Artist Contingent: Climate Strike
We, the undersigned artists and arts workers, offer our support and stand together with striking students to call for immediate political action to address climate change and add our voices to the call for climate justice.

On May 3, 2019, artists across Australia strike in solidarity with the global climate strike led by young people across over 100 countries. We recognise that this third major climate strike must be bolstered by a general strike of all members of our global communities, and so we come together as an artists’ and arts workers’ contingent (although we are also teachers, students, parents, carers, hospitality workers, among many other things).

We recognise that the precarity, inequality, alienation and co-option of art and artists by neoliberal capitalism are interconnected with the political forces that have driven us to this urgent moment of worsening climate impacts. We are subjected to the same dehumanising systems and corrupt leadership that have prioritised corporate greed over public good. Artists join the call for an urgent realignment of policy and action to create a safe, healthy and just future for all.

We recognise the role of both artists and young people in creating bold new imaginaries - of imagining new futures into existence. We come together at the Student Strike 4 Climate to acknowledge that climate damage is affecting all of us right now; and we support the call for a general strike that reflects the urgency and vastness of the climate crisis.

We echo students' demands in the lead up to the 2019 climate election:
- All parties commit to stop digging, burning and exporting coal.
- 100% transition to solar and wind energy by 2030 at the latest.
- Stop the Adani coal mine.

We also demand an end to and refuse to partake in artwashing - the unethical instrumentalisation of the arts by companies that support the extraction and burning of fossil fuels.

Gabrielle de Vietri, Artist
Nina Ross
Trish Roan
Stephen Palmer
Siân Darling
Lucas Maddock
Alex Kelly
Beth Sometimes, Artist, Watch This Space
Caro Macdonald
Bergen O'Brien, Freelance Television Editor
Sarah-Jane Woulahan
Kate Moon
Frankie Snowdon
Dominic allen
Judy Annear
Elliat Rich, designer
Sally Blenheim
Anna Cadden
Jen Rae, Fair Share Fair
Zoya Godoroja-Prieckaerts
Georgia Laughton
Asha Bee Abraham
Watch This Space ARI
Petra Cremming
Kelly Lee Hickey, artist/researcher, Watch This Space
Anna Weekes, Darwin Community Arts
Jocelyn Williams
Joh Nyx
Ionat Zurr
Emily Wakeling, Co-director, Boxcopy
Chips Mackinolty
Tara Prowse
Professor David Cross
Dave Budge, Sideshow Alley
Adrian Francis
Mr. Jaydan Holmstrom - Hanmark
Rebekkah Law
Forest Keegel Artist
Jodi Newcombe, Carbon Arts
Penelope Benton
Anna Reynolds
Shellie Tonkin
Kylie Wilkinson
Christian Ramilo, Darwin Community Arts
Georgia Hutchison
Forest Keegel Artist
Maggie Cowling
Jude Anderson
Jude Anderson
Andrew J Bourke
Jessie Scott
Emilia Storm
Fiona Dorrell
Dario Vacirca, Artist
Naomi Velaphi
Lynda Roberts, Public Assembly
Dr. Hayley Singer
Anda Petrapsch
Catriona Black-Dinham, CLIMARTE
Esther Anatolitis
Elizabeth Romeril
Holly Macdonald, Artist
Channon Goodwin
David Pledger, Artist, not yet it's difficult
Lester Francois
Hoang Tran Nguyen
Claire Freer
Tamara Russell Creatives and Makers
Lara Chamas
Nicki Johnson
Belinda Glass
Sarah McConnell
Jasper Jordan-Lang
Doug Hendry
Sophia Marinos, Producer
Lucy Harrison
Mark Leahy
Roslyn Oades
Cecily Hardy, Producer
Andrew Batt-Rawden
Amy Spiers
Alysha Herrmann
Rosemary Warmington AM
Alana Hunt
Danny Butt
George Akl
Jessica Neath
Sunny Drake
Amie Anderson
Angela Prior
Nicole Pietsch
Sigrid Langker
Darcy shilton
Katie Harford

Name, title and institution (if applicable). This answer will be made public. *
Your answer
Email *
Your answer
Your answer
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This form was created inside of artists committee. Report Abuse - Terms of Service