Maryland Poet Laureate Appearance Request Form
The Maryland State Arts Council is accepting requests for appearances that begin on or after March 1, 2019 for Maryland Poet Laureate Grace Cavalieri via this form.

Ms. Cavalieri's picture and bio for marketing materials may be found on the Poet Laureate page of the Maryland State Arts Council website:

The Poet Laureate position was formally established by the Maryland General Assembly in 1959 (Chapter 178, Acts of 1959; Code State Government Article, sec. 13-306) and authorizes the Governor to appoint a citizen of the State as Poet Laureate of Maryland.

Ten Poets Laureate have served for the State since the inception of this Act in 1959. Past Poet Laureates include (in order of service): Maria B. Coker, Vincent Godfrey Burns, Lucille Clifton, Reed Whittemore, Linda Pastan, Roland Flint, Michael Collier, Michael Glaser, Stanley Plumly, and Grace Cavalieri.


The Poet Laureate of Maryland is an honorary State position in which the individual selected will serve at the discretion of the Governor for up to a four-year term renewable by the Governor’s consent.


The Poet Laureate will provide public readings for the citizens of Maryland, ensuring that people in all geographic regions of the State have access to at least one reading during the term of service. The Poet Laureate will undertake projects that make poetry more available and accessible to citizens of Maryland of all ages. Should the Poet Laureate serve during an election year, he/she will write and read a poem specifically for the governor's inauguration. As an honorary position the Poet Laureate will not receive compensation, though limited reimbursement for expenses incurred in the performance of duties is available.


For further information regarding the Maryland Poet Laureate position please contact Keyonna Penick, Poet Laureate Liaison, at .

If you need assistance in using this form, please contact the MSAC office at 410-767-6555 or TDD/TTY: 410-333-4519

REPLIES TO THIS REQUEST may be sent from Keyonna Penick, or the Maryland Poet Laureate email, which is (please add these addresses to your safe senders list).

The Maryland State Arts Council is an agency of the Department of Business and Economic Development, Division of Tourism, Film and the Arts

Maryland State Arts Council
175 W. Ostend Street, Suite E
Baltimore, MD 21230
Voice: 410-767-6555
Fax: 410-333-1062
TDD/TTY: 410-333-4519
Web Site:

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Larry Hogan, Governor
Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor
Kelly M. Schulz, Acting Secretary, Department of Commerce
Thomas B. Riford, Assistant Secretary, Department of Commerce
Kenneth Skrzesz, Executive Director, Maryland State Arts Council


Jack Rasmussen, Chair, Montgomery County
Julie Spangler Madden, Vice-Chair, Howard County
Anne Winter West, Secretary-Treasurer, Baltimore County

Carole Alexander, Anne Arundel County
Timothy L. App, Baltimore City
Lily Bengfort, Queen Anne’s County
Zoe Charlton, Baltimore City
Jaqueline Copeland, Baltimore County
Carla Du Pree, Howard County
Senator Ronald Young, Frederick County
Shelley Morhaim, Baltimore County
Sumita Kim, Montgomery County
Joan Lyon, Garrett County
Benny Russell, Harford County
John Schratwieser, Kent County


Ken Skrzesz
Arthur Brown III
Chad Buterbaugh
Rosa Chang
Liesel Fenner
Kayla Morgan
Dana Parsons
Steven Skerritt-Davis
Laura Weiss
Emily Sollenberger
Precious Blake
Keyonna Penick
Tammy Oppel
Lillian Jacobson
Derrick Quevedo
Shaunte Roper
Amelia Rambissoon
Name of event *
Date *
Event start time *
Event end time *
Poet Laureate arrival time *
Event address *
Point of contact *
Phone number *
Email *
Notes (event run of show, parking, etc.) *
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of State of Maryland. Report Abuse