California’s on Fire. Governor Gavin Newsom Is Still Fossil-Fueling the Climate Emergency – What The Movement Can Learn and Do
The upcoming election is truly historic for a number of reasons. For the climate justice movement in particular, this election is deeply consequential in light of the climate emergency, its disproportionate impacts on Black, Brown, Indigenous and other communities of color in the country, and the desperate, time-bound need for national leadership. The fate of democracy itself, as well as the health and welfare of so many, will be impacted for good or worse by what happens on and before November 3. What are the forms that voter suppression is taking in 2020, and what is needed to defeat it? How will the shift to voting by mail affect campaigning and elections? How can we advance the movement for a Green New Deal and climate action at the scale needed? What are the takeaways from the most recent DNC, and what can do we as a community to ensure that progressive climate policy is pursued in the 2021 administration?

We are pleased to have as our presenters on August 27: Mackenzie Marcelin, Climate Justice Organizer at The New Florida Majority and a member of the Climate Justice Alliance, RL Miller, Political Director of Climate Hawks Vote and President of Climate Hawks Vote Political Action, and Bracken Hendricks, Co-founder and Senior Policy Advisor of Evergreen Action.

*In honor of the U.S. centennial of women’s suffrage this year, we seek to host women, female-identifying, and gender queer panelists throughout 2020.
**Note that a recording of this call will not be made.
Join us on August 27, 2020 at 3:00 pm Eastern / 2:00 pm Central / 1:00 pm Mountain / noon Pacific time
Call in # 712-770-4933 Participant code 615986#
Can you join us? *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Organization *
State *
Submit a question for our presenter in advance
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy