Cotyledon House
Join our cozy communal home! We are looking for a long-term member interested in income sharing, but will accept a short-term collective member, for a room available February 1st.
If you are interested, read on about our house and continue to complete the questionnaire below. (Photos of our home are among the questionnaire.)
We receive many applications, and we appreciate you putting thought and care into your answers! We know this isn't the best way to get to know someone... but we're working with the tools we have to learn as much as we can and make informed decisions.

Please submit your applications ASAP, we will be contacting people as the forms roll in!

ABOUT US:
Cotyledon is a egalitarian, income-sharing residential community, dedicated to environmental and food justice, radical sharing, personal growth and accountability, clear communication, and simple, cooperative living. We strive to practice equitable physical and emotional labor, and consensus-based decision making. We are currently a small group in a 4 bedroom home based in Astoria, Queens, but we have a mid-term plan to grow and move into a larger home, staying close to Western Queens.
After organizing together since 2015, we recently moved in together. We are queer friendly, age diverse, and welcome POC and all genders. While we do not bring parties home, we are organizers and frequently host meetings and social gatherings, often around shared meals. We participate with various urban farms and food justice groups in Western Queens. We also enjoy listening to music, playing games and going on outings together.
Roommate #1 - A 66 year old white male bookworm, compost fanatic, systems devotee, and community networker. Technically retired but excited to be involved in many projects. Community is my passion.
Roommate #2.0 - A funky woman in her mid-forties who loves cooking for folx, dancing, biking, being outdoors and, although I can be quite serious at times, playing the jester. My passions lie in food sovereignty, mushroom growing, gardening and bringing slow-medicine into our everyday lives. I help support our community working odd jobs, giving massages and occasionally teaching workshops on mushroom cultivation.
Roommate #3 - Almost 40 y/o white male. Works various gigs offering environmental education, volunteers as nonprofit leader and urban farmer. Enjoys bike rides, dancing, dumpster diving and participating with a local artist collective. Down-shifting towards a slower, contemplative life.

YOU:
Progressive (if not radical) and cooperatively minded. A good communicator and listener. You are interested (if not experienced) in living communally. This doesn't mean you have to be the most social person out there! but you're responsible, respectful, interested in participating in the community in some way (i.e. not simply looking for a room). You're also financially stable, however you make that happen. You're compassionate and non-judgmental. You're of any gender/sex/sexuality/race/ethnicity/religion, and you respect those who align differently along those (and all) categories.

COMMUNAL LIVING
We are an income-sharing, egalitarian residence, and this differs from other collective houses (which can sometimes mean nothing more than sharing a big space).… But what does it mean? Basically, we pool the products of our labor, including monetary income, salvaged food, clothes, etc. helping insulate us from the corrosive and isolating effects of capitalism. Although scary to get into, once established, income sharing makes everything else we are trying to do easier. From each according to their ability, to each according to their need.
As for the term egalitarian: Let go of the idea of justice and deserving. We’re making it all up anyway. What matters is that we’re being taken care of and that so is everyone else. Liberty, equality, community. By basing our economy on equal access to resources rather than equal distribution of resources we celebrate and support differences and eliminate a lot of paperwork on our way to our post-scarcity utopia.
The three of us who are already income-resource-sharing meet every week, usually over dinner (or weekend brunch), to discuss and organize that aspect of our living agreements and general household concerns, norms and ideas. Moving in as a non-income sharing participant, we ask that you commit to attend a house meeting every other week as a participant, while the alternate week you are welcome to observe, especially if radical sharing is of interest to you. We also want to be transparent so you understand that, although we are consensus based, the income-sharing group may need to make some decisions that could impact you.
While we have yet to establish a schedule of household chores and responsibilities, it will be expected that you participate in the work of the house which could also include assisting us in developing communal norms and standards.

THE HOUSE & NEIGHBORHOOD:
Located at 21st Street and 30th AVENUE on the Astoria/LIC border, a short walk to grocery stores, post office, laundry, restaurants, banks, healthcare and cultural amenities including libraries, the waterfront, Socrates Sculpture Park, Rainey Park, Hallet’s Cove, Two Coves Community Garden, Noguchi Museum, Welling Court Mural Project, Boys and Girls Club, Astoria Park (& pool) and Hellgate Farm (where we bring our compost).
Transportation: Express bus at the doorsteps two stops to the F train and easy access to the W & N trains. Approximately 25 minutes to midtown transfers. Plus the NYC Ferry, Astoria route is 4 blocks away.
We share the basement and ground floor of a row-house (not a large apartment building) with 4 bedrooms and 1-½ bathrooms. A full, eat-in kitchen, separate and roomy living room, plus a bonus room downstairs that we are currently utilizing as a craft room and for visitor accommodations.

ROOM, RENT & EXPENSES:
Unfurnished (but we could provide shelving and/or a bed upon request) 14’x8-½’ and a closet with a south facing window. A wonderful blank slate!
Monthly cost: $950 (includes utilities!)
Move in cost (1st and last month's rent): $1900
Couples are welcome, see question below.
RESTRICTIONS: Pets are negotiable, no smoking indoors.


Email address *
Name *
First and last name
Your answer
Nickname \ Alias
Your answer
Gender pronouns
Your answer
Email *
Your answer
Phone number *
Your answer
Why are you attracted to communal living? Have you ever lived communally, in a cooperative house or intentional community before? If not, why do you believe this type of living arrangement would be good for you? *
Your answer
Who are you? How do you identify (i.e. gender, race, sexuality, class, vocation, etc… however you want to answer this question)? How does your identity shape the way you live with others and define your needs in creating a positive home life? *
Your answer
One important and accessible way to share is through collective food purchasing. We purchase/eat/cook communally. This means a monthly budget, dinner nights, food being cooked in advance so you can easily eat something/take to go. The cost is $100 per person, per month (although we are still fine tuning our budget). Are you able/prepared to take part in this? What are your additional thoughts on food? Restrictions? Preferences? *
Your answer
Short hall to Kitchen... Door on left is bedroom available
Living in NYC requires $ -- What is your source of income? Monthly costs are $950 include the following: Rent ($800), utilities (electric, heat, internet; around $50/month), and food share ($100 per month). *
Your answer
Are you able to attend weekly house meetings? Income sharing members meet weekly. Non-income sharing members attend every other week at a minimum (2-3x/month). We currently have Wednesday dinner meetings from 7-9PM. We are open to picking a new time to accommodate everyone's schedules. *
We are still building agreements and defining norms at our budding commune. We are in the process of developing and identifying household chores and responsibilities. While these are not yet defined, we expect everyone to participate once they are. Do you want to help create these or simply plug in once they are in place? What excites you about joining us at this formative moment? What concerns might you have? *
Your answer
We live together and often work on projects and campaigns outside of the house together. We appreciate people who are able to communicate effectively around their time, capacity and needs. Can you describe a situation, whether in a living space or another context, where you were held accountable to something you committed to doing? How did you respond?
Your answer
Our ultimate goal is to find more long-term income-sharing members, however, we are open to a short-term (1-3 months) non-income sharing member. What are your current plans on how long you'd like to live here/in NYC? How might this house fit into your short- and long-term plans?
Your answer
Bedroom available (present occupier's things)
Bedroom available (present occupier's things)
Are you prepared to pay first and last month rent, utilities and food share upon move-in? Rent + Utilities + Food = $950/month x2 = $1900 *
Bedroom available (present occupier's things)
Bedroom available (present occupier's things)
Are you a couple? An additional $400/month ($800 at move-in) will apply. *
What are your interests? What do you do in your free time? What causes have you been involved in/interested in? What are you passionate about?
Your answer
Doorway to basement from LvRm
We do not currently have pets. Do you have a pet you want to bring to the house? Tell us about your animal. Are you allergic or averse to pets? Let us know.
Your answer
Downstairs hallway, closets and 2 bedrooms
Downstairs 1/2 bath
Do you have any special needs? What sort of support do you want, need and/or expect from your housemates? *
Your answer
Are you familiar with and have you participated in anti-oppression, non-violent communication, conflict resolution work and/or learning? What are some of your experiences? *
Your answer
What have we forgot? What else do you want to share? Fill in this space however you want!
Your answer
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
reCAPTCHA
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Additional Terms