Reading Circle: Founding Potentials and Philosophies of the American Project
As we enter a new voting season, it is an excellent time to return to the founding documents of the American project in order to discuss, analyze, and interrogate the principles upon which the United States of America were founded.

The founding documents we will be working with each week will be the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederacy, United States Constitution and Bill of Rights, and all 85 Federalist papers.

Instead of discussing current trends in politics, whether progressive, conservative, or liberal, this group will focus on the principles and philosophies implanted in the actual documents, discussing what they say rather than how they have interpreted since being written. In this effort, we will be doing our own interpretations, but my hope is to have the time and space to talk about what the documents actually say and what those words mean—positively and negatively.

Members of the Reading Circle will be able to use these texts in whatever form they have. Personally, I will be using online versions for the first two weeks and then reading from the Penguin Classics edition of The Federalist Papers. Various forms of these publications are welcome, though, since other publishing houses provide different footnotes and insights into the text that members of the group can bring to the Reading Circle.

Saturdays, September 19, 2020 to October 31, 2020
Pacific time: 10 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Mountain time: 11 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Central time: 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.
Eastern time: 1 p.m. to 2 p.m.

September 19, Week 1: Introductions, Declaration of Independence

September 26, Week 2: Articles of Confederation and the U.S. Constitution

October 3, Week 3: Federalist 1–22 (will most likely be rescheduled)

October 10, Week 4: Federalist 23–46

October 17, Week 5: Federalist 47–66

October 24, Week 6: Federalist 67–85

October 31, Week 7: Conclusion (might be rescheduled)

The Reading Circle will be capped at fifteen (15) participants.
Name *
Pronouns
If not provided, I will address you with the neutral English they/them pronouns when emailing.
Email *
Why do you want to join this Reading Circle? *
Will you be able to make it to each meeting? *
If you won't be able to attend each meeting, please let us know how many you might need to miss. (Note: Missing a few meetings does not automatically disqualify you from being accepted.)
Are you comfortable recapping an article or chapter? *
If not chosen for this Reading Circle, would you be interested in future discussions? *
Any thoughts, questions, or worries about this group?
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy