 3H. South then "wakes" up and realizes that the 2NT is a strong hand. 
 
South must immediately call the Director and explain that he has given an incorrect explanation of his partner's bid.
*
2 points
42. Declarer calls for the AS from dummy.
There is not the AS but the AC is in dummy.
Can they now call for the 7H to be played?
*
2 points
43. Bidding has gone well, and you bid 4NT ace asking (Blackwood).
Partner bids 4H the usual response for one ace over 4C ace ask.
Can partner correct his bid to 5D?
N.B. This action assumes that the next player did not choose their first given option of accepting the insufficient bid.
*
2 points
44. A player fails to alert their partner's bid.
Is this considered to be misinformation?
*
2 points
45. Bd 4 Dealer: West: All vulnerable

W       N       E       S
          
2D*

* 2D is a 2-way multi - either a weak 2 in a major or a balanced 20 - 22 HCP.

North bids out of turn. It is not accepted by East.

W       N       E       S
          2D* (cancelled)
1D      2S**

**2S is a weak jump overcall - a weak hand with long spades.
West now opens 1D and North overcalls 2S.
Are there any restrictions on South?

*
2 points
46.  Can a club ban 'psyches' during any of its sessions? *
2 points
47. Declarer, South, is on lead from dummy but mistakenly leads from their own hand.
Can East accept the lead?
*
2 points
48. N/S are playing 'transfer openings'.
1C shows hearts, 1D shows spades, 1H shows clubs and 1S shows diamonds.
E/W are playing 'Michaels cue bids".
North opens 1D.
East overcalls 1S.
Does this bid have to be alerted?
*
2 points
49. When is a revoke established?
Select all possible options.
*
2 points
Required
50. Following an established revoke, how many "Automatic Trick Adjustments" are transferred to the non-offending side in each of the following situations?
Select one answer per line.
*
4 points
No tricks
One Trick
Two Tricks
Adjusted score
Neither the offender nor their partner won the revoke trick and no more from that point
The offender did not win the revoke trick, but their partner did. No more from that point
The offender did win the revoke trick, but neither they nor their partner won any more tricks from that point on.
The offender did win the revoke trick, and they or their partner won more from that point on.
What do you award if the non-offending side is insufficently compensated
A copy of your responses will be emailed to the address you provided.
Submit
Clear form
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
reCAPTCHA
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy

Does this form look suspicious? Report