International Solidarity Statement
Young people deserve a bright hopeful future.

We stand together with the courageous young scholars at Yale University who have chosen to fight for their future.

The cause for which the graduate teachers are fighting does not belong to them alone. A secure living, fair benefits, a workplace free from racism and sexual harassment, and a voice in their conditions—these are the rights of all working people.

We applaud their steadfast commitment to justice in the wake of their administration’s refusal to engage in constructive dialogue.

We honor their spirit of unity, a powerful contrast to the spirit of Trump and his efforts to divide.

We call on the Yale Corporation and Yale President Peter Salovey to immediately stop their tactics of delay, to begin a constructive dialogue in keeping with the spirit of the University, to embrace the values of these young scholars and to celebrate their efforts to create a more equitable and democratic society.

Their cause is our cause. Their future is our future.

Hazel Carby
Charles C. and Dorathea S. Dilley Professor of African American Studies and American Studies, Yale University

Bill de Blasio
Mayor, New York City

Richard Blumenthal
U.S. Senator (D-CT)

Rosa DeLauro
U.S. Representative (D-CT)

Michael Denning
William R. Keanan Professor of American Studies, Yale University

Maria Elena Durazo
Vice Chair, Democratic National Committee

Keith Ellison
U.S. Representative (D-MN) and Deputy Chair, Democratic National Committee

Melissa Etheridge
Singer-Songwriter, Guitarist, and Activist

Tefere Gebre
Executive Vice President, AFL–CIO

Father Clete Kiley
Founder, Catholic Priest-Labor Initiative

Dolores Huerta
Co-Founder, National Farm Workers Association

Rabbi Jonathan D. Klein
Executive Director, Clergy and Laity United for Economic Justice: Building a Just and Sacred Society (CLUE)

Cleve Jones
LGBTQ Rights Activist and Founder, NAMES Project AIDS Memorial Quilt

Van Jones
Yale Law School, 1993

Jennifer Klein
Professor of History, Yale University

Rev. James Lawson
Strategy Committee Chair for the 1968 Memphis Sanitation Workers’ Strike

Heather McGhee
President, DEMOS

Tom Morello
Musician, Singer, Songwriter, Actor, and Political Activist

Rabbi Jack Moline
President, Interfaith Alliance

Reverend Doug Mork
President, Interfaith Worker Justice

Chris Murphy
U.S. Senator (D-CT)

Tom Perez
Chair, Democratic National Committee

Liz Shuler
Secretary-Treasurer, AFL-CIO

D. Taylor
President, UNITE HERE

Richard Trumka
President, AFL-CIO

Randi Weingarten
President, American Federation of Teachers

Dennis Williams
President, United Automobile Workers

Michael J. Wishnie
William O. Douglas Clinical Professor of Law, Yale Law School

First Name
Your answer
Last Name
Your answer
Your answer
Your answer
Email Address
Your answer
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of The Union at Yale. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Additional Terms