Nominations: 2020 David D. Anderson Award
The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature (SSML) is accepting nominations for the 2020 David D. Anderson Award for Outstanding Essay in Midwestern Literary Studies. Named for Professor David D. Anderson, a founder of SSML and prominent scholar of Midwestern literature, this award will be presented at the 2020 SSML symposium. It recognizes a scholarly article that makes a substantial contribution to exploring ideas, authors, and places related to Midwestern literature. The awardee will win a $1,000 prize and give a plenary talk at the symposium.

Eligibility: Any critical essay of at least 3,000 words that was first published in 2019 in a peer-reviewed periodical or edited book collection. Essays published in MidAmerica or Midwestern Miscellany are not eligible, although publications by SSML members in other peer-reviewed journals or edited collections may be nominated.

Deadline: Please submit nominations using this form by November 30, 2019. Essays published later than November 30 will be accepted until December 31, 2019.

Questions? Please visit or contact award coordinator Andy Oler at andy.oler [at] erau [dot] edu.


Your Name *
Your Email *
Are you a current SSML member?
Author of nominated essay (lastname, firstname) *
Title of nominated essay *
Journal/book in which essay was published *
Please upload a .pdf of the nominated essay *
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. - Terms of Service