Clean Cars 2040 Mayors Support Letter

The Honorable Jim Frazier
Chair, Assembly Committee on Transportation
1020 N Street, Room 112
Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 1745 (Ting) – Support

Dear Chairman Frazier:

We the undersigned California mayors , are writing to express our support for Assembly Bill 1745 (Ting), the Clean Cars 2040 Act, which will require all new passenger vehicles in California to be zero-emissions vehicles (ZEV) on and after January 1, 2040.

From sea level rise to wildfires to droughts to flooding, local governments are on the front lines of the impacts of climate change and so are acutely aware that California must drastically reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the transportation sector.

Everyone deserves to breathe clean air, and live a healthy life. The American Lung Association estimates that in 2015 California suffered $15 billion in health costs due to greenhouse gas emissions and air pollution, including respiratory illness, premature mortality, and lost workdays. In addition, ZEVs represent significant savings for consumers in terms of dramatically lower fueling costs.

Great Britain, France, China, India, and other countries are phasing out gas- and diesel-powered vehicles, and requiring new vehicles to be zero emissions. Just these four countries represent over 35 million new vehicle sales per year, which will require global automobile manufacturers to develop, build, and market a full range of ZEV options for drivers. By aligning its 2040 requirement with these and other countries, California can keep pace with the world and take advantage of this coming market shift.

As mayors, AB 1745 is critical for California’s clean energy future, environmental justice and our leadership role in the country and world. Accordingly, we urge your support of this legislation.



The Honorable Phil Ting

Members of the California State Assembly Committee on Transportation:
The Honorable Vince Fong
The Honorable Cecilia M. Aguiar-Curry
The Honorable Catherine B Baker
The Honorable Marc Burman
The Honorable Kansen Chu
The Honorable Tom Daly
The Honorable Laura Friedman
The Honorable Mike A. Gipson
The Honorable Matthew Harper
The Honorable Devon J. Mathis
The Honorable Jose Medina
The Honorable Adrin Nazarian
The Honorable Patrick O’Donnell

Complete the Fields Below to Add Your Name
Full Name *
Your answer
Title *
Your answer
City *
Your answer
Email Address *
Your answer
Phone number *
Your answer
If a representative is completing this form on behalf of a public official, please provide your name and contact information.
Your answer
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of Stand. Report Abuse - Terms of Service