Mary Hartman Oregon Journalism Teacher of the Year
Email address *
The Oregon High School Journalism Teacher of the Year award is open to any active journalism teacher and/or publications adviser in an Oregon public or private high school.
Nominations are accepted from principals, professional journalists, fellow teachers, or students. Individuals may also self-nominate. The selection will be made by representatives from the Oregon Journalism Education Association, Northwest Scholastic Press Association, the Oregon School of Journalism and Communication faculty and Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association.

The award is named for Mary Hartman, a University of Oregon Journalism School faculty member and former director of Oregon Scholastic Press. The winner receives a $500 cash award which is paid by an endowment from the Hartman family. Members schools must be a member of both NWSP and OJEA.

Deadline February 15, 2019
Name of person submitting form *
I am a: *
Nominee Information:
Teacher’s name: *
Name of school: *
School address: *
School phone number: *
Adviser e-mail address: *
Principal’s name and e-mail address: *
Please select the journalism related course the nominee teaches. *
How many years he/she taught journalism classes? *
Student publication Twitter handle/username:
Please submit a written statement that explains the reasoning behind your nomination.
This statement should address the following topics if applicable:
• The nominee’s non-teaching background in journalism.
• Any awards won by the publications or students during the nominee’s tenure.
• Any personal recognition or awards he/she has won as a teacher and/or adviser.
• Any articles published about scholastic journalism by the nominee.
• How the nominee has improved the journalism program at his/her school.
• Any experience the nominee has had regarding protecting student press rights.
• Any other additional comments regarding the nominee’s approach to teaching journalism.
Submit written statement here: *
1) Media Samples. Please submit two issues of the school newspaper, one copy of the most recent yearbook, a tape or DVD of two broadcasts or a reference to an online edition.
NEWSPAPER: Please submit link to online library or a PDF file of two issues from the past year.
YEARBOOK: Please submit a PDF file that includes the cover, ten (10) spreads from the past year.
BROADCASTS: Please submit a link to two broadcasts from the past year.

Questions: Email Brian Eriksen at

Submit files here: *
2) Letters of recommendation. Two to five letters of recommendation from teachers, administrators, students, local professionals or community members who know the nominee’s work.
Submit files here: *
Deadline February 15, 2019
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. - Terms of Service