Blackball Pool Rules Quiz
This is a quiz from
for those who play and referee blackball rules pool. Please make all of your selections then press the 'Submit' button. One point may be scored for each of the ten questions.
1. In which of the following images are the balls correctly racked at the start of a frame of blackball pool.
2. Select the correct statements below. All must be correctly identified to gain 1 point. A player cannot win a lag if his or her ball....
. . . is potted
. . . leaves the table
. . . touches a side cushion
. . . does not reach the baulk cushion
. . . crosses to the opponent's side of the table
3. Following a break the balls came to rest as shown. Look at the final position of the balls. Was this break legal?
There is insufficient information to answer yes or no
4. A player pots both the cue ball and the black ball on the break. Which of these statements is true?
The frame is awarded to the opposing player.
The black is returned to the table and the opposing player is awarded a free shot taken from baulk.
The object balls are racked again and the same player breaks.
The object balls are racked again and the opposing player breaks.
5. Following a legal break the incoming player played this shot. A red ball and a yellow ball were potted. What is that player's designated group?
6. Select from this list only those fouls which would result in a player losing a frame.
The cue ball is potted.
No attempt is made to hit an ‘on’ ball.
A player unintentionally takes a shot out of turn.
A player's foot is not on the floor when the cue tip contacts the cue ball.
The cue tip contacts the cue ball more than once on a shot.
A player pots the black ball on a push shot.
A player deliberately picks up a ball when not entitled to do so.
A ball is accidentally touched by a player's clothing.
A player intentionally strikes a ball which is not an ‘on’ ball.
A shot is played while any object balls are moving.
Black is potted on a shot that leaves any of a players own group balls on the table.
7. In the video below (shot 1) the player's group is reds. The cue ball is touching the object ball. This is not being played as a free shot. Is this a foul?
8. In the next video (shot 2) the player on red balls intentionally plays to sink both a red and yellow ball in a single shot. Has a foul been committed here?
9. In the video below (shot 3) the player on yellows takes a free shot following a foul by the opposing player. Before taking the shot only one yellow ball remains on the table. Is this a winning shot?
10. There are only four object balls on the table in this final video (shot 4). The cue ball is not touching the red ball. The player on the yellow ball plays this shot. It is not a free shot. Is it legal?
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google.
Terms of Service