Moodle ISU Overview Moodle ISU
This document will give you a brief overview of Moodle ISU. It will help you to locate information in the Moodle environment and to understand the functions inside of Moodle that you will see frequently.
This guide will help you to understand:
Breadcrumbs - Breadcrumbs are located at the top of the Moodle ISU page. They are a short list of where you have navigated to from the Dashboard. You can click on links in the breadcrumbs to return to previous pages.
Course Homepage - The course homepage consists of two main parts. A week/topic outline area where you can create links to content and activities occupies of the majority of the screen.
Blocks - The second part is comprised of blocks along the left and right sides of the homepage. Blocks can be added/removed, collapsed/expanded, docked/undocked and hidden in the course depending on your needs.
More information can be found in Blocks in Moodle ISU.
As you develop your online course you will make a lot of changes to your course homepage. This sections will show you how to turn editing on/off and how to add/move/delete activities and resources.
Turn Editing On/Off
Note: Clicking Turn editing on will enable editing and the button and option will change to say Turn editing off. Click Turn editing off to disable editing.
Adding an Activity/Resource to Your Course
Moving an Activity/Resource
Duplicating an Activity/Resource
Note: A copy of the activity or assignment will appear directly below the original.
Frequently Used Icons
- Move - Use this icon to drag and drop the activity to another place on the page.
- Move right - When you click on this icon the title of the activity will be moved slightly to the right. After you have moved an activity to the right you can move it back again by clicking the left arrow that will appear.
- Configuration/Update/Edit - You can use this icon to modify the block, activity or resource selected.
- Duplicate - This will allow you to make a copy of the activity/resource for the same week.
- Delete - When you click on this icon the activity/resource or block will be permanently deleted from your course.
-Hide - To reopen an activity, simply click on the closed eye. The eyeball with the line through it means that the students cannot see the activity/resource.
- Show - By clicking on the open eye it will hide the activity/resource on the page from the students. An open eye also means that the students can see the activity/resource.
- No groups - This icon indicates that there are no groups created for a particular activity.
- Visible Groups - This icon means that there are assigned groups for an activity.
- Assign roles - By assigning a role to a user in a context, you are granting them the permissions contained in that role, for the current context and all lower contexts. For example, if a user is assigned the role of student in a course, they will also have the role of student for all activities and blocks within the course.
Note: For more information, see Assigning Roles.
- Activity Completion: Students can manually mark this as complete - If during the setup of the activity you have elected to allow students to mark the activity as complete, then you will see this checkmark next to the activity.
- Help - If at any time you need help, look for this icon. When you click it you will see a basic description of the function.
- The triangle - Click on the triangle when it is pointed to the right to open up dropdown menus to access more options. Click on the triangle when it is pointed down to close the additional options.
- Show more/Show less button - Click this button to make the advanced options available for use when setting up activities.
- Expand all - This option allows you to show or hide sections you are working on when you add an activity or resource to your screen. When you expand all, this will let you see every option as you scroll down.
- Collapse all - This option will hide sections you are working on, you can open sections up by clicking on arrows or by clicking on the expand all.
- Editing Titles - Located in the Administration block, you can use this icon to either turn editing on or off. It could also be used to edit titles on the main page.
- Turn editing on/off - This button will be located at the top right hand corner of your course homepage. You can use this button to turn your editing on/off.
- Dropdown menus - To use the dropdown menus, click on the wording or use the arrow located on the right in this picture.
- Collapse icon block - To merge everything together.
- Expand icon block - To expand all materials in the course.
-Docking block icon- The action of removing the block from the main screen and relocating it to the side menu bar.
-Undocking block icon- The Docked block moves from the side menu bar back to the main screen.
For more information, see Course Homepage.
For additional information, contact ITRC - (208)-282-5880 or email email@example.com.
This work was done by Instructional Technology Resource Center at Idaho State University and is licensed under the Creative Commons Unported License. To view a copy of this license, visit Attribution Noncommercial 3.0 United States or send a letter to Creative Commons, 444 Castro Street, Suite 900, Mountain View, California, 94041, USA.