Assigning Roles Moodle ISU


Introduction

Adding another teacher to your course is a way to share ideas, collaborate with your peers, and to help improve the overall quality of your online learning materials. You can also add users to your course for other reasons, such as helping with grading (GTA) or to facilitate ADA accommodations (interpreter).

This guide will help you to:

Understand the Different Roles

Teacher (Unlisted) - This is a teacher who has access like a regular teacher, but will not be listed as a teacher in the course for students.

Non-Editing Teacher - Non-editing teachers can teach in courses and grade students, but do not have permission to add remove or edit course materials.

Student (Manual Enrollment) - You can use this role to grant access to course materials to a non-registered user.  Users in the role will have the same privileges as registered students. Note: We strongly advise that all students be added to courses through the registrar’s office.

Add a User

  1. In the Administration block, under Course Administration, Select Users.

Untitled-9.png

  1. Select Enrolled users.

enrolled users.png

  1. On the Enrolled Users page, in the far right, Click Enroll users. 

new 2.png

  1. In the Enroll users pop-up box, in the Assign roles dropdown menu, Select the role you wish the user to have.

enroll users.png

HotTip: Under Enrollment options, you can set the starting date of the enrollment and the enrollment duration.

  1. In the Search box at the bottom of the window, Type the last name or username of the person you wish to enroll.
  2. Press the “Enter” key on your keyboard.
  3. A Users found list will appear. Click Enroll next to the desired name.

finish.png

  1. At the bottom of the window, Click Finish enrolling users.

new 3.png

Remove a user or role

To remove a user or role:

  1. In the Administration block, Select Users.

adm.png

  1. Click Enrolled users.

enrolled users 3.png

  1. Locate the individual you wish to edit.
  1. To remove a role, in the Roles column, Click the gray ‘X’ next to the role you wish to  delete. This will remove the user from that role.

roles.png

  1. To remove a user, in the Enrollment methods column, Click the gray ‘X’ under the enrollment date. The person will be completely removed from the course.

manual enrollment.png     

Note: Registered students are added and removed by the registration system.

For more information, see Assign Roles.


This work was done by Instructional Technology Resource Center at Idaho State University and is licensed under the Creative Commons Unported License. To view a copy of this license, visit Attribution Noncommercial 3.0 United States or send a letter to Creative Commons, 444 Castro Street, Suite 900, Mountain View, California, 94041, USA.