SF Studies Reading Circle: Colonialism and the Emergence of Science Fiction
SF is a broad term that encompasses, for me, science fiction, fantasy, horror, and other speculative fictions that use other worlds and otherworldly ideas to interrogate the world around us (or the world around which the author lives). The SF Studies Reading Circle will be a series of Reading Circles that look deeply at various texts from SF Studies to discuss them chapter-by-chapter. Signing up for this Reading Circle signs you up to discuss our first book, John Rieder’s Colonialism and the Emergence of Science Fiction.

One of the founding studies in SF studies, Rieder’s Colonialism and the Emergence of Science Fiction engages with 19th- and 20th-century science fiction and its relationship to colonialism and imperialism. It looks at the founding of the genre (if one can consider SF having a certain founding) and how it was affected by the cultural conventions of the day.

Members of the Reading Circle will need to obtain a copy of Colonialism and the Emergence of Science Fiction.

Wednesdays, October 7, 2020 to November 11, 2020
Pacific time: 5 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Mountain time: 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Central time: 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Eastern time: 8 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Week 1: Introduction

Week 2: Chapter 1: Introduction: The Colonial Gaze and the Frame of Science Fiction

Week 3: Chapter 2: Fantasies of Appropriation: Lost Race and Discovered Wealth

Week 4: Chapter 3: Dramas of Interpretation

Week 5: Chapter 4: Artificial Humans and the Construction of Race

Week 6: Chapter 5: Visions of Catastrophe | Conclusion

The Reading Circle will be capped at fifteen (15) participants.
Name *
Pronouns
If not provided, I will address you with the neutral English they/them pronouns when emailing.
Email *
Why do you want to join this Reading Circle? *
Will you be able to make it to each meeting? *
If you won't be able to attend each meeting, please let us know how many you might need to miss. (Note: Missing a few meetings does not automatically disqualify you from being accepted.)
Are you comfortable recapping an article or chapter? *
If not chosen for this Reading Circle, would you be interested in future discussions? *
Any thoughts, questions, or worries about this group?
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy