IASE online workshop - Using simulations to make sense of the world: The pandemic - Gail Burrill
Investigating phenomena in the world can be an enriching experience but one that often does not happen or does so from a deterministic mathematical perspective. This is particularly true since the pandemic introduced mathematics and statistics into the public domain. Simulations can be powerful tools to build conceptual understanding of terms such as efficacy and false positives and can provide students with the tools to make responsible decisions in their own lives and as responsible citizens. Join us in this workshop to find out what you can do in your classrooms to make this happen for your students.
Sign in to Google to save your progress. Learn more
Workshop time: Monday 8 November 2021 - 3 pm - 4:30 pm EST
Monday 8 November 2021 - 12 pm PST, 5 pm ART, 8 pm WET/WAT/BST, 9 pm CET/CAT, 11 pm EET/EAT
Tuesday 9 November 2021 - 9am NZDT, 7am AEDT

The session will run for 90 minutes. There will be opportunities in breakout rooms to explore the simulations using Nspire or CODAP. The breakout sessions will be available in English and Spanish.
First Name *
Last Name *
Email address to send workshop link to *
We will email the link for the workshop to this email address approximately 24 hours before the workshop starts.
IASE membership status *
You do not have to be a member of IASE to attend the workshop.
Country of residence *
Tell us about your involvement in statistics education. Tick all that apply.
How did you hear about this workshop?
Is there any specific topic you would like us to organise for future IASE online sessions?
*
Required
Submit
Clear form
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy