2021 Seaside Fire & Rescue Burn Permit
-NO BURNING AFTER DARK except recreational campfires.
-YARD DEBRIS BURNING ONLY inside of the City Limits.
-All burning shall be attended continuously. You must have your permit on site and available while burning.
-Water and fire tool shall be readily available while burning.
-A complaint of smoke from your fire will be investigated and may result in the extinguishment of the fire by the
authority of the Fire Chief. Repeated complaints or disregard from the rules may result in your permit being
-Burning shall be at least ten (10) feet from all combustible structures.
-The Fire Department may inspect burn piles at any time throughout the year to verify size is adequate for safety.
-The Oregon Department of Forestry mandates restrictions during fire season and during periods of extreme
-During Fire season: Only burn barrels with ¼ inch screens are allowed from Sunrise to 10am unless in a full ban.
-For up-to-date fire information find us on Facebook or call 503.738.5420 Extension #5.
-Is “Any open fire used for cooking, personal warmth, lighting, ceremonial or aesthetic purposes that is hand built
and that is not associated with any debris disposal activities. ORS 477.001
-No permit is required or issued in Seaside but there are some guidelines:
-Someone must be with the fire while burning and it must extinguished before leaving.
-They are allowed at campsites, personal residences, and on beaches.
-Recreational fires need to be 10 feet away from any structure.
-Clear all combustibles (brush, grass, etc.) 5 feet away and 10 feet above the fire.
-Maximum fire size is 3 feet in diameter and 2 feet in height.
-Fire pit size is a max of 4 feet in diameter and the pit must be a minimum of 12 inches high.
-Recreational fires may be banned during periods of extreme fire conditions.
BURNING ON THE BEACH :
-Max size is 3 feet by 3 feet in dimension. Larger fires require an Oregon State Parks permit.
-Must be in open sand, a minimum of 25 feet away from dune grass (50 feet during fire season).
-Only natural, untreated wood and paper may be burned. You cannot burn driftwood.
-Burning pallets or any metal, nails, glass, or plastics is not allowed.
-Do not use gasoline or petroleum products to start your fire.
-Do not leave your fire unattended and when you’re done Do Not Cover your fire with sand, instead spread out the
coals and douse with water.
BURNING OUTSIDE OF THE CITY, IN THE DISTRICT
-Domestic (household waste such as paper, cardboard, clothing) and yard debris (wood, needle, leaf materials
from tree shrubs or plants) burning is allowed with this permit.
-During the summer district residents must also obtain a permit from ODF: 503.325.5451
-Land regulated by ODF for timber harvest must have a permit from ODF for slash burning.
-A DEQ permit is required for all other burning, including: Industrial, Commercial, Construction, Demolition or
Slash burning. 503-229-5600
Answer questions below to complete your burn permit.
Select Which Apply:
By checking the box below I acknowledge that I am aware of the regulations and agree to extinguish any fire when so ordered by any Seaside Fire & Rescue Representative, Oregon Department of Forestry Official or any law enforcement official. This permit does not relieve me from responsibility of fire damage as a result of unsafe burning.
Remember to call 503-738-6311 prior to burning for the day.
A copy of your responses will be emailed to the address you provided.
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google.
Terms of Service