Labour should close all migrant detention centres - please sign
Please join us in signing this open letter, organised by the Labour Campaign for Free Movement

As Labour and trade union members and supporters, we welcome Shadow Home Secretary Diane Abbott’s announcement that a Labour government would close two detention centres and end indefinite detention. We are campaigning to elect a Labour government that can make this a reality, and call for Labour to extend this pledge to commit to, and campaign for, the closure of all of the UK’s migrant detention centres.

Sexual abuse, racist violence and inadequate healthcare are rife in these centres, and compound the traumas that compelled many detainees to seek refuge here in the first place. The recent shocking revelation that 56% of detainees are suicidal, seriously ill or victims of torture – people who the Home Office’s own rules state should not normally be detained – and that 84% do not know how long they are being detained for, should be the final straw. A system that, every year, imprisons up to 30,000 people who have committed no crime while the government decides what to do with them, is an affront to socialist Labour values of democracy, justice and freedom. As part of our commitment to ending the Tories’ hostile environment, it is up to Labour to end this barbarity.

Initial signatories:
Julie Ward MEP
Ronnie Draper, BFAWU General Secretary
Manuel Cortes, TSSA General Secretary
Colin O'Driscoll, Labour International Co-Chair
Ian Hodson, BFAWU President
Mike Jackson, Islington South & Finsbury CLP, Unite Community, former Secretary of Lesbians & Gay Men Support the Miners
Joshua Bennett Lovell, Hertfordshire County Councillor, Stevenage CLP, UCU
Eve McQuillan, Tower Hamlets Borough Councillor, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, Unite
Sarah-Jane Potter, Stevenage Borough Councillor, Stevenage CLP, TSSA Euston Branch Secretary
Gabriela Salva Macallan, Tower Hamlets Borough Councillor, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, Unite
Puru Miah, Tower Hamlets Borough Councillor, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, Unite
Michael Chessum, Another Europe Is Possible National Organiser
Nicholas Dearden, Tower Hamlets CLP, Global Justice Now Director, Unite
Maya Goodfellow, Writer
Rhian Keyse, Exeter CLP, Exeter UCU Acting President
Ruth Cashman, Lambeth Unison Joint Secretary & Wandsworth Momentum Co-Chair
Sabrina Huck, Wandsworth Momentum Co-Chair, Wandsworth Labour LCF, Tooting CLP, Unite
Daniel Randall, Assistant Chair, RMT Bakerloo Line branch
Ed Whitby, Newcastle East CLP, Newcastle City Unison Labour Link Officer
Alex Stuart, Guildford CLP Youth Officer, Surrey Labour Students Secretary
Ian Townson, Secretary, Lambeth & Southwark Unite Community
Martha Shearer, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, UCU
Mark Crawford, East Ham CLP, PCS
Daniel Davison-Vecchione, Cambridge CLP, UCU
Steven Carver, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, Unite Community
Jean Blaylock, Vauxhall CLP, Unite
Alena Ivanova, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP, Unite
Luke Cooper, Islington South & Finsbury CLP, UCU
Tom Zagoria, Poplar & Limehouse CLP, Island Gardens branch fundraising officer, BFAWU, PCS, Unite
Eddie Hornby, Stevenage CLP,
John Gardner, Stevenage CLP, Eastern Region Board Member, ex-ASTMS
Georgine Whiting, Stevenage CLP, Unison
Stephen Whiting, Stevenage CLP, Unite
Cris Clark, Stevenage CLP
Gerry Byrne, Tynemouth CLP
Charli Langford, Bethnal Green & Bow CLP
Sandy Paul, Poplar & Limehouse CLP, Unite
Vijay Jackson, Edinburgh Central CLP Youth and Students Officer, Momentum Edinburgh Treasurer, Scottish Labour Young Socialists Communications Officer, Unite Community
Tanis Towse, GMB
Wendy Hame-Cooke
David Cooke
Simon Neumaier, Oxford CLP
Hajera Begum, Tower Hamlets CLP
Ana Oppenheim, Hornsey & Wood Green Young Labour Campaigns Officer
Ben Towse, Labour Campaign for Free Movement
Andy Forse, Oxford East CLP
Matt Walton, Stevenage CLP, Unite
Herbert Ekitok
Rachel Remedios, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Unite
Nick Long, Unite 1183
Dave Scott, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Unite Community
Peter Redfern, CWU
Joe Attard, Camberwell and Peckham CLP, UCU
Barry Slapp, Eltham CLP, Secretary of Greenwich, Lewisham & Bexley Unite Community
Marcela Pizarro, Lewisham Deptford CLP BAME group chair
Yathavan Chitsebesan, Lewisham Deptford CLP
Steve Griffith, Lewisham Deptford CLP BAME group
Sacha Ismail, Editor of The Clarion, Unite
Mike Poku, Enfield North CLP, Unite
Gary Cummins, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Lewisham Unity Secretary
Alice Troy-Donovan, Lewisham East CLP
Tomas Kaspar, Lewisham Deptford CLP, UCU
Georgia Brown
Jonny Coote, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Unison
Stef Newton, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Unite
Urte Macikene, Dulwich & West Norwood CLP Youth Officer, Unite
Andy Reid, PCS
Ciaran Donnelly, Unison Rep
Leo Robinson, Lewisham Deptford CLP, Unite

Sign in to Google to save your progress. Learn more
First name *
Last name *
Email address *
Name of the local Labour Party you belong to
Your trade union
Labour/union roles, or any other role or organisation you'd like noted in your signature
By signing this you are agreeing to be contacted by the Labour Campaign for Free Movement in accordance with our privacy policy at
Clear form
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy