TCG: 2020 Alan Schneider Director Award Nomination Form
The deadline for submitting the Online Nomination Form is Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 12:00 PM Eastern Time.

The Alan Schneider Director Award was established in honor of Alan Schneider's significant contribution to theatre in the U.S. and his lifelong commitment to the development of career opportunities for freelance directors.

The award is designed to identify and assist exceptionally talented mid-career freelance directors whose achievements have been demonstrated through work in specific U.S. regions or territories, but who may not be known more widely or recognized nationally. Previous Alan Schneider Award recipients were May Adrales, Mark Brokaw, Peter C. Brosius, Bart DeLorenzo, Kyle Donnelly, Michael John Garcés, Henry Godinez, Anne Kauffman, Nancy Keystone, Roberta Levitow, Charles Newell, Roman Paska, Mary B. Robinson, David Saint, Joel Sass, Kimberly Senior, Liesl Tommy and Darko Tresnjak.

Nominations are welcome from any professional in the arts (or related fields) who has a working knowledge of a theatre director's role and responsibilities. Refer to the eligibility requirements and selection criteria below before selecting a candidate.

Please note: Nominators are limited to submitting one nomination.

Only nominated candidates may apply for the Alan Schneider Director Award. Eligible nominees must be:

• Freelance, mid-career theatre directors with a commitment to work in the not-for profit
professional theatre;
• Able to illustrate a history of continual freelance work as a director within a specific U.S.
region or territory;
• Able to show their commitment to freelance directing. Artistic directors are not eligible,
but other artists who hold full-time positions within artistic organizations are eligible.

The Alan Schneider Director Award recipient is chosen by an independent selection panel of theatre professionals from across the U.S. Nominees interested in applying will be asked to submit material describing the nature of their work and their artistic goals. All materials, including the nominee’s application, letters of recommendation and the original nomination form, will be forwarded to a preliminary panel, which will choose the finalists to be interviewed.

In choosing the recipient, the panelists will consider the following set of criteria:

• A clearly defined artistic voice;
• Directing skills, talent and professional experience;
• Potential for future excellence;
• Clear and appropriate use of funds;
• Commitment to a career as a freelance director in the not-for-profit professional theatre;
• Need for national visibility provided by the award.

The award will be presented during the TCG National Conference on June 4 - 6, 2020 in Phoenix, AZ. The recipient must be present at the Conference to receive the award. The recipient will receive $7,500 which may be used for travel, research or other activities specifically focused on the development of their directing craft and career.

More information is available at:

If you have any questions, please contact Joshua Smalley, artistic & international programs associate, at
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of Theatre Communications Group. Report Abuse