Citizen of the Year Award Nomination
The Citizen of the Year Award is presented annually to a special man or woman for outstanding contributions to the civic and business community, including the economic vitality of eastern Connecticut.

Specific Criteria:
Nominations are in no way restricted based on age, sex, race, occupation, religion, or membership in the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut, Inc. However, all things being equal, the betterment of commerce will be an added determinant in the selection process.

No candidate will be considered who is paid to perform the specific services for which he or she was nominated, unless the contribution encompassed altruism toward the community beyond the basic dictates of the job.

The number of times the same individual is nominated each year will have no bearing in the selection process. Only the achievements and contributions of the nominee will be considered. Nominations should be EXPLICIT in addressing these criteria.

There is no time limit during which the nominee’s distinguished service to the region was rendered. Accomplishments can be during the previous year, in recent years, or over a lifetime.

While the nominee does not need to be a native of eastern Connecticut, he or she must be a resident now or at the time during which the distinguished service was performed.

The Citizen of the Year Selection Committee is appointed by the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce of Eastern Connecticut. They are designated to review nominations and select an individual who is most deserving of the award.

While the committee will attempt to select a single award recipient, special conditions may be present in which dual awards may be given. This is the prerogative of the committee.

DEADLINE: January 7, 2019 (received or post-marked)

Louis Ziegler, Mohegan Tribal Housing Authority
Mary Lenzini, Executive Director, VNA of SECT
Scott Gladstone and Neil Ryan, Owners, Wireless Zone
Mitchell Etess, CEO, Mohegan Sun
Maria Miranda, Founder/Creative Director, Miranda Creative
Alice Fitzpatrick, President, Community Foundation of Eastern CT, retired
Dr. Grace S. Jones, President, Three Rivers Community College, retired

For a printable hard-copy nomination form, please visit

I have read the criteria and I hereby nominate: *
(Nominee Name)
Your answer
Nominee's Title and Company: *
If retired or otherwise not employed, please indicate.
Your answer
Address (Street, City, State, Zip): *
Your answer
Is this a home or work address?
Phone Number
Your answer
Is this a work, cell, or home number?
Email Address *
Your answer
Nomination - The qualifications for my nominee are as follows: *
Do not assume that the selection committee has any prior knowledge of your nominee's leadership accomplishments or community contributions. Please be explicit.
Your answer
By entering my name here, I submit that this information is accurate to the best of my knowledge, and that this person is deserving of consideration for the Citizen of the Year Award. *
Your answer
My Title and Company: *
Your answer
My Phone Number: *
Your answer
My Email Address: *
Your answer
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service