SMK National Campaigner Awards 2020 Nomination Form
Please read the criteria before completing the form. Deadline for submissions is 12pm Friday 13th March.

Judging will take place at the beginning of April and the Awards will be presented at a ceremony in London on Wednesday 6th May.

The judging panel will make their decision based only on the information you provide. We also reserve the right to move a nominee into another category should we feel that is more appropriate. You may enter your nominee for multiple categories, but each category will need a separate submission.

*Multiple entries for the same nominee will not increase the chance of winning in one or more categories.

To view a description of each award category, please visit

The nominee must be:

• A UK resident
• Working on a campaign based in the UK (but the focus can be local, national or global)
• Be over the age of 18 (except for the Young Persons Awards, where they can be aged 14 and over)
• Be involved with a campaign that fits within one of our categories
• Be campaigning on an issue that affects the wider community, not just one individual
• Not involved in a campaign that is offensive or discriminatory

Within our charitable objectives, SMK can recognise organisations and individuals conducting legal and effective campaigns. It is not necessary to be part of a registered charity to be nominated or win an Award. However, the Awards can only recognise campaigns which further charitable purposes and fall within the Charities Act 2011 definition of public benefit.

There are 13 charitable purposes defined by the Act and they are quite broad. A list is below and further details are available on the Charity Commission (England and Wales) website (as we are based in London this is the Commission under which we operate). They are similar to those of Scotland and Northern Ireland. If having read this information carefully you are still unsure if it is appropriate to apply, please contact us and a member of staff will be happy to discuss this with you. In these circumstances, please make sure you ring us well before the deadline for applications.

The 13 descriptions of purposes listed in the Charities Act (England and Wales) are:

1. the prevention or relief of poverty
2. the advancement of education
3. the advancement of religion
4. the advancement of health or the saving of lives
5. the advancement of citizenship or community development
6. the advancement of the arts, culture, heritage or science
7. the advancement of amateur sport
8. the advancement of human rights, conflict resolution or reconciliation or the promotion of religious or racial harmony or equality and diversity
9. the advancement of environmental protection or improvement
10. the relief of those in need, by reason of youth, age, ill-health, disability, financial hardship or other disadvantage
11. the advancement of animal welfare
12. the promotion of the efficiency of the armed forces of the Crown, or of the efficiency of the police, fire and rescue services or ambulance services
13. any other purposes currently recognised as charitable or which can be recognised as charitable by analogy to, or within the spirit of, purposes falling within (a) to (l) or any other purpose recognised as charitable under the law of England and Wales

Email address *
Which Award is the nomination for? *
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy