Request edit access
Respectful Partnerships with Native and Indigenous Populations (Thursday, February 22 @ 9 AM PST / 10 AM MST / 11 AM CST / 12 PM EST)
As colleges and universities attempt to better connect with Native American populations, we need some guiding frameworks. Join Sally Thompson for an interactive discussion about how her work was transformed by working with native populations. She will share her story and the lessons she learned along the way, in hopes of leaving participants with some practical tips that can guide their work with indigenous populations.

About Sally Thompson
Dr. Sally Thompson has spent nearly forty years working with the native tribes of the West. Trained as an anthropologist at the University of Colorado, she has worked in Montana as an archaeologist, ethnographer, and ethnohistorian.

As founder and director of the Regional Learning Project at the University of Montana (2001-2010), Sally oversaw a team of specialists developing curriculum resources on regional history, geography and culture.

Her passion is working collaboratively with tribal communities to tell a more balanced version of our shared history. The 2015 book, People Before The Park: The Kootenai and Blackfeet Before Glacier National Park, and three documentary films, Native Homelands Along the Lewis & Clark Trail, Contemporary Voices Along the Lewis & Clark Trail, and Why Save a Language? are some of the tangible results of her work.

One focus of Sally’s research has been the rich tribal histories imbedded in the writings, maps and paintings of the Jesuits who founded the Rocky Mountain Mission.

Name
Your answer
Institution
Your answer
E-mail Address
Your answer
Is your institution a Campus Compact member?
Do you have an on-going partnership with a Native population at your institution?
Do you have experience working with Native populations?
Are there any specific questions you are looking to have answered during this webinar?
Your answer
Submit
Never submit passwords through Google Forms.
This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Additional Terms