Call for the release of Louisa Hanoune
We learnt about the committal order and the incarceration of Louisa Hanoune, General Secretary of the Workers' Party of Algeria, by the military court of Blida, on May 9th. She had gone to a simple summons of an examining magistrate to be heard as a witness.
We do not understand this arbitrary arrest that gives rise to legitimate emotion.
Louisa Hanoune has been known everywhere and for years for her stance and her uncompromising fight in defence of democracy, freedoms, women's rights and always on the side of the people and the oppressed.
Whether one agrees with her political positions or not, nothing can justify her detention.
We demand her immediate release.

First endorsements (all in a personal capacity):
Christina Paine, Branch Secretary of London Metropolian University and UCU NEC, Ruth Appleton, Camden Momentum, Project Co-ordinator, Santé Refugee Mental Health Access Project, Andy Bain, Communist Party of Britain North London Chair, Raymond Howard, Jim Smith, Cristel Amiss, Women of Colour/Global Women Strike, Clara Paillard, President of PCS union Culture Group, UK Labour Party, Susan Campbell, Labour Party GC member, Unite Union member,Camden Momentum member, Owen Holland, Chair of Camden Momentum,Giorgio Riva, Peter Farrell, UNITE, Richard Worth, Torbay and South Devon Socialist Party, Camilla Royle, Department of Geography, KCL, Anne Alexander, Co-editor, Middle East Solidarity magazine, Charlie Kimber, Editor, Socialist Worker (UK), Sean Brogan, Socialist Party , Chair of UNITE Community South Devon , Vice President Exeter Trades Council, Alex Moore, Socialist Party (UK and Wales) Torbay, Peter Wickenden, Labour Party member, UNITE union member, Camden Momentum, Joanne O’Brien, NUJ, Mike Gard, UNITE UNION, Michael Hogan, Wavertree Labour Party and Unison, Daniel Douglas Williamson, PCS trade union UK Industrial Officer and Socialist Party Scotland member, Bowen Whiteoak, UNITE Community Coventry and Warwickshire Equalities officer, Alan Bennett, PCS Branch Secretary, Alex Moore, Plymouth District National Education Union, Heather Rawling, NEU, David Jones, UNITE Trade union, John Hamilton, Lewisham People Before Profit, Prof. Haim Bresheeth, Ian Morris, Ronnie Draper, Bakers Food and Allied Workers Union (BFAWU), Diane Pearson, Labour Party member, Maure Briggs, Corrado Topi, Rosalind Austin, Pete Firmin, Admin Sec, Labour Representation Committee, Ruth Werbiski Dutton, Sean Wallis, UCL UCU branch president, UCU NEC member, Ian Allinson, President of Manchester TUC, B. Weightman, EIS, Michael Szpakowski, Branch chair of Writtle University College UCU, Stephen Oren, Adam Cochrane, CWU, Jonathan Bloch, Author, Leo Zeilig, Review Of African Political Economy, Marion Hersh, UCU, Dr Anna Livingstone, member of Unite the Union and the British Medical Association, Kathrin Fischer, Queen Mary University of London, Nita Sanghera, UCU President Elect, Roshan Dadoo, Palestine Solidarity Campaign, Chryl Abrahams, Lesley McGorrigan, UCU NEC member, Karen Pfeifer, Northampton, Ian Hodson, National President BFAWU, Heike Schaumberg, UCU UoR branch Committee member, Ghada Karmi, Palestinian doctor, activist, academic and writer, Mike Vine, Grant Buttars, UCU Edinburgh (branch President), Paul Grist, NEU, Karin Lesnik-Oberstein, UCU Equality Officer, University of Reading, Mr. Ian Busby, City and Islington College (10000), Gerry Downing, Socialist Fight, Ron Graves, Peterborough Trades Union Council (President), Martin Ralph, International Socialist League, Reza Fiyouzat, Educator, Independent Writer, Sarah Morken, Sheila Amrouche, NEU Leiwisham (retired), Melani Schroeter, University of Reading (UCU), Timothy Close, world citizen, Duncan Morrison, Lewisham NEU, Andy Wynne, Treasurer, Leicester West Labour Party, Quijano Alonso, retired, Seth Uzman, UCU SOAS Branch, Colin Fancy, Unite, Lou Hayton, UNISON, John Walker, Oxford Trades Council, Ole Wiedenmann, UCU, University of Essex, Sian Blackwood-Carlyle, NEU, Kim Knappett, NEU Joint National President, Lea Bonnell, NEU Lewisham District Secretary, Eleanor Davies, NEU Lewisham President, Oliver Pereira, NEU Lewisham Health & Safety, James Kerr, NEU Lewisham Committee, Jade Baker, NEU Lewisham President Elect, Samuel Addo, NEU Lewisham, school rep, Silvia D Barber, NEU Lewisham Committee Member, Cleo Lewis, NEU Lewisham Joint Equalities Officer, Kim Foster, NEU Lewisham Committee Member, Anna Livingstone, Tower Hamlets BMA, Timothy Roby, Miriam Scharf, Newham NEU International Solidarity Officer, Terry Brough, Unite the Union and Labour Party (personal capacity), Catherine Miller, Unison, Mark Hollinrake, PCS shop steward, Green Party branch chair, Ruth WERBISKI Dutton, David Wand, Nottingham City UNISON.
Bakers Food and Allied Workers Union (BFAWU)
National Education Union (NEU)
University and College Union (UCU) London Met., UCU London Region, UCU Anti-casualisation Committee
TUC International Affairs
SERTUC Creative and Leisure Industries committee
Independent Workers of Great Britain (IWGB)
Barnet Trades Council
Plymouth District NEU
Solidarity with MENA workers network:
Review Of African Political Economy
Email address *
I endorse publicly this call for the immediate release of Louisa Hanoune *
Full Name (First name and Surname) *
Your answer
Organisation (Capacity) *
Your answer
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy