Referee Quiz - The Holiday Scrum - 2016
Welcome to the Potomac Rugby Referee Society's Law Quiz - The Holiday Scrum. All questions assume the 15's version of the game with no variations unless otherwise specified. The answers are to the letter of the law and not geared towards game management, again unless otherwise specified. After you submit your answers you will be able to see your score and an explanation for each answer. You will also have the ability to take the quiz a 2nd time. Please direct all questions, comments or suggestions for future quizzes to our Training Officer, Ken Fraine (kenfraine@verizon.net or @rugby_ref).
Email address
Your answer
1. RED has the scrum (e.g., their throw in) 5m out from the WHITE goal line. The RED hooker wins the scrum and RED drives WHITE towards their goal line. Just before the ball reaches the goal line and with the ball under her feet, RED 8 unbinds from the scrum, gently kicks the ball forward with her foot, and places her hand on the ball just as it crosses the goal line. What does the correct call by the referee? *
1 point
2. BLACK is awarded the scrum and throws in. BLACK 2 wins the hook and the ball is moved to BLACK 8, the ball is playable by BLACK 9. Prior to the ball leaving the scrum, GOLD 3 lifts up BLACK 1. The referee *
1 point
3. BLUE is awarded the scrum and throws in. The RED team drives before the ball is thrown in and BLUE is awarded a FK. Two scrums later the same offense by RED occurs. The referee should *
1 point
4. After the "crouch" call, the referee must ensure that (check all that apply) *
1 point
Required
5. In which of the following scenarios is the ball out of the scrum (assuming no penalties)? *
1 point
Required
6. Props are allowed to change the bind on their opponents after engagement as long as it remains legal. *
1 point
7. BLUE 9 throws in the ball at the scrum, but the RED 2 wins the hook. RED 9 moves to behind RED 8 to get in position to play the ball. BLUE 9 follows RED 9 and moves into a defensive position between RED 7 and RED 8, places one foot beyond the ball, but does not interfere with RED 9 as he picks up and throws the ball to RED 10. What is the correct call by the referee? *
1 point
8. USA 7s pool play, RSA vs. Argentina: RSA scrumhalf throws in the ball at a scrum, ARG hooker strikes the ball in the direction of RSA's goal line. The referee *
1 point
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service