Aspire's Teaching Online in Fall 2020 Short Course
******NOTE: This short course has reached its maximum cap of participants, so we are no longer accepting new registrations. If you would like to be waitlisted or have interest in similar future offerings, you may still complete the form below.******

Join the NSF INCLUDES Aspire Alliance's National Change Team for our short course: Teaching Online in Fall 2020: How to design and run an effective and equitable online course.

This short course will walk instructors through the process of designing an online course that is effective, equitable and inclusive. It will focus on designing content and choosing pedagogy for both synchronous and asynchronous formats, and will engage participants through both types of sessions. The course will address the basics of online and inclusive pedagogy. Over the three weeks, participants will design their own online course materials.

Synchronous sessions will be held: 1:00-2:30 pm PT / 2:00-3:30 pm MT / 3:00-4:30 pm CT / 4:00-5:30 pm ET (United States time zones) on the following dates:

Session #1 - Tuesday, July 21st
Session #2 - Thursday, July 23rd
Sessions #3 & 4 - ASYNCHRONOUS - week of July 27th
Session #5 - Tuesday, August 4th
Session #6 - Thursday, August 6th

As a result of participating in this short course, participants will be able to:
- Describe key principles of effective online pedagogy;
- Apply the process of backward design to both synchronous and asynchronous online teaching and learning environments;
- Experience strategies and approaches for promoting inclusion and equity in the online setting;
- Navigate online tools such as asynchronous course management systems (e.g., Moodle) as well as synchronous meeting tools (e.g., Blackboard Collaborate Ultra); and
- Create their own materials for an upcoming online course.

Name
Email
Institution
Department
Role
We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please let us know so that we may make the necessary accommodations:
Please share any additional comments:
A Note about session recordings
Please note that we will be making session materials, including copies of class session recordings, available to participants, and that by registering you are providing your permission to be included. When we make a recording from BBC Ultra, here is what is visible / audible versus not:

- visible: anonymous whiteboard comments
- audible: facilitator(s) calling on a participant by their first name
- audible: participant audio (if someone chooses to speak on mic)

NOT participant video
NOT participant chat comments
NOT participant full names
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of UW-Madison G Suite. Report Abuse