TRRA Law Quiz #1
Test your law knowledge before the XV season starts! Please select the BEST answer for the following questions. Do yourself a favor and don't look up the answers in the law book - just try your best.

In case of checkboxes select more than one answer if more than one answer is correct.
Name *
Email *
With a squad of 19 players on the roster, what is the MINIMUM number of players that must be front row eligible? *
1 point
A3 has been sent off for foul play and Team A must play with uncontested scrums. Team A must bring a backline player into the scrum so they have 8. *
1 point
B12 begins bleeding at 32:00 and must be temporarily replaced. B12 is not ready to return to the field of play before the half ends and the teams enter halftime. During halftime, B12 becomes eligible to return to the field of play. Immediately at the start of the second half, may B12 return? *
1 point
In the coin toss before the match which of the following options can the winning captain choose? *
1 point
Required
Team A attempts a penalty goal. However it's a windy day and when A10 kicks the ball it goes between the uprights and over the crossbar, but then is blown back. B8 who started in-goal catches the ball and runs down to their own in-goal and touches the ball down. What's the correct call? *
1 point
From a scrum, the back line is running a hands play. B13 passes to B14 but B14 is at least 2 meters behind the pass and it sails into touch. What is the correct call? *
1 point
A12 kicks the ball in open play. After the ball is kicked, B8 intentionally runs into A12 who is attempting to chase the ball. What options are available to Team A? *
1 point
Required
A12 kicks the ball in open play. A14 who starts in front of A12, begins chasing the ball and does not stop when instructed. What options are available to Team B? *
1 point
Required
A7 is in front of the last foot at a ruck. The ball comes out and A7 begins moving backwards when B2 (the ball-carrier) runs 6m and A7 (who never reached the offside line) then moves forward and makes the tackle. What is the correct call? *
1 point
A kick off goes directly into the opponents' in-goal without being touched and is grounded without delay. What options are available to the non-kicking team? *
1 point
Required
A kick off goes directly into the opponents' in-goal without being touched and the defending team picks the ball up, runs closer to the uprights then grounds the ball. What options are available to the non-kicking team? *
1 point
Required
The ball is bouncing on the ground and both A14 and B11 dive onto the ball at the same time. B11 gathers the ball and stands up without releasing the ball. What is the correct call? *
1 point
A5 is tackled and goes to ground. From the ground A5 passes the ball to their teammate who is on their feet. What is the correct call? *
1 point
In a ruck, a player must not kick the ball in the direction of their opponent's goal line. *
1 point
A10 gets his hands on the ball before a ruck is formed. B13 then binds onto him and creates a ruck. A10 finally wrestles the ball free without ever letting go of it and begins running towards the oppositions' in-goal. What is the correct call? *
1 point
A maul has formed in open play. Players who leave the maul may rejoin the maul if they: *
1 point
Required
A4 comes down with the ball from a lineout. Once they hit the ground B8 wraps them up and attempts to sack them but a maul forms around the pair. The maul moves 2m towards Team B's goal line when B8 succeeds in bringing A4 to ground where the ball becomes unplayable. What is the correct call? *
1 point
The ball goes into touch and Team B attempts to take a quick throw. B9 throws the ball to B10 who is standing 7m from touch when A4 intercepts the pass 3m from touch and runs and touches the ball down in their opponents' in-goal. What is the correct call? *
1 point
In a lineout both B4 and A8 are lifted into the air. B4 uses one arm to hold down A8's arm and with the other, bats the ball to their own side. What is the correct call? *
1 point
Team B has a lineout. They have the thrower and 4 players in the lineout. Team A sets up their lineout with someone opposing the hooker 2m from touch and 2m from the line of touch, 4 players in the lineout, and a receiver 2m from the line of touch. What is the correct call? *
1 point
A penalty kick has been awarded to Team B. B10 elects to go for points and wants B1 to hold the ball for a place kick. Is this allowed? *
1 point
B10 attempts to kick a penalty goal but misses due to A4 waving his arms and yelling. The referee awards a new PK 10m from the original mark. Once the mark is made, B10 taps quickly and grounds the ball in-goal. What is the correct call? *
1 point
When does the scrum begin? *
1 point
During a scrum a player gets lifted into the air but their team has possession at the back of the scrum. What can the referee do in this situation? *
2 points
In a scrum, Team B wins possession of the ball. The ball is at the second row when B8 unbinds and picks up the ball. At that time A9 runs around the back of the scrum and tackles B8 before they can run away from the scrum. What is the correct call? *
1 point
The ball is put into a scrum and pops out behind the flanker. The flanker brings the ball back into the scrum using their foot. What is the correct call? *
1 point
Team A passes the ball back into their own in-goal area. A10 attempt to catch the ball, knocks it on, then regathers and kicks the ball over the dead ball line. What is the correct call? *
1 point
Team B is attacking and kicks the ball into Team A's in-goal. A15 regathers the kick and without leaving the in-goal area, kicks the ball over touch-in-goal. What is the correct call? *
1 point
Law 6.5.a states that "The referee is the sole judge of fact and law during a match." What else does this law say? *
1 point
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy