Filipinos unite! Abolish the pork barrel system! Punish the plunderers!
#AbolishPork Movement

A call to action
September 3, 2013

We, ordinary citizens and all taxpayers, are outraged by the shameless plunder and misuse of public funds as so far revealed by the P10 billion Napoles pork barrel scam and COA audits on the congressional pork barrel funds.

We denounce the way the pork barrel system has made a sham of the supposed system of checks and balances between the Executive and Legislative branches of government. We likewise decry how legitimate NGOs have been wrongfully tainted by this wholesale corruption.

Despite the widespread public outcry for the abolition of all forms of pork barrel funds, President Aquino continues to disregard his " bosses" and persists in retaining the system of discretionary, lump sum appropriations for individual members of Congress and the Chief Executive in the national budget, although with a new mechanism for its release.

We demand the abolition of the pork barrel system and the direct allocation of taxpayers' money and other public funds to public hospitals, schools, public housing and other social services. We must remove the discretionary power of individual politicians and government officials over such funds for greater transparency and accountability.

Inspired by our people's dramatic and widespread participation in the August 26 Million People March and guided by its calls, we pledge to keep up the pressure on the government to:
1) Abolish the pork barrel system;
2) Prosecute all the guilty parties including all conniving senators, congressmen, other public officials and bogus NGOs;
3) Allocate pork barrel funds to social services.

These critical demands should be addressed by government with full transparency.

We call on our fellow Filipinos to participate in the various actions and initiatives for this purpose [most especially the big protest actions on September 13, 3pm and September 21 at the Luneta.]

Together, let us fight for a government of, by and for the people. Let us stand in solidarity and demand justice and accountability: Abolish the pork barrel system now!


Mother Mary John Mananzan OSB, Pagbabago! People’s Movement for Change
Prof. Judy Taguiwalo, Pagbabago! People's Movement for Change
Fr. Marlon Lacal, Association of Major Religious Superiors
Fr. Joe Dizon, Solidarity Philippines
Henri Kahn, Concerned Citizens Movement
Victor Villanueva, Youth Act Now!
Marco Vicencio, Youth Revolt
Archbishop Emeritus Oscar Cruz
Mae Paner, Juana Change Movement
Monet Silvestre
Katrina Stuart-Santiago,
Tonyo Cruz,
Fitz Villafuerte,*
Julius Rocas,
Noemi Dado,
Sonnie Santos,*
Ros Juan, TweetupMNL
Inday Espina-Varona,
Engr. Jun Lozada, NBN-ZTE Deal whistleblower
Sandra Cam, Whistleblowers Association
Col. George Rabusa, AFP whistleblower
Former Navy Lt. Nancy Gadian, AFP whistleblower
Atty. Melchor Magdamo, Comelec whistleblower
Atty. Harry Roque
Prof. Chester Arcilla, University of the Philippines, Manila*
Dr. June P. Lopez, UP College of Medicine*
Prof. Marion J. Tan, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UP Diliman*
Fr. Bong Sarabia, Adamson University*
Carmen Seriňa, St. Theresa's College*
Dr. Ramon Paterno, UP College of Medicine*
Wacky Torres, UP Laya Football Club
Sr. Rizalyn Solitario, RMCICM
Fr. Rex Reyes, National Council of Churches in the Philippines
Renato Reyes, Bagong Alyansang Makabayan
Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza, United Church of Christ of the Philippines
Bishop Elmer Bolocon, Ecumenical Bishops Forum
Bishop Leo Soriano, The United Methodist Church
Patricia Santos, College Editors Guild of the Philippines
Prof. Sarah Raymundo, UP Faculty for the Abolition of the Pork Barrel System
UP Student Regent Krista Melgarejo, UP Scrap the Pork Alliance
Menchu Sarmiento, BABALA! (Babae Laban sa Katiwalian)
Soc Reyes, BABALA!
Rev. Marie Sol Villalon, Promotion of Church People's Response
Walkie Mirana, Concerned Artists of the Philippines
Edwin dela Torre, Emerging Artists Collective
She Garcia, Quezon Reels People's Media
Rodel J. Abalus, 93.5 Easy Rock Boracay*
Jim Libiran
Diane Zapata, Bikers Against Baboy System (BABS)
Atty. Rey Cortez, National Union of People's Lawyers
Dr. Eleanor Jara, Council for Health and Development
Dr. Dante C. Simbulan, Katarungan-USA
Satur Ocampo, Makabayan Coalition
Norman Cabrera, Kapatiran Party

* For identification purposes only

Please fill up the form below if you wish to join this list of signatories.
Sign in to Google to save your progress. Learn more
Full Name *
Email Address *
Mobile Number *
Twitter Account
Organization, Institution, Company, Blog or Website Name
If you filled up the previous question, is it for any of the following?
Clear selection
Would you like to volunteer? *
The space below is for any of your comments and suggestions to improve the statement.
Clear form
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy