Referee Quiz - February 2017
Welcome to the Potomac Rugby Referee Society's February Law Quiz. All questions assume the 15's version of the game unless otherwise stated. After you submit your answers you will be able to see your score. You will also have the ability to take the quiz a 2nd time.

Questions/Comments? Contact Training Officer, Ken Fraine (kenfraine@verizon.net) or leave them in the "Comments" section below.

Email address
Your answer
1. At a scrum, the defending scrumhalf may take up which of the following positions before the ball is thrown in (check all that apply): *
1 point
Required
2. The referee should manage many aspects of lineout infringements (i.e., formation, closing the gap, ball not traveling 5m, early jump, etc.) by resetting rather than penalizing, unless the infringement substantially benefits the offending team, or is continually repeated. *
1 point
3. At a lineout, the RED team is awarded a FK because the defending BLUE team had too many players in the lineout. What are the choices for the RED captain? (Check all that apply.) *
1 point
Required
4. A maul is immediately formed by the BLACK team at a lineout. The receiver, still in possession of the ball, slides back to the rear of the maul while still in contact with other BLACK players in the maul and the maul begins to move forward. What is the correct action by the referee? *
1 point
Required
5. At a restart kick after a score, the receiver (from the non-kicking team) catches the ball in flight 2m in front of the 10m line with one foot in touch and the other in the field of play. Which of the following are options (check all that apply)? *
1 point
Required
6. It's a very windy day along the Potomac River. A drop-out is taken by the GREY team. As the ball is in the air it crosses the 22m line, but is blown back into the 22 where it lands and then bounces several times towards the GREY goal line. The ball continues to bounce into the in-goal and eventually crosses the touch in goal line. What is the correct call? *
1 point
7. BLACK is awarded a FK and their scrumhalf drops the ball onto his foot at the mark and it bounces forward. The SH then reaches down to pick up the ball and then passes it. What is the correct call? *
1 point
8. The RED team is in possession of the ball and the ball carrier accidentally runs into the referee, but continues to play. No advantage was gained by the RED team or the defending WHITE team. What should the referee do? *
1 point
9. GOLD 2 takes a position directly over tackled GOLD 15 and the ball is under his rear leg, a ruck is declared by the referee due to contact with a BLUE arriving player. GOLD 9 arrives from behind and clearly places one then two hands on the ball. BLUE 5 who was standing onside behind the hindmost foot from his side of the ruck immediately moves forward and tackles GOLD 9. How does the referee adjudicate this? *
1 point
10. A player may wear World Rugby approved protective eyewear (aka, "Rugby Goggles") at all levels except for Youth. *
1 point
BONUS. At the coin toss, which of the following is the correct way to determine who kicks and receives. *
1 point
COMMENTS:
Your answer
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service