Every year a small number of students will "Opt out" of Directory Information, which includes the course(s) they are enrolled in. Instructors can allow students to view users in other sections or limit them to only view users in the same section *
When cross-listing sections in Canvas, students have the potential to interact online with students in other sections. This is not an issue unless they have opted out of Directory Information. Keep in mind that if you have a student raise an issue with this once assignment submissions have been made, you will not be able to de-cross-list your sections. You will now need to create differentiated assignments for anything that has the potential to violate FERPA and/or follow the Canvas guide below to limit sections from interacting with each other.(see corresponding Canvas guide:
http://bit.ly/3qe5VCJ). Section names do not change when they are cross-listed; the section is just moved to another course.